map placeholder

Le Gothique

Royal Victoria Patriotic Building , John Archer Way, Wandsworth Common, London, SW18 3SX

((((* French
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Average
Main course: £11
Food spend: £25

Beautiful and relaxing atmosphere, very high standard and friendly service, good quality and well cooked food

Antonia 02 May 2016
from London Borough of Wandsworth

View all 9 reviews

Built in 1857 with its foundation stone laid by Queen Victoria, Le Gothique is a stunning structure on Wandsworth Common. Surrounded by Gothic design and artful original features, guests can enjoy a refined French menu, focusing on time-honoured classics. A sheltered outdoor area offers ample space for outdoor dining, as well as hosting barbecues in summer.

Le Gothique

Royal Victoria Patriotic Building , John Archer Way, Wandsworth Common, London, SW18 3SX

Contact +44 2088706567
Website

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Le Gothique

4 ((((* (based on 9 reviews)
77% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (4)
  • lunch (3)
  • private dining (3)
  • romantic (3)
  • value (3)
  • luxury (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • business (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • trendy (1)
  • (**** 18 May 2016 by Chris from London

    The booking process was smooth and on arrival the staff were attentive and accommodating. I was asked about dietary requirements when booking and mentioned that one of our party was gluten intolerant and one vegetarian. I'm not sure why I was asked that as the information didn't seem to have been passed on to the staff so it raised expectation unduly, but once made known to them they talked through the suitable options.
    The speed of service wasn't great given only one other table were dining so we would have expected our food to come more quickly, unfortunately there were further disappointments to come when it did. All of the starters were over-priced for what they delivered and the pork terrine was particularly disappointing/lacking in flavour. The mains also failed to impress with the sea bass in such small proportions that it could have been another starter; the duck overcooked to the point that parts were too tough to eat; the jus and mash with the lamb shank uninspiring and the vegetarian tart weighted more towards accompanying salad than tart.
    All of these things could be seen as minor individually and I might not have been moved to provide such a full and critical review had it not been for the fact that the service was also a let down. When the member of our party who had the sea bass commented on the fact that he thought it was a liberty to charge what they were for such a small portion, the Manager's response was that he would inform the chef and that they'd never had any complaints before.
    Given that no responsibility was taken for our disappointment and not much interest shown in our enjoyment, we decide against desserts and looked to move on elsewhere. Unfortunately for all, there followed a 15-20 minute debacle in which we were unable to pay due to some issues with the card machine. The manager offered little or no apology during or after that episode though thankfully the waiter on duty did gladly give us a free drink, after we asked for one...

  • ((((( 2 May 2016 by Antonia from London Borough of Wandsworth

    Beautiful and relaxing atmosphere, very high standard and friendly service, good quality and well cooked food

  • ((((( 29 April 2016 by Patricia from London

    Brilliant, nice ambience, great location bearing in mind there was a tempest on outside so car park was quite close. Food suited me nicely so we had two starters of home made tomato soup and then I had a salad (always on a diet) and my dining partner had the best ever king prawns in a beautiful sauce (but a big portion). Lovely fresh bread with the meal, glass of wine etc. Good service. It was so nice not to have to eat a heavy meal and suffer the consequences. Would recommend the restaurant.

  • ((((( 8 March 2016 by Ian from London

    Very good Mother's Day lunch

  • ((((* 5 March 2016 by Peter from London

    Very unusual setting and friendly atmosphere.

  • ((((( 15 February 2016 by Olivia from london

    Excellent atmosphere, service and food! Highly recommended!

  • ((*** 6 January 2016 by Nina from London

    The atmosphere and place and service was lovely but food absolutely below average and very much disappointing. First it did t look French at all second it was rather tasteless..

  • ((((* 30 October 2015 by Caylee from London

    I love the atmosphere! The outside terrace is gorgeous and the Scallops absolutely delicious!

  • ((((( 26 October 2015 by Roger from London

    fabulous food the signage could have been better to get in other than that really good and will go again

Unfortunately, you can't book Le Gothique online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant