map placeholder

Number One Restaurant

The Balmoral, 1 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2EQ

((((( Scottish
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • Number One Restaurant - Edinburgh
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 18:30 - 21:30
Friday to Sunday: 18:00 - 21:30.

Wonderful experience, loved all the special dishes with Chef’s complements. Service was outstanding everyone we interacted with was pleasant and helpful.

George 28 April 2019
from Edinburgh

View all 94 reviews

In the 5-star Balmoral Hotel, one of the city’s most exclusive addresses, the acclaimed Number One Restaurant in Edinburgh holds 4 AA Rosettes and a Michelin Star.

Number One offers contemporary dining coupled with world class Scottish hospitality. Head Chef Mark Donald and his team have developed a menu with dishes inspired by Scotland and flavoured by the team's international travels.

Occupying a grand and opulent setting within the Balmoral Hotel, Number One offers flawless service with excellent attention to detail, and plush refurbishment of the restaurant by Olga Polizzi. Take a seat on a dove grey wool banquette and sample some of Scotland's most creative dishes.

Edinburgh Waverley Station is just a 1 minute walk away.

Number One Restaurant

The Balmoral, 1 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2EQ

Contact +44 1315576727
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh New Town

Customer reviews for Number One Restaurant

4.8 ((((( (based on 94 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (77)
  • luxury (65)
  • romantic (62)
  • private dining (33)
  • business (21)
  • lunch (7)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (7)
  • entertainment (4)
  • large parties (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • child friendly (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 19 June 2017 by Arthur from Ft Lauderdale, FL, US

    Every thing was spectacular.

  • ((((( 25 May 2017 by Robert from Guildford

    This was one of the best meals we've had in a long time. The service was attentive but not intrusive, the food was well presented, full of flavour and texture. Highly recommended and somewhere to return to again.

  • ((((( 27 April 2017 by MK from Edinburgh

    Sorry, I entered comments in the wrong place, please see box below.

    The booking experience was satisfactorily efficient.

  • ((((( 15 April 2017 by Anca from Toronto, Canada

    Best meal of my life!

  • ((((( 24 March 2017 by Steven from Bingham

    The entire Fine Dining experience at Number One The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh was simply splendid from the exemplary service, the fantastic food and the overall ambience of the Restaurant.

  • ((((( 8 November 2016 by Peter from Lower Shiplake

    The evening was a success because of the attentive service, the four courses were superb, the explanation of the wines added to the experience, the special Anniversary gift for my wife, the note accompanying the wine list and being escorted to our taxi. Thank you.

  • ((((( 8 November 2016 by Aqsa from London

    Scallops are amazing!!

  • ((((( 30 October 2016 by PAULINE from Ashby-de-la-Zouch

    We had the tasting menu and enjoyed every mouthful. Each dish was a spectacular work of art.
    The staff were friendly and very informative.
    The whole ambiance was tremendous.

  • ((((( 23 October 2016 by Francesco from Northampton

    My partner and mysel enjoyed a lovely dinner at number one; we especially liked the amuse buche with caviar and lobster, the scallops with a wonderful Jerusalem artichoke (starter), and the roast fig (dessert). Matched wines were spot on and the atmosphere was warm and cosy. I would just recommend to refurbish the toilets which are undoubtedly clean and nice but look a bit outdated, especially the wallpaper of the gents.

  • ((((( 22 October 2016 by Claire from Edinburgh, United Kingdom

    Had an evening meal here for my partners birthday. Staff were fantastic, very attentive. Food was outstanding! They even gave my partner a small birthday gift, absolutely brilliant experience and will most definitely be returning in the near future.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant