Reviews of Chez Mal at Malmaison Edinburgh

4.0
(based on 93 reviews)
1 Tower Place, Leith, Edinburgh, EH6 7BZ
93 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By R McL M from Edinburgh
    31 August 2019

    Great value in a lovely restaurant with a really nice ambiance and friendly, attentive staff. Food was very good although not all courses would get a 5 star. The Thai Chicken lollipops for starters were delicious although there was a strange taste from the mozzarella that my wife had, our fish dishes were cooked to perfection but sitting on just a bed of cabbage, there was a feeling that a couple of potatoes would have been appropriate and not outwith budget constraints. The sweets were very good although the chocolate and hazelnut brownie was really just a bit too much and more akin to a chocolate torte type texture. A very enjoyable experience all the same.

  • By Linda P from Glasgow
    22 July 2019

    Perfect location. Excellent service. Wide variety of dishes. The poached salmon was outstanding.

  • By Pamela G from Edinburgh
    21 February 2019

    We were a group of 8 and the only diners in the restaurant. We have visited before and gave always found the food and service to be good. However, this time we waited quite a while for both starters and mains. The mains were lukewarm. Considering we were the only diners, this was not acceptable. There was also no bread prvoided before the meal which is usual in most similar calibre restaurants. A bit disappointing.

  • By Colin A from Edinburgh
    26 January 2019

    Sweet.

  • By Keri M from Edinburgh
    13 January 2019

    Amazing, great service and lovely food!

  • By Gina S from musselburgh
    25 August 2018

    Could not fault anything about this restaurant the food & service was excellent & definitely value for money, couldn't believe the size of the rack of ribs that we got, Would definitely go back

  • By Marion C from Edinburgh
    11 August 2018

    Could not have wished for a better deal food and drink were amazing - waiting staff could not do enough for you. Would definitely recommend.

  • By S C from Edinburgh
    6 August 2018

    Excellent food - it was a birthday treat for a friend and we both thoroughly enjoyed what we had. The restaurant also made an adaptation to the blue cheese in the salad to mozzarella by request - very nice of them to do this.

  • By Anonymous T from Edinburgh
    1 August 2018

    Attractive restaurant. Lovely food. Service a bit slow but pleasant.

  • By Olga W from Edinburgh
    26 July 2018

    Great food, great service, great location.