Reviews of Chez Mal at Malmaison Oxford

4.1
(based on 124 reviews)
Oxford Castle 3 New Road, Oxford, South East England, OX1 1AY
124 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Paul B from Oxford
    12 March 2020

    Good value winter prix fixe menu. Well cooked. Friendly efficient staff. Very nice ambiance. In a unique setting. Convenient for town centre. Only down side is little pricy drink.

  • By Annie C from Oxford
    8 March 2020

    I love coming to Malmaison for Sundsy lunch. Love the ambience,the special service I get from the staff who are wonderful. I also love the menu for Sundays with the buffet table and then menu choices. It's my favourite place.

  • By Suzanne S from Oxford
    8 December 2019

    We had a very enjoyable meal. The Roast beef was especially lovely, Yorkshire puddings were a little over done. We will be returning Thank you

  • By Hannah T from Oxford
    2 December 2019

    Had the best food in ages with this fabulous deal using the set menu! Sea bass in butternut squash sauce was amazing

  • By Lisa S from Thame
    28 November 2019

    My friend and i had a fantastic meal. Cooked to perfection and very tasty. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We will definitely be coming back.

  • By Michael T from Malvern
    25 October 2019

    Interesting and atmospheric venue set in the old prison. The set menu was very good value and had a reasonable range of dishes. Everything we ordered was good quality and well presented, although one starter was unavailable which was a little disappointing as are reservation was early evening. The staff didn't seem to be aware of the Bookatable deal though and it's always embarrassing having to explain why you want a better deal than they are offering..

  • By Joanna K from Oxford
    22 October 2019

    We went to Malmaison as it’s nearly our first wedding anniversary and we have received gift card to use in your restaurant. Food was delicious and staff very attentive and helpful. Most definitely we will be back.

  • By Anita B from Oxford
    4 October 2019

    As it was the first time dining here I wasn't sure of how generous the meals would be. We went for the set meal with a glass of champagne. I had steak with frites and was very impressed as did not think at the price we paid, the meal would be so generous in size. Service was excellent. The barmen deserve a medal - very nice cocktails at a reasonable price, albeit, special prices for Friday 5.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m.! Excellent all round. Will be booking again very soon.

  • By Katy M from Todenham
    26 May 2019

    Helpful staff, drinks very expensive

  • By Dinda D from Oxford
    5 May 2019

    Lovely venue - we were there to early - and had to wait at bar