Reviews of New Place Hotel

4.8
(based on 15 reviews)
High Street Shirrell Heath, Southampton, South East England, SO32 2JY
15 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Mrs B from portsmouth
    4 August 2020

    Very nice! great seat by the window of grand room. Staff very friendly. Service slowed down after a while and we did wait to pay the bill for sometime. We were offered a tour of the building but unfortunately the man never came back to give it to us. Afternoon tea was lovely however, Salmon rolls & egg weren't great. It would have been good to choose our fillings. Sometimes simpler options are much nicer.

  • By Suzanne B from Bursledon
    3 August 2020

    5 stars . We sat in the lovely garden room / conservatory. Had it all to the ourselves . The grounds and hotel are immaculate . The afternoon tea was lovely my only complaint is the sausage roll is far too small . The service / staff friendly helpful and great .

  • By K from London
    31 July 2020

    Amazing food and amazing service. Was a little apprehensive as used to love the food when it was a different chain but not disappointed at all - in fact without exaggeration- I’d say the burger was the best I’d had in years. Top quality meat. My husband adored his steak too. Reasonable and delicious children’s options. I really love how we were asked upon booking in and by the waiter about allergies. My son has several and I felt like they genuinely cared about this issue and therefore about all customers. We also felt like they were taking the strictest hygiene measures post lockdown. All staff were genuinely friendly and professional. We will certainly be back at New Place again and miss it already!

  • By Jim E from London
    7 March 2020

    Great food and service! Highly recommend

  • By Kevin John P from Witney
    5 March 2020

    Excellent food hot and very tasty , restaurant staff very polite helpful and friendly ,charming surroundings in a wonderful location definitely recommend it

  • By Michael H from West Sussex
    20 February 2020

    We only stayed on night and we both had Haddock soufflé and Belly pork both dishes were excellent.

  • By John R from Portsmouth
    22 November 2019

    Super location for a romantic dinner. Food and was excellent!

  • By Sophie S from Waterlooville
    19 October 2019

    Food was lovely. I had pork and my partner had Steak and chips. We had 3 courses and the food was amazing.

  • By Sharon W from Cheshire
    21 September 2019

    Food was excellent. Service mixed; some staff clearly had not been trained.

  • By Svetlana Baykova-Fish B from Waterlooville
    1 September 2019

    Excellent experience! I booked New Place to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Everything was just perfect! The staff is very professional and friendly. Our dinning room looked fantastic!!! The food was superb and I loved the presentation of the birthday cake!!!

2 Next page