Reviews of Miller & Carter - Basingstoke

4.2
(based on 36 reviews)
Winchester Road Down Grange, Basingstoke, South East England, RG22 4ET
36 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Paul S from Basingstoke
    14 February 2020

    Excellent

  • By Robert P from Basingstoke
    24 August 2019

    The location and atmosphere is lovely. Staff very friendly and attentive. The 2 half Lobster starters were just about ok, although would not order again. The chateaubriand was superb but unfortunately the two fillet steaks that were ordered were not cooked as requested - rare rather than medium and the other steak although cooked correctly was not hot. Both steaks sent back, only for one steak to be returned just slightly warmed through and the other nothing had a changed apart from slightly warmed up. Still raw throughout apart from the edges cooked. One steak was taken off the bill, and free puddings offered, which we kindly declined. Birthday cake awaiting us at home. As a steakhouse, we were disappointed that you couldn’t get two steaks correct! This did take the shine off our birthday & wedding anniversary celebrations as we had been recommended Miller & Carter and had chosen you to celebrate our special occasion. We would come back again for the chateaubriand, and I hope it was just a ‘one off’ with regards to the steaks??????

  • By Alan K from Basingstoke
    8 August 2019

    All good and a very pleasant experiance.

  • By Andy L from Beech
    8 June 2019

    Excellent food and attentive staff

  • By Trudy M from Basingstoke
    18 May 2019

    Very nice meal, will be back again soon

  • By Ann N from basingstoke
    18 May 2019

    The food was outstanding and our meals all arrived at the same time. However the service did not match the standard of the food. As we sat down at our table we were given out menu's at the same time the waitress said" Hurry up and order you have to be out of here at 7.30" We one when we booked it that we had an allocated time of 3 hours from 1700-2000. We arrived early and was told to go to the bar for a drink as the table was not ready. At the bar was only one member of staff so it did take a while to get the drinks, we then moved to the table as it was ready. I did not feel that we warranted such a rude introduction so we questioned the waitress, she said it was her manager who told her to tell us to hurry up. We asked to see the waitress who came over and again was rude and unable to communicate well. After we ordered my daughter went and spoke to the manager quietly and on her own as we were there for my sisters hen party and it was ruining her special time. The manager did apologise after my daughter asked her to reflect on her communication and we were given a bottle of wine. We had several waitresses and one of them was extremely polite and wonderful, the other waitress who had been originally rude continued to be rude throughout our service. Unfortunately she called one guest on our table Madame in derogatory manner.

  • By Lynn W from Basingstoke
    20 April 2019

    Great location, selection of food and service was very attentive. Cocktails lovely too. Small outside seating area to front also. We were seated on time and our waitress was really lovely. Quality of every dish was excellent

  • By Sarah W from Basingstoke
    16 March 2019

    The food was absolutely delicious, beautifully presented and melt in the mouth. My only criticism was that there was 6 of us and we we rather squashed eating in a booth. But this would not stop me eating there again.

  • By Kelly P from Basingstoke
    15 February 2019

    We came for my sons birthday, a very busy night (valentines weekend) service was good, unfortunately the veggie burger wasn’t cooked (they did remove from the bill) but everything else was fine.

  • By Les M from Basingstoke
    21 December 2018

    Very good service. Table was ready when we arrived. Good menu choice. Excellent service and a great meal.