map placeholder

Merlin's Cave

The Village Green, High St, Chalfont St Giles, HP8 4QF

((((* British
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 21:30
Friday & Saturday: 13:00 - 21:30
Sunday: 13:00 - 21:00.

Excellent food with plenty of options to choose from.

Ian Brittain 19 June 2017
from Chalfont St Giles

View all 135 reviews

Sitting behind the village green and next to the village pond, Merlin’s Cave Chalfont St Giles is a 17th-century pub serving classic dishes with modern twists. The venue boasts a scenic garden for warmer weather, whilst inside, the restaurant sits behind the traditional and cosy bar area.

The Merlin’s Cave menu blends British pub favourites with Mediterranean flavours. Discover the chef’s own duck dumplings and salmon and dill fish cakes, or from the grill, try the indulgent burger stack, or a fillet steak with hand-cut chips. Flavour-rich vegetarian options include grilled aubergine with ratatouille and goats’ cheese, and stuffed courgettes with spinach, pine nuts, creamed leeks and a roasted red pepper sauce.

The Merlin’s Cave bar offers a range of real ales, lagers and bottled beers as well as an impressive selection of world wines. Mixing rustic furniture with modern industrial décor, the restaurant adds a contemporary feel to the building’s rustic charm.

A charming country pub, Merlin’s Cave in Buckinghamshire is a short stroll from the historic cottage and museum of author John Milton. The market town of Amersham and its tube station are a 5-minute drive away.

Merlin's Cave

The Village Green, High St, Chalfont St Giles, HP8 4QF

Contact +44 1494871072
Website

See all restaurants in Buckinghamshire

Customer reviews for Merlin's Cave

3.8 ((((* (based on 135 reviews)
80% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (86)
  • lunch (74)
  • large parties (34)
  • trendy (33)
  • al fresco (31)
  • views (31)
  • child friendly (30)
  • value (22)
  • romantic (17)
  • private dining (14)
  • luxury (12)
  • business (9)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • entertainment (6)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 2 March 2017 by Peta Barratt from Chalfont Saint Giles

    Excellent food and very reasonable.

  • ((((* 27 February 2017 by Jane Penson from Chalfont St Giles

    First impression wasn't great - we stood around for a bit waiting for someone to notice us, and then it was a bit too long before our order was taken. From then on it was great - very attentive and friendly waitress, excellent food.
    Unnecessary overpromise - would we like to have a few minutes before our main course was served - yes please - and then it was too late. A little on the pricey side but nice atmosphere and walking distance from home.

  • (((** 23 February 2017 by Mari Akhurst from Chalfont Saint Giles

    Please make sure that you have everything that is advertised on your menu. Not having any burgers at all is not great and not letting us know before we order is not very good customer service.

  • ((((( 23 February 2017 by Anne Hayes from Chalfont Saint Giles

    4 of us dined and chose starters - lollipop king prawns looked spectacular, roasted onion houmous delicious and treacle salmon.
    We all then had a burger as they looked amazing - they were ok - and a glass of wine included.

  • ((((* 11 February 2017 by Jack from Amersham

    Relaxing atmosphere, God service and food, with reasonable selection of wines.

  • ((((( 10 February 2017 by Catherine Ames from London

    Food was amazing and service was impeccable. One of my friends had an emergency and needed to get back to London fast. They helped us so well, get a taxi and a fast train back. Thank you so much!

  • ((*** 6 February 2017 by Debra Villiers from Chalfont Saint Giles

    I enjoyed the ambience, but my two friends were cold all night. They enjoyed their steaks, but I sent my monkfish tails back as overcooked & overall flavour was extremely fishy and unpleasant. I waited a long time for my steak replacement. The waitress was very vacant and we didn't like her, she didn't engage with us and we thought her command of English poor. I do hate being negative as I really hope the pub does well and thrive. It needs to be warmer, staff need to be friendlier and it's time the menu was refreshed. I'd go back if these were addressed.

  • ((((* 30 January 2017 by Bellamy Roth from Chesham

    good restaurant, impressive since the refurb. Very nice food but service was a bit slow considering we were the only people in the restaurant when we sat down

  • (((** 29 January 2017 by Elaine Watts from Chalfont Saint Giles

    Friendly staff but not very organised. Possibly lack of training. Greeting on arrival a bit lacking in efficiency. Food ok but not always as described on the menu and service slow.

  • ((((* 21 January 2017 by Marize Fourie from Greater London

    Very busy bar area, but restaurant area at the back is lovely since the renovation. Enjoyed the food.

Unfortunately, you can't book Merlin's Cave online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant