map placeholder

Maison Bleue Victoria Street

36/38 Victoria Street, Edinburgh, EH1 2JW

(((() French
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Lovely food ,great service and ambiance. Would recommend to everyone

Emma 07 June 2019
from Aberdeen

View all 335 reviews

In a striking blue building in Edinburgh’s Old Town, Maison Bleue serves an adventurous mixture of world cuisines. French, North African and Scottish dishes are served in a unique setting that includes stone arches and a wooden spiral staircase.

On the Maison Bleue menu, an innovative blend of international dishes sits alongside unmistakably Scottish treats, like haggis balls in beer batter, with clapshot tatties and whisky sauce. The French delicacy of frogs’ legs is given an oriental twist, with the addition of soya sauce and a wasabi dip. Vegetarians are treated to recipes like spiced goat's cheese and spinach in filo pastry.

As well as banquet menu options, Maison Bleue Edinburgh has an extensive wine list, which includes bottles from around the globe. These are perfect to enjoy with the cheese boards served for dessert.

Just 10 minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Rail Station, Maison Bleue restaurant is an innovative addition to Edinburgh’s Old Town.

Maison Bleue Victoria Street

36/38 Victoria Street, Edinburgh, EH1 2JW

Contact +44 1312261900
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh Old Town

Customer reviews for Maison Bleue Victoria Street

4.4 (((() (based on 335 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (257)
  • romantic (181)
  • lunch (132)
  • value (80)
  • trendy (72)
  • private dining (60)
  • business (32)
  • views (32)
  • luxury (30)
  • large parties (21)
  • child friendly (18)
  • entertainment (11)
  • afternoon tea (7)
  • breakfast (4)
  • al fresco (3)
  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by Julia from Edinburgh

    Excellent food and great service

  • (((** 29 January 2019 by Anna from dublin

    Had the lamb and my husband had the ox cheek. Both very tasty but the ox cheek dish was a little to cold for my liking. He never complains so wouldnt allow me to!

  • ((((( 25 January 2019 by Gregor from Alexandria

    This is an excellent restaurant with a great atmosphere and friendly and attentive staff. At the time of our visit they offered a “January blues” table d’hote 3 course menu at 50% off. If visiting Edinburgh this a must We will be back

  • ((((* 18 January 2019 by EWEN from DALGETY BAY

    we were welcomed, coats taken and shown to our table. Menus and tap water were quickly offered. The restaurant was not busy at 1pm mid January. we selected the Formule lunch. I had mussels (small size mussels) and the tasty braised rabbit -good portion.. my friend had the creamy oeuf en cocotte, which he praised, and Thai style fish cake. There was also soup and fish du jour to choose from..We shared a bottle of house sauvignon-more expensive than the meal- and finished with two coffees. Service was friendly and attentive in a relaxed atmosphere. An enjoyable but not exceptional meal but good value for the price (£25pp including tip) , in this French bistro restaurant in business 20 years and sited conveniently not far from the Royal Mile towards the Grassmarket. Only major disadvantage for the elderly and less agile is that the toilets are sited 2 floors upstairs.

  • ((((* 1 January 2019 by Margareta from Stockholm

    Lovely couscous.

  • ((((( 24 December 2018 by Ada from Edinburgh

    Lovely food, great value, very friendly staff, nice ambience. We did get the 20th anniversary pricing but I'd happily pay more for this food. Thanks for a lovely dining experience. We'll be back x

  • ((((* 17 December 2018 by Diane from Dublin

    Beautiful restaurant. Had romantic meal for too. Waiters lovely and didnt overdo it. Food was delicious. Portions large.

  • (((** 17 December 2018 by Iain from Edinburgh

    I like this restaurant but it was not up to its usual standards. They had started their Christmas menu and the A la carte menu was limited.

  • ((((( 17 December 2018 by Julie from Aberdeen

    Our very first visit was not a disappointment! The waiter was excellent.... informative and attentive. Food was delicious. We chose from an extensive festive menu so was happy not to have turkey etc.

  • ((((( 14 December 2018 by Maria from Reykjavík

    I lived in Edinburgh for 4 years, 2004-2008, and Maison Bleue Victoria Street was my favorite restaurant. Being a poor student I couldn't go very often but when I had special occasions MB was my first option. I dined there on Friday the 7th of December 2018 with my partner and my parents and everything there was just as wonderful as I remembered it being 10 years ago! The service was excellent, professional yet friendly, the food was amazing and the ambience of the restaurant and building completely charming. I'll be sure to come back when I return to Edinburgh and will make sure 10 years won't pass again before I do!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant