map placeholder

Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh

1 Tower Place, Leith, EH6 7BZ

((((* British
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £32
Opening hours
Monday - Friday: 07:00 - 22:30
Saturday - Sunday: 08:00 – 22:30
Sunday: 08:00 - 22:00.

Perfect location. Excellent service. Wide variety of dishes. The poached salmon was outstanding.

Linda 28 July 2019
from Glasgow

View all 93 reviews

Housed within the luxury of the original Malmaison hotel, Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh serves sumptuous Scottish delicacies. Guests can enjoy the Chez Mal Brasserie, or dine al fresco during warmer weather.

Serving modern reinventions of classic local cuisine, the Malmaison menu is committed to sourcing the best produce in the region. Sophisticated yet accessible, a beautifully presented a la carte selection foregrounds bold, wholesome flavours. Tasty vegetarian options and succulent fish dishes are served, as well as sublime New York strip steak cuts.

For a relaxed tone, diners can head to the sleek bar at the Malmaison restaurant. Subdued and atmospheric, a cosmopolitan selection of cocktails showcases signature creations from the Mal mixologists, as well as a well-balanced range of world wines.

Edinburgh Waverley Rail Station is 9 minutes’ drive from Chez Mal at Malmaison.

Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh

1 Tower Place, Leith, EH6 7BZ

Contact +44 1314685000

Make a booking

See all Malmaison Restaurants

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Leith

Customer reviews for Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh

4.1 ((((* (based on 93 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (58)
  • lunch (38)
  • romantic (27)
  • afternoon tea (23)
  • trendy (21)
  • value (21)
  • views (19)
  • private dining (16)
  • luxury (13)
  • al fresco (12)
  • business (12)
  • large parties (11)
  • breakfast (7)
  • child friendly (4)
  • ((((* 1 August 2017 by Wilma from Edinburgh

    We had afternoon tea in Chez Mal and it was delicious, tiny burgers, cream meringues, scones and chicken/salmon wraps all very tasty.!
    The staff could not have been more helpful and a very pleasant day was had by all. The restaurant has a chilled relaxed feel to it.

  • ((((* 23 July 2017 by Marion from Edinburgh

    Good quality food, delicious flavours and friendly service.

  • ((((* 21 July 2017 by Marisa from Edinburgh

    There were eight of us, and seven chose the beef brisket, which was just delicious. The complimentary prosecco was a nice touch and cocktails were £5 a pop for the evening. The waiting team stood out as efficient and friendly. Dessert was disappointing, though; the banoffee cheesecake had a very "industrial" look and taste to it. Overall, a lovely dining experience.

  • ((((( 17 July 2017 by Claudia from Edi

    *****

  • ((((* 17 July 2017 by Gordon from Soutn Queensferry

    Beautiful setting, very helpful service and food delicious.

  • (((** 4 July 2017 by Mike from Edinburgh

    Meal was excellent but we had to wait a long time for the starter and between courses
    The service from staff was very good

  • ((((* 21 June 2017 by Roderick from Edinburgh

    Good food, nice surroundings, efficient staff. We 4 were the only lunch customers - really surprising as it has a good menu and is good value for money.

  • ((((( 20 June 2017 by Linda from Glasgow

    This restuarant never fails to impress. The historic exterior and contemporary interior are superb. I booked this visit through a deal which was excellent value for money and provided a good choice on the set menu.
    I can recommend the lamb starter and the pork belly main course both of which were cooked to perfection and make sure you leave room for dessert which if you choose the rhubarb trifle is so light and refreshing.

  • ((((( 19 June 2017 by Patricia from Edinburgh

    Location was lovely

  • ((*** 8 June 2017 by Hugh from Edinburgh

    Very disappointing evening at Chez Mal. There was little effort made by staff to provide a warm welcome and this attitude continued throughout our visit.
    Initially we were informed which dishes on the menu were not available. Once our meal arrived, it was mediocre to say the least and the potatoes were inedibly undercooked. The extra French fries we'd ordered did not arrive till we had reminded the waiting staff twice and we had almost finished our meal.
    To be honest we could not wait to leave.
    I have had disappointing meals at this restaurant on two previous occasions, but thought that perhaps they had improved with time and gave it another chance. I will not be back.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant