Reviews of Mirabelle Restaurant

4.6
(based on 326 reviews)
The Grand Hotel King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne, South East England, BN21 4EQ
326 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Rod S from Eastbourne
    7 August 2020

    Great to get back to the Mirabelle and very pleased to see that it was busy. High standard of service as usual and excellent food as always. have never had a bad experience here. Particularly enjoyed the star anise set custard dessert.

  • By Brian S from Stone cross
    1 August 2020

    Fantastic evening with superb service and attention to detail. The first evening the restaurant had opened since lockdown and the staff were as professional as ever a brilliant night thank you.

  • By Simon H from Heathfield
    1 August 2020

    The restaurant felt very safe in the present circumstances and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant staff were all excellent and very friendly and the food was superb.

  • By Nicholas Roger Pye-Smith P from SHEFFIELD
    22 February 2020

    We often find that portion sizes in restaurants are too large for us but here they were perfect and we were able to enjoy three excellent courses. We greatly enjoyed the live piano music.

  • By Colin D from Eastbourne
    14 February 2020

    Service was impeccable, food was exceptional and the atmosphere excellent.

  • By Ian D from Shropshire
    8 February 2020

    This was our first visit to the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food and service was excellent. Our only observation was that the dress code (jacket and tie) was not enforced as all other male guests were tieless and one gentleman also had no jacket either., which was a pity for such a great environment/location.

  • By Ahmed A from Eastbourne
    7 February 2020

    Lovely place

  • By Jo-anne R from Eastbourne
    1 February 2020

    We’re regulars here and always have a great lunch. However, the food was even better than previously. Obviously down to the new chef, who I understand has only been there a matter of weeks. Service always excellent. Must just mention the Banana Parfait dish which was sublime.

  • By Edward A from London
    31 January 2020

    Very disappointed. It started badly when the only disabled friendly toilet is on the other side of the hotel. The wine we ordered was not available. He starters were passable but not what we expected. The pork with crackling was full fat belly pork which the menu had not revealed. The jus it came in could have been described as a sweet syrup . We thought the cheese was a safe option. Alas we were wrong. No choice of tempting cheese. But a slate of three indifferent cheeses. The service didn’t lift the indifferent fare and was totally lacking in charm.

  • By Michael Davies (professor) D from Eastbourne
    25 January 2020

    We were celebrating a significant wedding anniversary and birthday so this was a special evening for us. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after and felt that we were valued and important. We arrived early at the restaurant and said we were happy to have a cocktail in the bar whilst we waited; the staff there took us to the bar and then ensured that, as we were relaxing, we were brought the menu and wine list to make our choices, so that when we were ready to eat, everything would be on time. The cost of the cocktails was a little surprising (rather steep) but the two for one offer made them much more reasonable. The complimentary cauliflower soup was surprising and simply delicious - tasty and rich. The pork and crackling was so tasty and moreish, and the celeriac and fish a delightful combination. Loved the banana parfait and marshmallows too. Both desserts were thoughtfully served with small chocolate plaques - one said happy birthday and the other happy anniversary. Staff were attentive but not overly, friendly and the meal was a seamless and happy experience. Loved it. Thank you.