Reviews of New Park Manor

3.0
(based on 21 reviews)
Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Hampshire, SO42 7QH
21 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Ian W from Barton on sea
    23 November 2019

    We came here for my birthday treat with my children and had the frozen theme afternoon tea. The food was great. However very disappointed by the service received. We were seated at a table the sandwiches, cakes arrived before drinks, they had no idea what the drinks could be for the children. Had no plates laid out to eat from, had to sit staring at the cakes, sandwiches for 5 mins before receiving plates. Had to ask 3 times for water, I had one coffee asked for another which never ever appeared. Paid the bill and tried to charge us full price for the children saying I didn't know we had a child's price! Erm it's on the website! First time visiting you sadly won't b returning came away very disappointed and my wife kept apologising.

  • By Allen J from Oxford
    8 November 2019

    We spent a weekend at New Park Manor and every single meal including lunch was excellent. Very relaxing place whether you’re there with children or not

  • By Mile N from Buckinghamshire
    14 October 2019

    Amazing food and service.

  • By Rosemary H from Pulborough
    8 October 2019

    Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.Breakfast had extensive choice whether you chose English or Continental and was excellent.Evening meal was excellent too.

  • By Sue H from Bristol
    5 September 2019

    Restaurant tables and chairs filthy (stains and food etc) . There were two chairs with spray cleaning guns on and dirty cloths on seats .This is highly inappropriate and unhygienic. The food was okay but the fish and chips were served on a board ! How can one be expected to eat peas on a board ? What is wrong with a plate? This totally ruined my husbands meal and he left most of it. We did complain to the waitress but nothing was done. The service was okay .

  • By Benn J from Southampton
    1 June 2019

    It took 3 times to get our order correct. Service was non existent which would have been understandable if it was busy but there was one other couple there (who we overheard complaining by the way): as an example it took 30 mins just to try and pay and leave. We won’t mention how long it took for our order or getting it right in between. The scones were very hard ...so either they were old or left out to dry or just over cooked, either way they would be useful in a game of bowling perhaps but nothing else. Now I’ve been here before and it was nice so I’m not sure what happened this time but it put us off going again which is a shame.

  • By Emma W from London
    14 May 2019

    No ambiance very cold feeling .waitresses did not no what they were doing put expensive merlot in a ice bucket ! Wrong food sent , food over cooked in general not good .

  • By David M from Sevenoaks
    14 May 2019

    This is regular dining experience for is and has never failed to impress from arrival to coffee and Brandy it is always wonderful

  • By Alison H from Lymington
    8 March 2019

    Absolutely excellent- Pierre was super attentive and we all had a jolly lovely time

  • By Neville H from Lymington
    17 February 2019

    Good welcome and hopes were high, but unfortunately the service (chef) and one dish didn’t meet the initial excitement. All of our meals arrived at different times, desserts were 20 mins apart luckily my son received his pudding timely though. The beef on the roast dinner was so tough, and thickly sliced not even a steak knife could tackle it and this made it inedible. We did receive a discount because of this, without prompting, which was appreciated. My sons small pizza was half a pizza base and looked to be on a premade base, not ‘freshly made’ as the menu advertised. However facilities for children make up for this disappointing culinary experience. Our waiter was polite although forgetful. He half cleared our plates and glasses throughout the visit, then after giving us the dessert menu, forgot to ask us for our pudding order - we prompted him after 20 mins. We were then told after a 15 min wait, we had another 10-15 wait for 2 /3 desserts, although we were told politely there was no apology from the young member of staff. Just a reason that the other restaurant was busy. Luckily one particular staff member showed concern over our visit and I assume he authorised the discount, which made slight amends to the experience. Food was tasty, apart from mentioned. My husbands food was delicious and as it was his birthday I was relieved. I did mention on arrival it was a special occasion, but didn’t get an acknowledgement from the waiter. We will visit again but perhaps chef needs more help in the kitchen. We visited on a Sunday and waiting staff need to know when to use the word sorry to their customers.

2 3 Next page