Maxine's Bar & Restaurant - Hastings

(79 Reviews)
Battle Road, Hastings, Kent, TN38 8EZ
British, Afternoon Tea

Restaurant description

Set in 38 acres of idyllic gardens and woodland, The Conservatory restaurant at the Bannatyne Hotel is a tranquil dining haven in Hastings. Overlooking the colourful flowerbeds and manicured lawns of the formal gardens, the restaurant incorporates local, seasonal produce in refined British cuisine.

The Conservatory menu excites with cured five-spice Margery duck breast served with pan-fried foie gras and a rhubarb and apple puree, which features alongside a roast loin of Ashdown forest venison with dauphinoise potato and braised red cabbage in a red wine jus. Chic, monochrome tables at The Conservatory are soaked in sunlight and decorated with potted plants for a wholesome, natural ambience.

Accompanying The Conservatory restaurant is a colourful terrace bar, which serves full afternoon tea with freshly-made sandwiches and homemade scones. Decorated with vivid colours and eye-catching modern art, it opens out onto al fresco dining.

It’s roughly a 10-minute drive down from the Bannatyne Hotel to Hastings Station, with Hastings Castle just a minute or so further. The Bannatyne Hotel is part of a chain from Dragon’s Den magnate, Duncan Bannatyne.

Customer reviews for Maxine's Bar & Restaurant - Hastings
3.9
(based on 79 reviews)

72%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (39)
  • al fresco (17)
  • breakfast (23)
  • business (8)
  • child friendly (8)
  • dinner (38)
  • entertainment (3)
  • large parties (20)
  • lunch (28)
  • luxury (16)
  • private dining (16)
  • romantic (26)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (13)
  • views (28)
  • By Susannah M from Tonbridge
    9 November 2019

    Excellent service and beautifully presented meal.

  • By Kathy STAUNTON S from Bexhill
    28 September 2019

    The portion size for each plate was far too small.

  • By Jim C from Hastings
    30 August 2019

    Menu was quite sparse and my steak arrived with a few chips and 8 small tomatoes. Disappointing. Also didnt have the wine i ordered

  • By Linda T from London
    25 August 2019

    Staff is amazing and food is really tasty and have Asian influence. Best crab cakes.

  • By Kelly F from Brighton
    13 August 2019

    All was lovely nice food we had afternoon tea really enjoyed it

  • By Mandie K from Hastings
    21 July 2019

    Great food and lovely setting. Garden is gorgeous with plenty of seating. Sat in the conservatory to eat which was light and spacious. Friendly fast fantastic sevice. Not rushed at all.

  • By Michelle W from London
    21 July 2019

    Wonderful Staff , very attentive great food

  • By Jenny C from Brighton
    2 June 2019

    The staff were amazing and great at their job. The food unfortunately was a little disappointing.

  • By Judy S from Hastings
    26 May 2019

    Ok experience

  • By Mary-jane M from Hastings
    11 May 2019

    All in all it was a mediocre afternoon tea. My friends and I went for my birthday treat which cost £18.50. We thought brilliant it’s not a bad price but not cheap either considering it was just shy of £60 between all three. We received tea immediately which was great and then our afternoon tea arrived with plain ham sandwiches which were boring and dry. Soggy cucumber and cream cheese finger sandwiches. Salmon which were nice and egg mayo which mine wasn’t really filled with much I think I might have got an end cutting. We then got onto the cakes where we got a selection of four slithers of cake and dessert. They were nice however would have wanted more. The final tier which was the scones. The scones were lovely and warm, the jam was lovely, the cream however was not. It tasted like butter and the consistency was also like butter, yuck! No one came round to ask if we would like more tea which was a shame, however the servers were friendly. Overall a disappointing afternoon tea. Wouldn’t go back if that was the only thing they offered.

Restaurant Location Map
Maxine's Bar & Restaurant - Hastings
Battle Road, Hastings, Kent, TN38 8EZ