map placeholder

Merlin's Cave

The Village Green, High St, Chalfont St Giles, HP8 4QF

((((* British
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
  •  - Buckinghamshire
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 21:30
Friday & Saturday: 13:00 - 21:30
Sunday: 13:00 - 21:00.

Excellent food with plenty of options to choose from.

Ian Brittain 19 June 2017
from Chalfont St Giles

View all 135 reviews

Sitting on the beautiful village green with a beer garden looking out across the Buckinghamshire countryside, Merlins Cave is a character-packed country pub which dates back to the 17th century. A fresh modern twist is added to the classics on the food menu, with a host of cask beers and fine wines also on offer.

Merlin's Cave

The Village Green, High St, Chalfont St Giles, HP8 4QF

Contact +44 1494871072
Website

See all restaurants in Buckinghamshire

Customer reviews for Merlin's Cave

3.8 ((((* (based on 135 reviews)
80% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (86)
  • lunch (74)
  • large parties (34)
  • trendy (33)
  • al fresco (31)
  • views (31)
  • child friendly (30)
  • value (22)
  • romantic (17)
  • private dining (14)
  • luxury (12)
  • business (9)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • entertainment (6)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 8 April 2017 by Graham Smuth from Chalfont Saint Giles

    Great service great good great smbience

  • ((((* 5 April 2017 by Luke Black from Chalfont Saint Giles

    The burger deal was fantastic! No complaints at all

  • ((((( 18 March 2017 by Laura Waller from Chalfont Saint Peter

    Excellent service and very good food. The one criticism would be the fairly limited menu but everything else was great!

  • ((((* 15 March 2017 by David Knox from Chorleywood

    Friendly staff and lovely ambience. Lots of interesting nibbles to try on the menu - king prawn lollipops and salt beef croquettes were the highlights. Great burgers - very tasty and well presented.

  • (((** 13 March 2017 by Christian De charmant from Chalfont Saint Peter

    There were 6 of us and one of our starters did not turn up, the waiter had passed it on but kitchen did not make it. We waited for over an hour for main course after starter. 3 of us ordered fillet steak we all asked for it to be well done, but all 3 where cooked completely differently. One very pink with blood, also they where not that warm. The place looked great and nice friendly staff, but the kitchen needs a lot of work.

  • ((((* 12 March 2017 by Elaine Watts from Chalfont Saint Giles

    We had good service. Enjoyed the food. Liked the decor. It quite empty which was a shame. More efficient than on previous visits.

  • (((** 10 March 2017 by Phil Whitehouse from Great Missenden

    Starter very good. Main course lacked flavour and disappointing. Service was ok but staff lacked cincerity I.e. Programmed rather than really interested in the customers experience.
    Decor is good with interesting themes but a little uncomfortable.

  • ((((( 10 March 2017 by Julie Rumsey from Chalfont Saint Giles

    Loved the ambiance, interior design, service good and so was the food.

  • ((((( 6 March 2017 by Amanda Dwyer from Slough

    LOvely restaurant, very light and airy. The location is great too! I booked on line after being recommended by a friend. Glad she did. My friend and I had a lovely lunch We both had the ribs and the "burger and chips" desert. What a different spin for a desert!!!
    The staff were very attentive and helpful. - will definitely be back.

  • ((((( 4 March 2017 by Loopy Bear from Buckinghamshire

    Great food, service and surroundings. The staff are very attentive and accommodating to our needs. Food was amazing and beautifully presented. Very good wine list.

Unfortunately, you can't book Merlin's Cave online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant