Reviews of Norton Park

3.1
(based on 36 reviews)
Sutton Scotney, Winchester, South East England, SO21 3NB
36 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Kimberley S from Dorset
    5 September 2020

    Waitressing was poor.

  • By Aaron S from guildford
    1 September 2020

    Over all very happy with out afternoon tea, the cakes and scones in particuar were lovely and the location great. In the times of Covid the controls and safty mesures put in place reasuring with out feeling obtrusive. In fact the extra space due to social distancing actuly improved things :) Staff were lovely and I would be happy to recomend the afternoon tea to otehrs. The only slight let down was the sandwidiches which while very nice were not as describe, There felt a bit plain, I am putting this down to the current covid situation as apart from this minor point we spent a very plesent few hours here. The suroudings are also very nice and after eatting we spent a plesent 30-45 miniutes walking around the grounds. A solid 4 stars and no complaints thank you for a lovely few hours of food and relaxing

  • By Helen H from Portsmouth
    31 August 2020

    Lovely afternoon tea. Felt all very safe and well organised. Loved the fact that the staff wore face masks.

  • By Graham R from Winchester
    31 August 2020

    Covid has adversely impacted on the menu and restaurant layout (actual restaurant is closed and they are using a large function room). Reception did not inform of a restricted bar menu rather than a full restaurant menu at time of booking. Staff are doing their best but management have a lot to answer for.

  • By David P from Truro
    25 August 2020

    Abysmal! There was no atmosphere in a cavernous temporary dining room with drapes around the walls. It took an hour for the main course to arrive. My wife's chicken in a wheat berry salad was lukewarm, dry, and tough. My lamb kofta was also lukewarm (though the couscous was good). The evening improved when one of the waiters engaged us in conversation. We didn't get a name but he was originally from S Africa. The breakfast if anything was worse. No muesli, basic cereals in packets, no stewed fruit and the scrambled egg tasted like cardboard. Lukewarm pre -prepared toast and coffee in an urn......

  • By Hayley C from Andover
    25 August 2020

    Took my mum and dad to have afternoon tea.The sandwiches were lovely and fresh,the cakes tasted amazing and there were lots of them too.Homemade scones were also really tasty .10 out of 10 from all four of us.Waitress really friendly and nothing was too much trouble,excellent service throughout and very polite and professional.

  • By Mike H from Southampton
    20 August 2020

    it would have been nice to know that food wasn't being served until 5pm when we booked table for 12.30. We did go for the cold sandwiches but would have chosen different venue had we known in advance.

  • By Dawn A from HAVANT
    18 August 2020

    Booking service easy but could do with an extra feature that enables you to choose the type of afternoon tea requires i.e. vegan. Lovely settin looking over the garden. Delicious food. Excellent service. Very COVID-19 safe environment.

  • By Victoria T from Easterton
    18 August 2020

    All food was very good

  • By Julie M from Andover
    12 August 2020

    What I hoped would be a special treat for a friend ended in utter disappointment. I had reserved a table a couple of weeks previous for 12.8.2020 @2pm. We were asked to wait as they weren't quite ready for us, then once seated, we got our pot of tea and water and then waited and waited and waited. Two ladies at another table had already left because they were not happy with what they were served. The cakes and sandwiches (part of the afternoon tea experience) was served at almost 3 pm, almost an hour wait. I then realised we had the same issue, the sandwiches were in no way or form what was on the menu on the website. They actually consisted of tuna and sweetcorn (from a jar by the smell of it) and sliced cheese out of a packet. Also, whoever cut the sandwiches couldn't decide "crusts" or "no crusts" and also had cut the sandwiches with a knife that was previously used with either mustard or the coronation chicken that we were supposed to have in one of our sandwiches - blatant cross contamination, they looked disgusting. So basically NONE of the sandwiches that were described on the website menu were served to us. Needless to say, after waiting to speak to a Manager with no luck and not touching the food, we also left. Although they were very polite, the waitress service was excruciatingly slow, considering there were only 3 tables to be served inside, including ours, not including the 2 that left in disgust before us. A table of 4 that arrived after us were served their food before. The waitress commented "oh, sorry, I thought you'd had yours already"! I did receive a phone call from someone who said the menu had been changed and they would look into the issues, but I've heard nothing since. Like I pointed out, firstly if you have reservations then you should have the staff to cope and secondly if you advertise a certain menu online then that is what the customers will expect, not something a 5 year old could make, and not at £20 a head. 0 stars.