Reviews of Nelson’s Bar

4.0
(based on 55 reviews)
Wrexham Road, Pulford, Chester, CH4 9DG
55 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Cory T from Pulford
    27 December 2019

    We had come for your normally excellent Nelson’s steak and ale pie. We had heard that Nelson’s was going to vary the pie contents daily which was concerning so we’re happy to see steak and ale was still featured on the menu. So when waiter came to take our order we ordered two pies and asked to hold the veg (peas in your case) However the waiter highlighted that the pie was full of vegetables, so we asked if the pie was a vegetable pie or steak and ale pie. And we’re told the pie was full of veg. So as a result we only ordered 1 to try it. As it turned out it is the steak and ale pie we have always come to expect. It was unfortunate that their was a misunderstanding of what the pie was and wasn’t. We will come back just don’t change the recipe My star rating based on this experience only not the food. Ps menus should be checked for cleanliness

  • By Carolyn O from Pulford
    27 December 2019

    Lovely hotel bar lounge area. Beautiful Christmas decorations. Food wasn’t great. Processed and lacked any taste. Limited bar menu choice. Probably won’t eat here again, but would meet up with friends for a drink and a catch up.

  • By Christopher B from North west
    17 December 2019

    The fish and chip were perfect, juicy fish in a light crispy batter. Our puddings were also lovely, but quite expensive for Creme brûlée and sticky toffee pudding. The children all enjoyed their meals, they had beef burgers, sausage and mash and pasta with carbonara and chicken sauce, they also had starters, ciabatta for two and cheese on toast for one, the cheese on toast was a meal in itself, but their knickerbocker glories were too big for them, if they ordered them again we would ask for extra bowls to share them with the adults! The children’s pudding were excellent value and would be plenty for anyone of any size! All in all an excellent meal in pleasant surroundings served by smiling staff.

  • By Gail S from Buckley
    12 December 2019

    Great food and staff. Christmas menu was good value for money.

  • By Marita D from Wrexham
    12 December 2019

    Visited Grosvenor Pulford Nelson bar 12th December, which was the 3rd time in 2weeks . Previous times food excellent ,this time my food was overcooked and therefore could only eat part of it ,told our waiter and asked him to mention to the chef, when he returned with bill no mention of complaint. Very disappointed.

  • By Ashley H from chester
    23 November 2019

    Food was really good, we had a range from pasta, to pies to fajitas. The burger was a bit dry, however overall the food was good. The nachos were some of the best we’ve ever had!! Will definitely return for the nachos. However unfortunately the staff were very slow, we were seated and informed our drinks order would be taken however 30 minutes later we ended up walking over to the bar. A lot of tables were still waiting to be cleared and we found the same happened to us, we even had 2/4 plates cleared and then there was a 10/15 minute window until the last plates were cleared. However all in all the food was really good, could just do with having more staff on. It was 45 minutes after we arrived that our food order was taken.

  • By Adele P from Chester
    16 November 2019

    Waitress did not explain to us, when busy there was a 40 minute wait for food. We only got told this later on. Starter of nachos arrived burnt and I couldn't eat it. One of the mains arrived to hot and that couldn't be eaten either. 20 minutes after arriving it was still to hot to eat. Waiter wasn't sympathetic when I explained. Poor food and service on this occassion compared to preious visits.

  • By Steve R from WREXHAM
    1 November 2019

    All our food was excellent

  • By Graham M from Hawarden
    11 October 2019

    Food was ok. Pate needed more toast (most places do scrimp for some reason), tiger prawns were very good. Would recommend the home cooked stesk and ale pie. Fish and chips.....fish batter was a bit oily and the chips; sadly, again, most places opt for frozen rather than home cooked. The powdery coating is the give away. Service was very good however.

  • By Beverly H from Wrexham
    5 October 2019

    Had my dad’s 70th birthday meal there and the food was delicious, I brought my own birthday cake and the waiter added an extra touch will a sparkler which was a really nice touch, the waiter looked after us from the moment we got there and until we left, we will definitely be back.