Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill - Newcastle

(728 Reviews)
2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, North East England, NE1 5XN
Steaks & Grills, British, Afternoon Tea
View main menu

Top offer

£19.95 per person / £24.95 per person with Prosecco / £39.95 per person with Champagne

This offer is available from May 3, 2018 until May 31, 2022, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Average

Main course: £20
Food spend: £35

Opening hours

Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 10:00, 12:00 - 17:00 & 17:30 - 21:30
Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 10:30, 12:30 - 17:00 & 17:30 - 21:30.

Restaurant description

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Newcastle treats guests to signature steaks, timeless English and French classics, and a comprehensive selection of premium cocktails, all delivered with Marco’s unique flair.

The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner and features a range of regionally inspired daily specials. To suit all tastes, it typically includes a mix of childhood favourites and modern-day delicacies – ranging from the classic 1970s prawn cocktail and The Governor's steak and ale pie, to baked camembert and a selection of 35-day aged native breed steaks. Marco’s ethos is all about classic dishes, simply cooked using the best locally sourced ingredients.

Perfectly in sync with its cosmopolitan surroundings, Marco Pierre White restaurant is housed in the luxurious Hotel Indigo Newcastle . Newcastle Central Rail Station is a 5-minute walk away.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill - Newcastle
4.4
(based on 728 reviews)

91%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (311)
  • al fresco (14)
  • breakfast (46)
  • business (117)
  • child friendly (38)
  • dinner (396)
  • entertainment (29)
  • large parties (86)
  • lunch (341)
  • luxury (193)
  • private dining (124)
  • romantic (194)
  • trendy (145)
  • value (148)
  • views (5)
  • By John L from Newcastle upon Tyne
    13 March 2020

    The experience was o.k. and the waitresses were very accommodating. The starters were great and very tasty but I opted for the 20oz Grilled Delmonico Steak, which I shared with my son, it was mostly fat. Surely the chef knew this whilst cooking it??? I'm not one to create a fuss so didn't bring it to the waitresses attention but I shouldn't have had to when spending, in my eyes, such a large amount of money on the whole meal. The Gnocchi, which my sons girlfriend had, looked fine together with the Roast Rump lamb, which my wife had. My youngest son had the John Lennon Burger which he said was fine too. The steak really let the side down delivered with cold fried eggs & mushrooms. The chips were o.k. I'd give the food a 5 out of 10 - the chef will have known about the steak, but obviously didn't care, and the waiting staff a 10 as they did. It was my eldest sons 18th birthday and, because of this, I wanted him to enjoy the entire experience. That's why I thought Marco Pierre Whites should have been a great option. As a family we eat out frequently and are used to much better food than that what was served for the price we paid. There are so many better options in Newcastle at half the price!!!!!

  • By Debbie N from Newcastle
    1 March 2020

    Distinctly average afternoon tea, no clotted cream,scones crumbled apart, cakes lacking in taste, nice sandwiches Worst part was the rude,argumentative lady showing us to our table and being talked over, and not listened to....extremely rude and spoiled the afternoon tea

  • By Ian H from Durham
    28 February 2020

    First time staying over with the set menu which was lovely, plenty of choice still. Very relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant, can't fault our experience from beginning to end. Breakfast is absolutely first class, with abundant choice, all lovely. All staff very professional, friendly and attentive to your needs.

  • By Chris F from Newcastle
    28 February 2020

    Fantastic as ever, luxury dining. Top service.

  • By Rita R from Newcastle
    27 February 2020

    We dine here frequently and as always we were looked after perfectly by Trina who is a superb host and service was excellently served by her & her colleagues. Our starters were delightful & enjoyed by all, mains which consisted of the Châtaeubriand which was delicious however the other 20oz steak for two (a ribeye cut) was rather tough, dry & disappointing. We don’t know what Marco has done with the thick cut chips but they are horrid! For the price being charged we find that the only other side of vined tomatoes included is a pretty poor addition - not an onion ring or mushroom to be seen! These had to be ordered as extras!!! For £62 for 2 main servings, it’s pretty poor value for money tbh. We were lucky, we had bought 3 x £100 gift vouchers for £150 in the Black Friday sale, second year to do so but I’m afraid no more - even at £150 we felt a little “robbed”. The total bill was £305 for 4 people. If we’d paid the full price we would have been very, very unhappy! For that kind of money we expect exceptional food. It’s about time Marco realised that “one type of food does not suit all” he needs to cater for local tastes! Would we go back, maybe but for the 2 for 1 meal deal as that represents better value for money. In addition they need consider introduce ing a more reasonably priced wine menu that suits ALL pockets. Afraid if something not done with the a la carte menu & drinks menu prices then you will operating on borrowed time!!!

  • By Graeme B from Newcastle
    27 February 2020

    Not a good experience. My partner ordered french onion soup, it came without the gryere cheese on. Then they just brought out a pile of cheese on a separate plate. We both ordered steak for mains. I ordered the eggs topping. They forgot the eggs, then when they did bring them out the yolks were hard. Both meals were served with frozen chips. Weve had better meals in weatherspoons. Then they closed the toilets for 10 mins to clean them. Definitely wont be back or recommending.

  • By Lynsey W from Newcastle upon Tyne
    25 February 2020

    The food was absolutely fantastic. Service was great. Overall excellent visit.

  • By Bill S from Newcastle upon Tyne
    23 February 2020

    Excellent in every respect. Lovely food. Well looked after by Zara and Paige.

  • By Denise F from Co Durham
    22 February 2020

    Our favourite restaurant, never disappointed.

  • By Mel G from Seascale
    21 February 2020

    Well looked after by friendly staff from arrival, very impressed with the trouble you took to make sure our one person with an allergy was catered for.The food came promptly, was excellent, and very enjoyable. Ambience great, venue comfortable. Your team seem to be happier and work well together than at any other restaurant we have visited in the last few years. Just one minor point, we had a voucher for a free bottle of wine which we presented, but when checking the bill I found we had been charged for it.

Restaurant Location Map
Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill - Newcastle
2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, North East England, NE1 5XN

Available offers

  • £19.95 per person / £24.95 per person with Prosecco / £39.95 per person with Champagne

Similar Restaurants

  1. Miller & Carter - Newcastle

    Miller & Carter - Newcastle

    Steaks & Grills
    (211 Reviews)
    511m
    Miller & Carter - Newcastle
  2. Windows at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
    1km
    Windows at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
  3. Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
    1.8km
    Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
  4. Route

    Route

    British
    (140 Reviews)
    681m
    Route
  5. The Forth Hotel

    The Forth Hotel

    British
    (3 Reviews)
    129m
    The Forth Hotel