map placeholder

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham

Old Elvet, Durham, DH1 3HP

((((* Steaks & Grills
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham - County Durham
Average
Main course: £17
Food spend: £34

Fantastic food, attentive server called Hazel. Table booked for family to celebrate my Son's 21st Birthday. We will return.

Julie 30 May 2019
from Durham

View all 218 reviews

Treating diners to award-winning steaks and other grill delicacies, Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham is a chic, modern space inside the boutique Hotel Indigo. To complement the indulgent menu, there are fine wines and signature cocktails mixed up at the stylish bar, while the afternoon tea menu includes vegetarian and gluten-free variations.

Signature recipes from the acclaimed chef are packed into the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham menu, featuring English and French influences. A selection of hors d’oeuvres includes potted suck with green peppercorns, and the salt-roasted beetroot salad, moving on to signature starters like classic French onion soup. Succulent steaks take centre stage on the menu, as well as signature pies, burgers, and Sunday roasts at the weekends.

Finish off a meal at Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill in Durhamwith desserts like Cambridge burnt cream, or the classic dark chocolate mousse. From the bar, sample a diverse wine list, selection of cocktails, and English ales.

Serving up celebrated home-style recipes in a comfy modern setting, Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham is a 5-minute drive from Durham Rail Station.

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham

Old Elvet, Durham, DH1 3HP

Contact +44 1913293535
Website

Make a booking

See all Marco Pierre White Restaurants

See all restaurants in County Durham

See all restaurants in Durham

Customer reviews for Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Durham

4.2 ((((* (based on 218 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (124)
  • lunch (85)
  • romantic (75)
  • luxury (73)
  • afternoon tea (60)
  • trendy (45)
  • private dining (41)
  • business (38)
  • value (35)
  • large parties (15)
  • breakfast (12)
  • child friendly (9)
  • views (6)
  • al fresco (3)
  • entertainment (3)
  • ((((( 13 May 2019 by Michael from Potters bar

    Lovely room good food friendly staff

  • (((** 10 May 2019 by Lisa from Durham

    The venue was outstanding however the food was mediocre.
    I wouldn't go for the food.

  • ((((( 8 May 2019 by Olivia from Durham

    Brilliant service

  • ((((( 5 May 2019 by Emma from York (visited the Durham restaurant)

    The restaurant set in the old council/university building in Durham is lovely, somewhere very different from other restaurants. The staff are knowledgeable and attentive, the menu is varied and the food tasted beautiful. They also have a variety of drinks both alcoholic and not. A treat. Would recommend.

  • ((((* 3 May 2019 by Derek from Durham

    Experience was good, service was excellent. Steak was very good, however the duck pate starter was very bland and tasteless. This did not detract from a very nice evening, but for the price paid you would expect the food to be top drawer. Perhaps a wrong menu choice, but still!!

  • (((** 2 May 2019 by Chris from Durham

    Best features include a fantastic setting, the room was stunning and the seating arrangement was great. The gentleman who took our order was very friendly and polite, he offered us everything we wanted. The ordered bread and olives as an fore to our starters and this arrived promptly as did our drinks. It became clear at this point that the table was perhaps a little bit to small to fit everything. Our starters arrived promptly and I can only speak for my own but it was sublime. 10/10 so far. Our mains then arrived and we were a little bit perplexed by the wild mushrooms in garlic butter, we expected more of a sauce but what we got was a soggy clump of garlic falvoured mushrooms. It was even presented in a sauce jug but it was far from something you could pour. Our steaks were cooked satisfactorily but they weren't setting the world on fire, we have both tasted better or similar in other establishments. As our plates were taken away we were asked if we wanted to see the desert menu. We politely said yes. This is where it broke down. We waited 30 minutes and still did not receive the desert menu. This was on a Tuesday evening where the restaurant was by no means full or even at half capacity. We were quite put out so just took the bill and left. We left feeling let down, the cost of the meal was quite high for the quality and the service seemed to start well but fell off a cliff when it came to desert. I feel let down.

  • ((((* 28 April 2019 by John from Durham

    I had fish and chips which were lovely - tasty batter. Lamb and potatoes were also lovely but my son in law did not enjoy the wild mushrooms and polenta. Whilst the mushrooms added flavour the polenta was tasteless and gloopy. Very disappointing. The crumble was lovely but custard is always a preference over ice cream. And the sticky toffee pudding was delicious. The starter soups French onion and the pea soup were lovely also. Service was excellent Thanks

  • (((** 27 April 2019 by Colin from Durham

    First time visiting here...

    Started with scallops (just 3) served with crispy pancetta, black pudding and cauliflower purée.
    Very nice, although purée was too wet and only two thin, small discs of black pudding.
    At £13, not value for money.

    Main course was the shrimp curry with buttered rice and pak Choi.
    Curry sauce itself was ok, quite bland, fairly similar to a katsu or chip shop curry. Shrimps were pleasant with the chunks of mango and ginger.
    Was only served with half a pot of rice, which lacked seasoning.
    At over £17, this wasn’t value for money.
    Maybe I just made bad selection...

    The burgers delivered to other tables certainly looked good, so I will give the restaurant another try.

  • ((((( 26 April 2019 by Andrew from Lanchester

    This was a special occasion for us, our Pearl Wedding anniversary. The setting is lovely, the food was excellent and Ruth was extremely attentive in service. We had a wonderful time. Thank you

  • ((((( 24 April 2019 by Ritchie from Durham

    Chateaubriand for 2 was excellent and really good value with the special offer on the lunch menu.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant