map placeholder

Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington

1-3 Pelham Street, South Kensington, London, SW7 2ND

((((* British
  • Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London

Lovely area, lovely staff and great After noon tea for a nice price.

Sara 01 May 2018
from Bjärred

View all 51 reviews

Named after the owner's grandmother, Muriel's Kitchen South Kensington is a tribute to all things British and traditional. With a quaint kitchen feel and full of homely comforts, diners are treated to a huge range of dishes.

Fresh, seasonal produce is used on the frequently changing menu at Muriel's Kitchen in South Kensington. For brunch there are full English and veggie breakfasts with organic eggs and Cumberland sausages, as well as fluffy pancakes. Family recipe fish pie and lasagne are popular traditional mains, while more contemporary sharing dishes like pulled pork BBQ sliders are also extremely popular.

Desserts at Muriel's Kitchen London include gluten-free recipes like chocolate Nutella cake and upside down raspberry pudding. Classic afternoon tea offers a huge choice of finger sandwiches and sweet treats, with a select wine list and some English ales also featuring on the drinks list.

Loaded with British charm and family history, Muriel's Kitchen is directly beside South Kensington Tube Station.

Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington

1-3 Pelham Street, South Kensington, London, SW7 2ND

Contact +44 2075893511
Website

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington

4.2 ((((* (based on 51 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (32)
  • lunch (18)
  • dinner (14)
  • breakfast (13)
  • child friendly (7)
  • trendy (6)
  • value (6)
  • business (2)
  • romantic (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (1)
  • ((((( 4 July 2016 by Steve from Kent

    Fantastic, staff, food everything was simply brilliant

  • ((*** 2 June 2016 by Helen from London

    It was OK. I don't really feel the Afternoon tea was good value for money. For £15.75, each, we got a few small finger sandwiches, a scone and some other cakes each, with a pot of tea.
    My sandwiches were also crispy so had obviously been made in advance and left on the side and not made to order. I understand the thinking behind this, but it's only sandwiches not a gourmet meal. I tried to tell a member of staff but it was extremely busy (not their fault, obviously) and I was too hungry by that point to bother.

    The cafe and decor was lovely but I think it would be better, for your pocket, if you just had tea and cake.

  • ((((* 1 June 2016 by Olivia from London

    Delicious and very good value for afternoon tea.

  • ((((( 31 May 2016 by Mary from Charlotte

    Easy to get to, right next to the South Kensington underground station. Most of our party had afternoon tea, but some ate from the dinner menu. All of the food arrived as ordered, was delicious and beautifully presented. There was more than enough for everyone. The space is small, but in a cozy way. Waitstaff was pleasant and helpful and were collage-age internationals. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. Highly recommend!

  • ((((( 30 May 2016 by Marianne from Tidaholm, Sweden

    Good service!! Good taste and a lot of items . We were all very saticified of the great Afternoon Tea!

  • ((((( 19 April 2016 by Maria from Leeds

    I went to Muriel's after visiting the National History Museum to have an afternoon tea. I arrived an hour before I booked my table but the very attentive staff had my table ready in 5 minutes. They were very efficient and professional. And the food was excellent. The presentation is fantastic, a lot of choices and big portions. I couldn't finish it and they provided me a box to take away. I totally recommend it.

  • ((((* 6 April 2016 by Gitte from Copenhagen

    We enjoyed every minute of our afternoon tea at Muriels. The cakes was to die for

  • ((((* 2 April 2016 by Will from Nottingjam

    Had afternoon tea. Loved how it was served on a picnic table. The whole place looked fantastic. Only thing was the tables were too close together. Apart from that it's a great place to eat. :-)

  • ((((( 30 March 2016 by Eli from London

    Very quaint restaurant in South Kensington, perfect for an affordable afternoon tea, but he sure to reserve in advance this place gets packed! Delicious food, tea and deserts. Probably the best Scotch egg I've ever had, credit to the chef of the onion marmalade.

  • ((((( 30 March 2016 by Martin from Newcastle upon Tyne

    We ordered afternoon tea. Sandwiches were amazing and desserts were delicious. A very popular venue as people were queuing outside to get in but very obvious to see why.

Unfortunately, you can't book Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant