map placeholder

Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens

Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham, RH13 6PP

((((( British
  • Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens - West Sussex
  • Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens - West Sussex
  • Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens - West Sussex
  • Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens - West Sussex

Amazing experience! Highly recommended

Elijah 22 September 2019
from London

View all 123 reviews

The Michelin-starred Restaurant Interlude in Horsham serves British cuisine led by Jean Delport and acclaimed South African chefs. In a grand manor house overlooking 200 acres of the luscious Leonardslee Lakes and Gardens, the restaurant demonstrates unique plating with a tasting menu inspired by its own kitchen garden, local farmers and surroundings.

On the Restaurant Interlude menu, find ingredients from the gardens served in bulbous tumblers, mossy gardens or on stones, like the palate-cleansing meadowsweet and ginger beer pebble. Dishes pay homage to its chefs' South African connections with a mushroom and deer biltong taster.

Enjoy Restaurant Interlude’s ribbons of pumpkin pasta with pine mousse, while for dessert, try the sheep's milk sorbet with a delicate chocolate leaf. The interior’s luxurious patterned wallpaper and chandeliers over white-clothed tables, showcase the West Sussex restaurant’s fine dining style in the intimate drawing room.

The whimsical and unusual dining venture on an estate in Sussex serves tasting menus influenced by nature around them. Found in Leonardslee Lakes and Gardens, Restaurant Interlude near Brighton is under 30 minutes from Horsham Station.

Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens

Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham, RH13 6PP

Contact +44 1403289490
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in West Sussex

See all restaurants in Horsham

Customer reviews for Restaurant Interlude at Leonardslee Gardens

4.8 ((((( (based on 123 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (103)
  • views (63)
  • luxury (60)
  • romantic (41)
  • dinner (29)
  • private dining (21)
  • value (18)
  • lunch (13)
  • large parties (10)
  • al fresco (7)
  • business (5)
  • child friendly (5)
  • entertainment (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 1 October 2019 by Becky from Horsham

    Booking service all good, good attention to our requirements. Lovely restaurant, bit slow when we first got there, no-one at the front desk. The meal was a fantastic experience, food was amazing, different tastes and ingredients from the estate, the cards were a nice touch. A very good dining experience. Lamb dish was my favourite. My husband wasn't so sure about the background music but others in our party liked it!

  • ((((( 1 October 2019 by Susanna from Horsham

    A fantastic afternoon tea in an elegant dining room with chandeliers and comfy seating. I loved the tea cups it made it feel more luxury. The service was great and what really stands out is the afternoon tea itself. I opted for the poached eggs with smoked salmon as opposed to finger sandwiches and it was divine. Everything we ate was absolutely delicious both savoury and sweet cakes I couldn’t tell you exactly what was in them but beautifully decorated and heaven for your palate. I will definitely be returning. Can’t recommend highly enough

  • ((((( 24 September 2019 by Dee from Horsham

    Went for Afternoon Tea and everything was lovely. I like the fact that the tea is infused for you so that your pot doesn’t stew. The savouries, scones and pastries were all lovely. Needless to say we couldn’t eat it all but they are happy to box up whatever you can’t manage. My hubby has allergies so they changed his food to reflect that which was very well communicated to all the staff we came in contact with. This was great as our experience elsewhere is often not so good.

  • ((((* 22 September 2019 by Susan from HORLEY

    We were two of 5 diners which meant atmosphere was a little dull. However, each and every dish was exquisite. Staff were friendly and knowledgable and all courses were explained to us along with details of where ingredients were foraged on the estate. The experience was fantastic. A cheese course was offered before desserts but not included which was a little OTT both in terms of expense and gluttony!! Wine by the glass at roughly £12.50 a little pricey too. On the whole highly recommended. Note:Not for the fussy eater.

  • ((((( 22 September 2019 by Elijah from London

    Amazing experience! Highly recommended

  • (((** 12 September 2019 by Paul from Billingshurst

    The afternoon tea was top end, exquisite food. Maybe too biased towards the sweet treats, would have preferred more savoury. Choice of teas was excellent. Waitresses were very attentive. Entrance to the grounds was included which was great. Ten out of ten for the staff at the ticket office for their knowledge and helpfulness. On the downside there were people complaining about something at the next table during the tea - the frank exchange of views with the manageress should have been taken outside as any ambience was completely ruined. Would have preferred not to have been addressed as "you guys" repeatedly by the waitresses. Fizz was nothing special at £10 a go, might even have been corked. Tasted like very old cava. Overall an average experience and really a bit over-priced.

  • (**** 11 September 2019 by Anne from East Grinstead

    The afternoon tea is excellent ( includes entry to gardens) this is my second visit and food was excellent as before but I thought the service was lacking- not very attentive or refined - unlike my first visit. As they add 12.5% service charge I’m not sure it warranted the extra money added onto the bill. Maybe I should have declined to pay it but I’m too stupidly polite!

  • ((((( 11 September 2019 by Colin from Shoreham-by-sea

    Afternoon Tea The cakes and the sevice were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere.
    The only critism we could make was the computer controlled piano. A beautiful piano like that deserves to have a pianist. The robotic manner in which it played became annoying.

  • ((((( 8 September 2019 by Joseph from Truro

    his was my second visit to Interlude and I was excited to experience Chef Jean Delport’s magnificent creations again!

    We had our first course on the terrace, vines have been planted since our last visit and the feel was stunning, we felt like we were abroad.

    The service as before was impeccable, the staff have great knowledge of the dishes and the areas of the estate that each dish is foraged from.

    The different combinations of textures and tastes were an assault on the senses.

    We washed the courses down with some Leonardslee Gin and a couple of different reds from the Benguela Cove selections.

    Another great meal and a great dining experience!

    You might even see a wallaby if you’re lucky!

    We would highly recommend Restaurant Interlude.

  • ((((( 8 September 2019 by Anna from Horsham

    Lovely room. Well presented Afternoon Tea. So much food we had to take some home. Lovely for a special occasion.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant