Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Merchants Tavern

4.3
(based on 28 reviews)
36 Charlotte Road, London, EC2A 3PG
28 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Hannah W from London
    20 October 2019

    We went for a Sunday roast. The service was really slow and we had to keep asking where our drinks were, could we get water. Then the roasts came. Portion size was tiny. Beef roast was £22 and said it came with ‘all the trimmings’. All the trimmings were 2 ‘roast’ potatoes. They were more like boiled, and a few carrots. We ordered extra sides once we saw the roasts. One side we ordered was tender stem broccoli but when it came it was just normal boiled broccoli. So overpriced, and really disappointing.

  • By Londoner M from London
    21 July 2019

    Great Sundays roasts and desserts - buzzing atmosphere.

  • By Sean F from London
    19 December 2018

    Very good all round. Most enjoyable. Wine a little pricey but within the kill zone, and did not have the wine we ordered. Only very slight comment (and it was not a massive deal) was that the service tapered off. At the start it was very attentive - by the end we had to get up and grab someone. But you were very busy so it is not a massive moan.

  • By Christopher W from London
    18 December 2018

    Excellent and wonderful food and service.

  • By Jimmy G from Crowborough
    10 April 2018

    Absolutely faultless. Having had the sea bass tartare, ox cheek and pannacotta all I can say was it was superb. The evening was made by our waiter, who was extremely knowledgable, gave great recommendations and added to the evening and whole experience. When I stay in Old Street next month I will definitely come back which is rare for me as I like to try new places each time.

  • By Donna H from London
    16 February 2018

    We went on a Friday night. Fantastic food and great atmosphere, some of the drinks are expensive however we will definitely go back.

  • By A S from London
    16 December 2017

    Always a pleasure to dine at Merchant's Tavern.

  • By Hannah C from London
    1 December 2017

    We didn't eat the food, as the menu was unappealing and overly priced. But the first impressions weren't great either. Had to wait a while to be seated because the host couldn't check our coats... He had to give them to the waiter, who then took us to the cloakroom, where he handed the coats to another guy, then we switched waiters and someone else took us to our seats, someone else gave us menus. I found the whole things a bit over the top.

  • By Jason T from London
    2 November 2017

    Faultless service, great apertifs and cocktails, delicious meal served at just the right pace, relaxed, cosy and comfortable atmosphere

  • By Helen L L from London
    12 March 2017

    Came here for the 2-course Sunday lunch menu. On arrival, the front of house service was exceptional however the service in the main dining room was slightly 'confused' and at times unattentive. The food made up for this however as it was utterly delicious. I will definitely be returning but probably in the evening.

2 3 Next page