map placeholder

Le Café du Marché

22 Charterhouse Square , Charterhouse Mews, London, EC1M 6DX

(((() French
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £38
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 22:00
Saturday: 18:00 - 22:00.

Our second visit, great food and service. Lovely place. Will definitely be back.

Kenny 08 September 2019
from Wigan

View all 260 reviews

A renowned slice of French sophistication in the heart of London, Le Café du Marché is housed in a stunning converted building that was once a corset factory. Hidden down a cobbled mews and a stone's throw from Smithfield Market and Charterhouse, it remains one of the oldest restaurants in the area, opening its doors in 1986.

Celebrated tastes of Provincial France are combined with inventive European twists on the Le Café du Marché menu, with the menu changing every five weeks and daily specials reflecting fresh, seasonal produce and availability. Mainstays on the menu include La soupe de poisson, Lozere leg of lamb with wild mushrooms and Madeira sauce and La cote du boeuf, béarnaise and frites, along with other meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes.

A superb selection of the finest French wines are offered at Le Café du Marché in Clerkenwell, with the knowledgeable staff on hand to give recommendations. For dessert, there are daily specialities alongside other treats like orange crème brûlée.

Every evening there is live background jazz from resident musicians. Filled with rustic French charm, Le Café du Marché offers a celebrated taste of the continent. Barbican and Farringdon Tube Stations are just a 5-minute walk away.

Le Café du Marché

22 Charterhouse Square , Charterhouse Mews, London, EC1M 6DX

Contact +44 2076081609
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

Customer reviews for Le Café du Marché

4.5 (((() (based on 260 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (204)
  • lunch (134)
  • romantic (121)
  • business (91)
  • private dining (51)
  • value (34)
  • luxury (30)
  • entertainment (26)
  • large parties (15)
  • trendy (9)
  • al fresco (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 28 February 2019 by Mark from Portsmouth

    Lamb was the best I've ever had.

  • (((** 18 February 2019 by Alvin from London

    The food was good and the service was friendly and attentive. The table location, though was not the best or most romantic (next to the cloak storage and the kitchen) which killed the vibe a little bit as we were on a pre-Valentines date as both of us were working the next day. I was hoping for a better table, having booked way in advance and confirming the reservation in person at the restaurant the morning of the reservation....

  • ((((( 14 February 2019 by Gary from Kent

    We returned to this restaurant after a gap of many years and did not recognise it. The restaurant was totally different. Starters were very good, I had the fish soup. We had the lamb for 2 as the main course. We have never tasted lamb like it before. It was to die for. It is however a very large meal. The tarte du jour for dessert was excellent too. We had a great evening and will definitely return

  • ((((* 9 February 2019 by Paul from London

    Great little restaurant. Great food. A bit cramped and dark but good atmosphere. Take a torch to read the menu! Good choice of jazz. Excellent Cote de Boeuf.

  • ((((* 26 January 2019 by Ian from London

    Good food with an emphasis on French cooking and classics, and good value for food of this quality in central London. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere too.

  • ((((( 24 January 2019 by Tony from Saffron Walden

    Delightful as always

  • ((((* 24 January 2019 by Frank from London

    Good atmosphere of well established traditional French bistro; excellent daily specials plus
    usual reliable menu, and sensible wine list.
    Food and service just right.

  • ((((* 21 January 2019 by David from London

    A very good atmosphere, with a live pianist and bassist on the Thursday night we were there. Authentic French feel and menu, with a decent selection of dishes very well done for a set price. Generally good and attentive service. The only caveat was that it serves mid-range+ wine, at £30+ a bottle, and if you're on a limited budget (as we always are!) that pushes up the cost. But worth saving up for.

  • ((((( 15 January 2019 by Nils-henrik from Solna

    This restaurant is exellent: a hidden gem! Amazing quality of everything we recieved including serving and atmosphere. Best recommendations!

  • ((((( 11 January 2019 by Jeremy from LONDON

    Excellent French dining

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant