map placeholder

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday - Friday: 12:00 - 17:00
Saturday - Sunday: 12:30 - 17:00

Amazing service, beautiful location, delicious food - perfect!

Ellie 23 May 2019
from London

View all 218 reviews

Afternoon Tea at Number Sixteen hotel is an elegant and luxurious affair. With the option to take tea in any of the public spaces, from the library to the tree-filled hotel garden, there is a setting for every weather and occasion.

The Number Sixteen menu covers classic afternoon tea with the usual sandwiches and scones on offer, as well as some lesser-seen creations, such as arancini, accompanied by sweet options such as Bakewell tart. A lighter option on offer is the ‘fruit tea’, which consists of 5 plates of colourful treats themed around blueberries, orange, lime zest and honey. A gluten-free tea is available on request.

The stunning landscaped garden offers a blissful escape from the bustle of London, whilst the colourful drawing room full of modern, decorative art and bright pink fabrics, is a funky, laidback setting. The cosy library and light-flooded conservatory are also open for afternoon tea at Number 16 in London.

Number Sixteen is situated in the heart of South Kensington, with the museums on its doorstep, and South Kensington Tube Station just a 2-minute walk away.

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

Contact +44 2036422038
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Number Sixteen

4.5 (((() (based on 218 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (199)
  • romantic (70)
  • al fresco (65)
  • luxury (54)
  • value (54)
  • trendy (52)
  • private dining (38)
  • lunch (34)
  • breakfast (26)
  • views (25)
  • dinner (19)
  • business (14)
  • large parties (9)
  • child friendly (6)
  • entertainment (6)
  • ((((( 13 June 2019 by Ivy from Canada Water

    A very sophisticated atmosphere with very filling food. The beef and horseradish dish was so delicious as as well as the raspberry tart and the scones were so beautifully warm and crumbly. The bread on the finger sandwiches was very soft but just the tiniest bit dry - that would be my only criticism if I’m being picky.

  • ((((( 9 June 2019 by Alison from London

    My mum and I had a wonderful time at Number 16. The room was lovely as was the garden which due to the wet weather we couldn't use, although we had a walk around it after. The champagne afternoon tea was delicious, just the right amount of food and really tasty, and a generous glass of bubbly, real value for money, you couldn't fault the service, there were no issues with ordering a gluten free and vegetarian option. Will definitely be going back

  • ((((( 7 June 2019 by Connie from London

    It was all wonderful. The setting was beautiful, the service excellent and the food delicious. The portion size was perfect. And I was very pleasantly surprised at how moderately priced it for such a beautiful property. I had hoped to sit in the garden but unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate.

  • ((((( 7 June 2019 by Gaby from Vienna

    We came for afternoon tea while on holiday in London and had a wonderful experience at Number Sixteen. All of the staff were very friendly and professional and the food and tea were heavenly! We were lucky enough to have nice weather so could enjoy our tea outside. The beautiful garden really elevated the whole experience and made it quite unforgettable.

  • (((** 25 May 2019 by Rebecca from London

    Setting was really good, beautiful hotel. The tea room was really relaxed and comfortable to sit in. The food was really lovely. The tea was good but no one came to top it up during our time there. When we asked for more tea, our pots were topped up with boiling water and no more tea. The tea itself was then quite weak. The service in general was quite average. After being initially served quite quickly no one came back to check on us after. Trying to get the bill was also quite difficult.

  • ((((( 23 May 2019 by Ellie from London

    Amazing service, beautiful location, delicious food - perfect!

  • ((((( 18 May 2019 by Glennia from London

    Fantastic service and beautiful grounds. Afternoon tea selection is good too, tea is excellent!

  • ((((( 17 May 2019 by Sophie from West Midlands

    Amazing afternoon tea, such a lovely welcoming place. Garden is beautiful and calming, staff are very attentive. Would definitely recommend

  • ((((( 14 May 2019 by TERRY from York

    Had a wonderful afternoon tea in the garden

  • ((((( 11 May 2019 by Caroline from Tadworth

    GREAT

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant