Reviews of Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill - Folkestone

4.0
(based on 121 reviews)
The Clifton Hotel, 1-6 Clifton Gardens,, Folkestone, Kent, CT20 2EB
121 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Pamela M from Sellindge
    16 February 2020

    We had a two course Sunday Lunch and it was lovely , the Lamb was really nice and the rice pudding was the best we had ever tasted, we will definitely be going back

  • By Jackey W from Folkestone
    16 February 2020

    Excellent Sunday roast. Staff very welcoming and attentive. Restaurant well decorated and very clean and tidy. Prices very reasonable for such good class food.

  • By Michael J from Cambridge
    15 February 2020

    Service was first class. The meal looked fabulousand tasted ok, but could have been a lot warmer. Overall I'd give a 7 out of ten. The Stilton and fruit cake for dessert was great. Good flavoursome Stilton.

  • By Jamie W from Folkestone
    15 February 2020

    I was expecting great food and I was not disappointed. Highly recommended, I will be returning very soon. Kind regards.

  • By Isabel W from Ashford
    14 February 2020

    Excellent service, beautiful food, very attentive

  • By Daren G from Folkestone
    14 February 2020

    This was the 2nd time we had visited the restaurant. The 1st time we ordered from the al a carte menu which was amazing, however this time we had the Valentine’s Day set menu and it was very underwhelming. The scallops had run out for my wife’s starter, which wasn’t an issue but the smoked salmon she had instead came with a slice of bread which was clearly straight out of a cheap supermarket loaf. Where was the nice homemade warm roll she expected?? The broth did not come with any bread or roll and in fact there was a charge if you wanted any whichi found incredible. The Chateaubriand steak for main course was cooked exactly as requested but considering there was an £8 surcharge each it was not enough for 2 adults and was served on 3 enormous plates that didn’t fit on our table. I had the cheese board for dessert which was disappointing as it featured cheese and biscuits that I could have bought in my local supermarket. Whilst I appreciate ordering from the Set menu may not be as nice as the a la carte menu, we found the whole occasion to be considerably underwhelming and disappointing.

  • By Julie D from Folkestone
    1 February 2020

    Excellent food and brilliant service from the whole team

  • By Russell S from Folkestone
    1 February 2020

    A superb meal in lovely surroundings

  • By Louisa D from Folkestone
    29 January 2020

    Friendly service lovely surroundings and lovely food . Would highly recommend to friends

  • By Robin P from London
    25 January 2020

    It's close to unimaginable how/why MPW has given his name to this restaurant. Two of the four steaks were cooked as asked, one was disappointing, and the fourth had to be returned as the requested 'rare' was at best 'medium'. The replacement steak took 15 minutes to arrive, at which stage the rest of the group were close to finishing their meals. The chips were unimpressive, and the description of the 'frites' option was a complete misnomer. The starters (calamari & whitebait) were soggy & tasteless, being obviously pre-packaged & frozen, and cooked in substandard oil. We were sat by the service entry, so were regularly treated to the glare of the lights from the service area & the strange sight of a wall full of food photographs whose purpose was presumably to show the service team what each dish was supposed to look like? There was also a coffee station behind one of my guest's heads, that had used coffee loudly bashed out on the counter top at regular intervals. The staff were friendly & pleasant, but the service was exceptionally slow, with the starters taking over an hour to arrive. We were given a 50% discount on the miscooked steak.