map placeholder

Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle

Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3DX

(((() British
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle - Tyne & Wear
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £32
Opening hours
Monday - Friday: 07:00 - 22:30
Saturday - Sunday: 08:00 – 22:30
Sunday: 08:00 - 22:00.

perfect window seat overlooking the EYE, very quiet helpful waiter service, sufficient menu choice with this deal, but supplements too expensive, service and food quality excellent

andrew 18 July 2019
from Penrith

View all 97 reviews

Overlooking the River Tyne and the iconic Millennium Bridge, CHEZ MAL Brasserie is housed in the exclusive Malmaison Newcastle hotel. A stylish twist on a traditional brasserie, French classics are reinterpreted with rebellious British flair.

Timeless classics join a daily plat du jour and seasonal prix fixe menus, with the likes of Thai-spiced pumpkin broth with crab and orzo pasta, and slow-roasted Black Angus short ribs on offer. Elsewhere on the menu, discover favourites like tuna tartare, strip steaks and Goan moules.

Balancing classical extravagance and modern apartment chic, the decadent décor of the CHEZ MAL Brasserie ensures that dining is both intimate and atmospheric. Subdued and atmospheric, a cosmopolitan selection of cocktails at the bar showcases signature creations from the Mal mixologists, alongside a well-balanced range of world wines.

Filled with glossy black lacquer and plush leather, The Brasserie at the Newcastle Malmaison offers a calm and relaxed setting. Manors Rail Station is 7 minutes’ walk away.

Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle

Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3DX

Contact +44 8453654438

Make a booking

See all Malmaison Restaurants

See all restaurants in Tyne & Wear

See all restaurants in Newcastle

Customer reviews for Chez Mal at Malmaison Newcastle

4.4 (((() (based on 97 reviews)
90% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (69)
  • romantic (45)
  • views (44)
  • lunch (37)
  • luxury (34)
  • trendy (27)
  • value (26)
  • business (23)
  • private dining (23)
  • afternoon tea (16)
  • large parties (11)
  • breakfast (10)
  • entertainment (9)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (3)
  • ((((( 11 January 2017 by Denise from Co Durham

    Lovely food, lovely atmosphere, lovely views and more importantly lovely friendly staff.

  • ((((( 7 January 2017 by Archie from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Malmaison ambience just right for enjoying quality food and wine with bright and caring service. Great views across the River to the colourful millenium bridge and the Sage. Fine dining at great value for money prices. Our food was served with style and cooked to perfection, especially enjoyed the Hake in red wine sauce. The house red wine is smooth and to be recommended.

  • ((((( 18 December 2016 by Lynn from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Food was lovely service was excellent

  • ((((( 17 December 2016 by Rosie from Durham

    Malmaison never disappoints; the restaurant is luxuriously decorated in boutique style, its very sultry, romantic, intimate with a very relaxed ambience. My friend and I chose from the A La Carte menu; for starters we had Scallops which melt in your mouth and the prawns/squid with dips were perfectly cooked. For mains we chose the venison steak and lobster risotto, both deliciously decadent. Puddings are a treat, for sheer indulgence try the Mal hot chocolate desert, it will finish you off for sure! The wine selection is pricey but high quality (we had a bottle of Chablis, £35). For a lovely dining experience in great surroundings, with fantastic food and service you must visit!

  • ((((* 9 November 2016 by Dimitris from Newcastle upon Tyne

    All good (wine list needs upgrading though)

  • (((** 4 October 2016 by Samira from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Great service but the food was a little bit disappointing !

  • ((((( 1 July 2016 by Tommy from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Great food and service and reasonably priced.

  • (((** 28 June 2016 by Caroline from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Whilst we had a lovely meal in very nice surroundings, there were a couple of things that concerned us. We had a very long wait between courses, particularly between starters and main. So we ended up by rushing our desserts as we had arranged transport home, which we delayed by another 15 minutes. We were in the restaurant for over 2 hours. The second concern was about the service charge. On our previous visit we were asked for 69p which we had paid short, bearing in mind that £22 of the bill was "discretionary" service charge, we thought this was a bit cheeky! We had just rounded the bill to an even amount by 4 people. Last night our bill was £96 of which £8+ was service charge, we put £100 in the folder with the bill and didn't get any change!! We expect to pay either service charge or leave a tip but not both.

  • (((** 7 June 2016 by Pradip from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Nice place, good service but overall average food

  • ((((( 3 June 2016 by June from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Everything was perfect from the pre dinner drinks to the wonderful three course meal. Staff very helpful and attentive,but the meal was leisurely and unhurried. Booking through bookatable enabled us to have three courses for the price of two and a glass of prosecco.
    A perfect birthday evening in lovely surroundings.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant