Reviews of Marco Pierre White - Mr. White's English Chophouse - Dover

4.0
(based on 18 reviews)
Dover Marina Hotel & SPA , Waterloo Crescent, Dover Waterfront, Dover, Kent, CT17 9BP
18 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Emma K from Kent
    14 March 2020

    Very expensive for pre made sandwiches, rebaked scones, and cold coffee. We could tell whether deserts were brought in or home made.

  • By Jelena S from Dover
    13 March 2020

    Everything was spot on; booking, waiter, food and atmosphere. Thank you for a beautiful evening!

  • By Nancy P from Dover
    10 March 2020

    Lovely restaurant with great service... had the Afternoom Tea! Beautifully presented, fresh and delicious!

  • By John B from Deal
    21 February 2020

    We loved the dining room and the views but the food was average and the portions smallish. Not particularly good value but I guess you pay extra for the name.

  • By Leslie C from Kingsdown
    31 January 2020

    The staff was excellent- couldn’t be faulted. The food was average.

  • By Dinty F from Dover
    18 January 2020

    It was a very slow Thursday when we ate here. The last time I ate at this restaurant I had a wonderful steak as part of my meal so I was really looking forward to eating a steak again this time. Service was excellent and for my main course I ordered a sirloin steak to be cooked blue. When the main course arrived upon cutting into the steak it was obvious that it was over cooked. In fact is was between medium and well done. The steak was returned to the kitchen and I continued to eat the rest of my meal. The waitress did offer to replace my whole meal but I did not want my wife to have a long wait after finishing her meal. The new steak arrived and was cooked blue but was almost tasteless and nothing like the wonderful experience of the one on my previous visit. It appeared to me to be an old steak on the cusp of its use by day. Some of the meat was not red raw in the middle but had that browny colour of almost out of date meat. My wife did not want me to make a fuss and so I did not ask the waitress to remove it. The rest of the meal was good and my wife particularly enjoyed her champagne sorbet. I hope this is just a one off in the quality of the 28 day aged steaks in this branch of Mr White's Chophouse as I have enjoyed meals there a number of times before.

  • By Julie E from Dover
    17 January 2020

    Had a fab meal. Our waiter Paolo was most helpful and kind. Fish and Chips were not on the menu but we three requested this and Paolo said we could have them! Lovely light batter and beautifully crunchy chips! Would love to return when time allows us to. Thank you to all the Staff, especially Paolo!

  • By Peggy M from Ashford
    17 January 2020

    We had afternoon tea on a Groupon voucher, pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Great service & a fabulous table for a relaxed afternoon.

  • By David N from Sheerness
    2 January 2020

    Nice table and services The table was filthy!underneath. Children meals superb Adult meals not worthy of a Michelin star patron Not happy about clients walking by to go to the fish restaurant Great ambiance

  • By Amanda F from Dover
    21 December 2019

    Festive Afternoon Tea was lovely

2 Next page