Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Portrait Restaurant

4.5
(based on 341 reviews)
National Portrait Gallery St Martin's Place, London, WC2H 0HE
341 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Keith A from Lichfield
    12 December 2019

    A truly dreadful meal. The food was stodgy and vastly overpriced.

  • By Christopher W from London
    6 December 2019

    good, as expected from previous visits

  • By Doris G from Bromley
    27 November 2019

    We have visited the restaurant many times, as always the food was excellent, and , of course, unbeatable views. My only quibble this time is the length of time we had to wait to be served. We had reserved for 12.00 and by 1.30 still had not had our main courses whilst everyone else - who had all come later - had finished theirs. When I raised this with the ( very charming and attentive) waitress. She apologised and said you have a system! What was wrong with first come first served? Perhaps in future you could advise people on arrival that your system means they will be singled out for bad service. We had gallery tickets for 2.30 and had envisaged a leisurely lunch beforehand, instead we had to bolt down our mains and dessert. Not what I had envisaged. I have frequently posted very positive reviews of the restaurant, and advise visitors from abroad to visit. I am now reluctant to do so again. Dottie Godec

  • By DeWayne P from New York
    26 October 2019

    Excellent dining experience across the board.

  • By Sue P from Columbus
    11 October 2019

    Had afternoon tea. It was lovely! Was also able to peruse the gallery which was great.

  • By Caroline R from London
    2 October 2019

    The view from the top of the National Portarit Gallery is lovely - really lifts your heart! The restaurant is not cheap but the food is very good - we shared a wonderful lemon posset and some delicious ice cream for pudding - and the main courses are interesting and carefully thought out. A very good experience...

  • By Anne W from London
    2 October 2019

    Good service and fantastic ambience as usual. But yesterday disappointed in the food. First course of soft boiled egg and leek, both undercooked with leeks really tough and egg white still runny slightly. Main of cheese soufflé was ok but a bit slushy texture wise overall. Cranachan pud was great. Wine great. But given we chose from the a la carte menu it was definitely not worth it. Shame as I’ve really enjoyed the food before here.

  • By Chris C from London
    6 June 2019

    Very good food and service - watch out main door shuts at 6 need to go round the back - great location for Covent garden theatres

  • By William S from Watford
    1 June 2019

    A enjoyable meal at a restaurant with a great view - a excellent dinning space with friendly and professional staff. The evening spring menu was creative and offered a good range of options.

  • By Anthony W from London
    23 May 2019

    Food and Drink were excellent; but (1) the acoustics were made it difficult, and (2) there are few staff