map placeholder

Number One Restaurant

The Balmoral, 1 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2EQ

((((( Scottish
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 18:30 - 21:30
Friday to Sunday: 18:00 - 21:30.

Wonderful experience, loved all the special dishes with Chef’s complements. Service was outstanding everyone we interacted with was pleasant and helpful.

George 28 April 2019
from Edinburgh

View all 94 reviews

In the 5-star Balmoral Hotel, one of the city’s most exclusive addresses, the acclaimed Number One Restaurant in Edinburgh holds 4 AA Rosettes and a Michelin Star.

Number One offers contemporary dining coupled with world class Scottish hospitality. Head Chef Mark Donald and his team have developed a menu with dishes inspired by Scotland and flavoured by the team's international travels.

Occupying a grand and opulent setting within the Balmoral Hotel, Number One offers flawless service with excellent attention to detail, and plush refurbishment of the restaurant by Olga Polizzi. Take a seat on a dove grey wool banquette and sample some of Scotland's most creative dishes.

Edinburgh Waverley Station is just a 1 minute walk away.

Number One Restaurant

The Balmoral, 1 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2EQ

Contact +44 1315576727
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh New Town

Customer reviews for Number One Restaurant

4.8 ((((( (based on 94 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (77)
  • luxury (65)
  • romantic (62)
  • private dining (33)
  • business (21)
  • lunch (7)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (7)
  • entertainment (4)
  • large parties (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • child friendly (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 20 April 2016 by Russell from Edinburgh

    The experience from when we entered the restaurant was absolutely delightful. The staff all made us feel very welcome and at home. As for the meal itself we both enjoyed every minute of what we can only describe as perfect. Thankyou for making our evening that extra special

  • ((((( 19 April 2016 by Daniella from Oslo

    Lovely atmosphere, fantastic food experience and the nicest staff. :) It certainly deserves its Michelin star. ??

  • ((((( 14 April 2016 by John from North Berwick

    The best dining experience possible. Amazing food with service to match. A definite for that special occasion.

  • ((((( 8 April 2016 by Dale from Los Angeles

    We did the 7 course taster. Beginning to end presentation was impeccable but the smoked salmon was over-the-top.

  • ((((* 6 April 2016 by Jane from Pontefract

    Excellent food

  • ((((( 6 April 2016 by Linor from Edinburgh

    Amazing 7 courses dinner, great matching of wines to the dishes and oh so yummy desserts!

    Service was excellent!

  • ((((( 5 April 2016 by Chris from West Wemyss

    The meal was fantastic, only surpassed by the excellent customer service... I came with a broken foot and on crutches and your staff couldn't have been more helpful... The attention to detail was great.. and when my partner had finished her glass of champagne, the waiter was there with the bottle of Rose as promised to fill her new glass... as in fact he had promised to do.... The quality of the food and the taste was exceptional.... my partner said it was " probably the best dining experience she had ever had" Plus the small touches like a small gift for her birthday was much appreciated. Thank you!

  • ((((( 1 April 2016 by Margareta from Stockholm

    We celebrared a birthday and had the seven course menu and one vegetarian meny and it was excellent. The premium wine menu was excellent also and matched perfectly with the food. The sommelier was very skillfull and thought us a lot of interesting things about the history of the wines. The whiskeysmoked salmon was amasing. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable evening.

  • ((((( 29 March 2016 by David from Edinburgh

    Both my wife and I enjoyed one of the best dinners we have ever had at the number one in Edinburgh. We had the four course menu with matching wines, all the courses were matchless and each was so different, but by far the best was the beef main course. The sommelier was so knowledgeable and his wine choices were perfect. Thanks to Brian and his team for a memorable experience.

  • ((((( 24 March 2016 by Clarita from Sydney

    Fantastic , every dish was amazing

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant