map placeholder

Slaughters Manor House

Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire, GL54 2HP

((((* European
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
  •  - Gloucestershire
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 17:00 & 18:30 - 21:00.

Good fine dining, limited menu.

Philip 22 April 2016
from Leicester

View all 19 reviews

Set in one of the Cotswolds’ most picturesque villages, The Slaughters Manor House is an idyllic countryside escape. The 17th-century house, which has earned 3 AA Rosettes, offers exceptional food its silk-lined, candlelit dining room.

In the tranquil dining room, guests will find an exceptional menu that continually changes, ensuring it is laden with seasonal ingredients. Coddled bantam with Cornish caviar and smoked eel might appear as one of the starters, while mains include the likes of monkfish loin or veal sirloin and smoked shin, all superbly presented.

Soak up the beautiful surroundings on the lawn with afternoon tea, of which there is a variety of different packages to suit every different desire. There is also a light bites menu consisting of sandwiches and salads, or dishes like linguine, and Thai-style seafood. A pre-dessert palate cleanser is always offered, to prepare you for the likes of blood orange soufflé with pistachio ice cream and crumble.

Private dining in front of the stone fireplace is also available in what is left of the chapel. Find this beautiful hideaway just 15 miles from central Cheltenham.

Slaughters Manor House

Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire, GL54 2HP

Contact +44 1451820456
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Gloucestershire

Customer reviews for Slaughters Manor House

4.2 ((((* (based on 19 reviews)
73% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((((
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (11)
  • luxury (9)
  • dinner (6)
  • romantic (5)
  • private dining (4)
  • views (4)
  • afternoon tea (2)
  • al fresco (2)
  • trendy (2)
  • value (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • ((((( 17 September 2015 by Alan from Basking Ridge

    Wonderful service, great atmosphere and worth a return trip.

  • ((((( 7 August 2015 by Jenny from Cheltenham

    Excellent

  • ((((( 6 August 2015 by Sue from Gerrards Cross

    The food was delicious with some interesting combinations such as strawberries and fennel for dessert. Service was attentive.

  • ((((( 28 July 2015 by John from Birmingham

    Excellent service, beautiful food, highly recommended

  • (((** 22 July 2015 by Pensioner from Cheltenham

    Great ambience but the limited lunch menu could have been drawn up by Heston Blumenthal. Some might enjoy it, we didn't. A £20.50 lunch each for two courses ended up with a total bill of £95 including four drinks and coffee.

  • ((((( 21 July 2015 by Judy from Northleach

    We had a delicious Sunday lunch on the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden. The price was reasonable for the very good quality, taste and visual appeal of our three courses. As we were attending the Opera at Longborough afterwards, we asked to be served quickly and this was achieved without ever feeling rushed. Service was friendly, efficient and the Maitre D was particularly thoughtful of our needs. We were very well cared for throughout.

  • ((((( 18 July 2015 by John from Bristol

    The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The food was beautifully presented and had very clear, fresh flavours. This was our first visit. We will definitely be coming back.

  • ((((( 9 July 2015 by Elizabeth from Cheltenham

    We booked lunch here to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We expected a lovely Cotswold Manor and good food, but what we experienced was far more! We were welcomed personally at the entrance and offered the choice of dining immediately, or relaxing first with a drink in the lovely lounge. We chose the later and while studying the menu were offered excellent summery amuse bouche. We had a delicious, immaginative lunch beautifully presented by waiters who fully understood the ingredients and flavours the chef was creating. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The cost of lunching here was very reasonable both for its quality and for the beautiful environment.
    We would dine here again . The standard was higher than we have experienced in similarly rated hotels elsewhere and the chef very well deserves the 3 rosettes.

  • ((((* 29 May 2015 by Tim from Cambridge

    At first sight the menu with either a two course or three course, or taster option, seems expensive, but it soon becomes apparent that it is actually value for money and that you get what you pay for. We had the two course option, but it came with canapes amuse bouche, bread and a pre-dessert dessert, which was actually the best course.
    It did not start too well with squashed peas inside the menu we were given (extra canapes we decided) which even when we opened the menu in front of the waiter he did not seem to notice. The food was very good, although the beef lacked flavour, the oxtail was superb. I told the waiter that I did not like sponge so I was choosing the dessert from the vegetarian menu where the same pudding was listed, minus the sponge, but it came with sponge, because they had simply not shown it on that menu. That was disappointing given that I had explained the position to the waiter and he could have told me that the veg menu also had sponge.
    We found the constant attention with the wine somewhat intrusive, and my husband prefers to be in charge of his own wine within reach, but that is the way it is done at that sort of level, but he was "topped up" when not needed, but then left with an empty glass for some time.
    Overall though a very nice evening.as the minus points were minor niggles only.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant