Reviews of Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar

3.5
(based on 47 reviews)
17 Sloane Street, London, London, SW1X 9NU
47 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Gary B from London
    31 August 2020

    Booked a table. Got there and restaurant was closed. Absolute waste of time. Bookatable accepted my booking and I was sent a confirmation email. Still waiting for compensation for wasting my time. The restaurant didn’t care and bookatable won’t respond to any questions.

  • By Flora H from London
    26 August 2020

    Went to the Millennium Hotel where the restaurant is located. A woman was at the front desk who was chatting with some guy for ages whilst we waited to be directed to the restaurant. She completely ignored us and eventually we decided to go to the restaurant ourselves. She very rudely approached us and told us it was closed and when we told her that we had booked through this website she didn’t believe us. Nasty experience and nasty woman- I don’t understand why she couldn’t just be polite.

  • By Patrick L from London
    28 July 2020

    Our experience was incomplete. We arrived on Tuesday evening, after having booked about a week prior, only to discover Le Chinois is closed. This was rather unfortunate since it was my birthday. Other restaurants had made it clear they were closed, and didn't accept my attempt to make a reservation. Fortunately, there are more Chinese restaurants in the area, so I, nevertheless, had a felicitous evening. I'd like to come back to Le Chinois in order to actually have the chance to experience it and recommend it to a friend, but right now this is not possible sadly. I feel am fair with the overall three-star experience as I'd give the restaurant another chance.

  • By Joshua W from London
    14 March 2020

    Great service and great food

  • By LLC L from London
    21 February 2020

    Expensive, decent and very quiet. Not good value but peaceful if that's what you seek

  • By Michael S from London
    16 January 2020

    Overall good

  • By Steve D from London
    14 January 2020

    Exceptional food but service not great due to being under-staffed

  • By Tanya W from London
    27 December 2019

    The meal was amazing however the service was not so good but overall its was good .

  • By Melinda E from London
    23 December 2019

    The restaurant is optically very far from being upscale, some of the dishes were good, some not. The service was prompt and friendly.

  • By Joanne T from London
    22 December 2019

    The food and portions were great hence why I picked it in the first place so I cant fault that..HOWEVER the service was extremely slow and lacked any urgency or awareness of the customers need They took down our food order and yet to ask what drink we wanted. I believe the hostess was bringing us the drink menu or even offer some water but that never came until I had to get someone elses attention. Finally managed to get some water but yet received the main drinks At the end of the 3 course meal I asked for the bill and again took a while. Overall food great but poor service