map placeholder

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday - Friday: 12:00 - 17:00
Saturday - Sunday: 12:30 - 17:00

Fantastic service and beautiful grounds. Afternoon tea selection is good too, tea is excellent!

Glennia 18 May 2019
from London

View all 202 reviews

Afternoon Tea at Number Sixteen hotel is an elegant and luxurious affair. With the option to take tea in any of the public spaces, from the library to the tree-filled hotel garden, there is a setting for every weather and occasion.

The Number Sixteen menu covers classic afternoon tea with the usual sandwiches and scones on offer, as well as some lesser-seen creations, such as arancini, accompanied by sweet options such as Bakewell tart. A lighter option on offer is the ‘fruit tea’, which consists of 5 plates of colourful treats themed around blueberries, orange, lime zest and honey. A gluten-free tea is available on request.

The stunning landscaped garden offers a blissful escape from the bustle of London, whilst the colourful drawing room full of modern, decorative art and bright pink fabrics, is a funky, laidback setting. The cosy library and light-flooded conservatory are also open for afternoon tea at Number 16 in London.

Number Sixteen is situated in the heart of South Kensington, with the museums on its doorstep, and South Kensington Tube Station just a 2-minute walk away.

Number Sixteen

16 Sumner Place, London, SW7 3EG

Contact +44 2036422038
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Number Sixteen

4.5 (((() (based on 202 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (185)
  • romantic (64)
  • al fresco (58)
  • luxury (47)
  • value (47)
  • trendy (46)
  • private dining (35)
  • lunch (30)
  • breakfast (23)
  • views (18)
  • dinner (17)
  • business (13)
  • large parties (8)
  • child friendly (6)
  • entertainment (4)
  • ((((( 13 April 2019 by Ashley from London

    We came for afternoon tea and experienced warm and professional service. I found the tea especially delicious. I was very pleased with the quality and the affordability of the experience.

  • ((((( 10 April 2019 by Sofie from London

    We loved the whole thing, the food, the Garden, the room and how it was decorated. We really feel we Got our moneys worth, and it was a great introduction to english Tea.
    We are definetly coming back, when we are visiting London again.

  • ((((( 5 April 2019 by Anita from London

    Great afternoon tea!
    Although we couldn't sit at the garden,we loved the place, which is beautifully decorated with an ethnic vibe.
    We enjoyed every bit of the afternoon tea.
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    Totally recommend it!

  • ((((( 22 March 2019 by Georgina from London

    Great value. Superb service and an amazing afternoon tea. Would highly recommend this delightful restaurant. The gardens are well worth a visit when the sun is out too - I’ll be back for an al fresco afternoon tea in the summer!

  • ((((( 19 March 2019 by SUSAN from WIMBLEDON

    We were seated in the Library which was a lovely room. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were all very fresh and delicious. The Deputy Manager very kindly gave us a short tour of the hotel as we were leaving as we'd asked a few questions about the venue.

  • ((((( 5 March 2019 by Claire from France

    Very good experience !

  • ((((( 18 February 2019 by Idil from London

    Ambiance was nice and food was fresh and delicious. Staff was polite and helpful. My favorites were scones, raspberry tart and Assam tea. Will definitely go again!

  • ((((* 28 January 2019 by Taylor from Miami

    Amazing experience. My favorite dishes were the scones.

  • ((((( 24 January 2019 by Maj from Aarhus, Denmark

    I went to afternoon tea by myself and was well recieved and felt very good taken care of all through the experience.
    I loved the tearoom with view to the garden (courtyard), and the scilent jazz playing. Both drinks and food was amazing. The cupcake was boring though.. But scones, sandwiches and the other cakes were lovely.

  • ((((( 15 January 2019 by James from London

    I thought it was excellent. Good service, lovely setting overlooking the garden, perfect atmosphere for a not-too-formal but special afternoon tea. The food was excellent - particular highlight were the fruit scones!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant