No 44 at The Arden Hotel

(183 Reviews)
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warks, CV37 6BA
European, Afternoon Tea

Top offer

Traditional afternoon tea £22.95 per person

This offer is available from December 3, 2018 until December 21, 2018, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Average

Main course: £16
Food spend: £30

Restaurant description

An elegant fine dining spot in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, No 44 is a majestic string in the bow of the 4-star Arden Hotel. The freshest, seasonal ingredients are incorporated into a menu of modern European dishes, served in a chic and contemporary setting by the River Avon.

Rich and flavourful dishes on the No 44 menu include duck ‘two ways’, combining roast duck breast with confit duck leg pie, with accompanying chicory and orange puree. There’s pan-fried hake with pearl barley risotto, crab gnocchi and a crab and ginger sauce, while desserts include a wickedly delicious chocolate fondant with pistachio ice cream and a chocolate sauce.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel in Stratford boasts its own sophisticated champagne bar. Large arched windows flood natural light into the restaurant’s pastel interior, creating a bright and relaxed dining space.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel neighbours the Royal Shakespeare Company theatres, and looks out over the River Avon.

Customer reviews for No 44 at The Arden Hotel
4.1
(based on 183 reviews)

84%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (47)
  • al fresco (32)
  • breakfast (27)
  • business (15)
  • child friendly (5)
  • dinner (113)
  • entertainment (2)
  • large parties (5)
  • lunch (57)
  • luxury (30)
  • private dining (24)
  • romantic (34)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (26)
  • views (25)
  • By Jonathon C from Stratford Upon Avon
    16 November 2019

    Wonderful food, service and surroundings! the menu is excellent and offers a lovely choice of tapas style A La carte food; ideal for pre-theatre

  • By Marjorie S from Tadcaster
    5 November 2019

    The food and the service are both excellent, and it is just over the road from the theatre. Great for theatre goers. And the pre-theatre menu is spot on. BUT there is no-where to put your coat and no-one ever offers to take it. On my last visit the maitre d asked if i wanted anything to drink whilst i was removing my coat. I awkwardly tried to get my scarf in the pocket, then looked around vaguely for somewhere to put it and in the end draped the scarf and coat over the back of my chair. There wasn't even a spare chair to put it on. All this whilst she was hovering for my drink order. I know that a lot of diners are residents in the hotel and so do not have a coat, but surely us non-residents should be catered for also?

  • By Nicholas M from Stratford Upon Avon
    30 October 2019

    Hugely overpriced for quite mediocre food.

  • By Helen ONeill O from Leicestershire
    30 October 2019

    The food was amazing, we had the shared menu and for 2 of us with smaller appetites it was ideal. Each dish was delicious and the waiter who served us was very pleasant and cheerful. The desserts were beautifully presented and gorgeous. Ten out of ten for the whole experience. This is our 2nd visit and there will be others??

  • By Nigel R from Merseyside
    30 October 2019

    Service was excellent - staff friendly - very convenient for the RSC theatre.

  • By Clare J from Derby
    27 October 2019

    Great room, lovely cakes

  • By Celeste R from Stratford-upon-Avon
    22 October 2019

    No atmosphere, the waitresses didn’t understand what I asked for. Probably the worst afternoon tea I have had

  • By Cathy T from LIVERPOOL
    20 October 2019

    Disappointing in all aspects. Nobody to greet you on arrival - we walked aimlessly around the restaurant looking for a member of staff (as did every other person who arrived after us) Afternoon tea was served on a coffee table with low couches either side, not comfortable to be eating at and no other table was available. Sandwiches were very basic, ham and cheese, prawn, chicken, egg mayo, (nothing like what is on their sample menu) bread wasn't as fresh as it could be and no butter on it either, and it wasn't served on the usual cake stand/display stand as we expected just basically a plate of sandwiches. We ordered two regular and 2 savoury afternoon teas - (the savouries were nicer than the sandwiches).but the cakes all arrived at least 15 minutes before the savouries. Tea and coffee was fine but when we ordered drinks we weren't given any drink or wine lists we were just offered what was in the waitresses head. we were very shocked to be charged £11.35 for a glass of wine - we thought all drinks were very overpriced so our bill for 4 afternoon teas and 1 drink each came to £146.52. Our waitress was very nice but was run off her feet serving all tables on her own. Definitely wouldn't recommend this place. We felt very cheated - this is definitely not worth the price and is very overstated.

  • By Stephanie L from Stratford-upon-Avon
    20 October 2019

    Had the most wonderful afternoon at the Arden hotel for afternoon tea! Had a mix of the savoury and sweet options. Served by a lovely lady called May who was extremely helpful and wonderful! Food was 10/10. Service was 10/10! Couldn’t recommend them more! Lovely atmosphere with a lovely lady singing acoustic tunes!

  • By Alexandra M from London
    3 October 2019

    Delicious food! Very attentive service. Could have had a better choice of adult non alcoholic drinks (e.g. Seedlip, etc). Lovely evening.

Restaurant Location Map
No 44 at The Arden Hotel
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warks, CV37 6BA

Available offers

  • Traditional afternoon tea £22.95 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Stratford-upon-Avon
    446m
    Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Stratford-upon-Avon
  2. DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford
    5.4km
    DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford
  3. Billesley Manor Hotel

    Billesley Manor Hotel

    British
    (133 Reviews)
    6km
    Billesley Manor Hotel
  4. The Encore

    The Encore

    British
    (18 Reviews)
    96m
    The Encore
  5. Lambs

    Lambs

    British
    (311 Reviews)
    89m
    Lambs