map placeholder

Le Café du Marché

22 Charterhouse Square , Charterhouse Mews, London, EC1M 6DX

(((() French
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £38
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 22:00
Saturday: 18:00 - 22:00.

Le plat du jour was duck and it was beautifully done. Chocolate mousse was perfect too. We went there for a celebration, the service as well as the pianist in the corner definitely made it a special evening.

Joey 04 June 2019
from London

View all 243 reviews

A renowned slice of French sophistication in the heart of London, Le Café du Marché is housed in a stunning converted building that was once a corset factory. Hidden down a cobbled mews and a stone's throw from Smithfield Market and Charterhouse, it remains one of the oldest restaurants in the area, opening its doors in 1986.

Celebrated tastes of Provincial France are combined with inventive European twists on the Le Café du Marché menu, with the menu changing every five weeks and daily specials reflecting fresh, seasonal produce and availability. Mainstays on the menu include La soupe de poisson, Lozere leg of lamb with wild mushrooms and Madeira sauce and La cote du boeuf, béarnaise and frites, along with other meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes.

A superb selection of the finest French wines are offered at Le Café du Marché in Clerkenwell, with the knowledgeable staff on hand to give recommendations. For dessert, there are daily specialities alongside other treats like orange crème brûlée.

Every evening there is live background jazz from resident musicians. Filled with rustic French charm, Le Café du Marché offers a celebrated taste of the continent. Barbican and Farringdon Tube Stations are just a 5-minute walk away.

Le Café du Marché

22 Charterhouse Square , Charterhouse Mews, London, EC1M 6DX

Contact +44 2076081609
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

Customer reviews for Le Café du Marché

4.5 (((() (based on 243 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (188)
  • lunch (127)
  • romantic (113)
  • business (86)
  • private dining (47)
  • value (32)
  • luxury (28)
  • entertainment (25)
  • large parties (15)
  • trendy (9)
  • al fresco (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 23 November 2018 by Tim from London

    I have been dining here for 30 years and it never lets me down. The food, service and atmosphere remain as good as ever.

  • ((((* 22 November 2018 by Paul from Southend

    This was booked for a business meeting and an enjoyable experience. The greeting at the door was very professional as was the invitation to take our seats
    The attention to detail by our waiter / waitress was great and they were very attentive
    The ambiance within the restaurant is just spot on for whether you are having a business meeting or a more relaxed personnel visit
    The only criticism would be that 2 of us had the Pheasant as our main course and this we both found to be a little bit dry but apart from that it met our expectations

  • ((((( 19 November 2018 by Richard from london

    I'm doing you a favour by submitting a review, don't make me complete fields I do not want to!

  • ((((( 12 November 2018 by Adrian from London

    Excellent meal as usual. Good menu, good wine, good food, good service.

  • ((((* 9 November 2018 by John from London

    Thoroughly enjoyable evening

  • ((((* 7 November 2018 by Steve from Norwich

    It's always a good test of a restaurant to dine there, quite late, on Monday evening. It was my third visit to Le Cafe du Marche. The staff were excellent and as attentive as always. The atmosphere relaxed and romantic with the resident piano player on good form. The food was OK but not quite as good as usual (Monday night!?). Rabbit terrine with quince relish was excellent; the squid a little chewy; the pheasant a little dry; the duck nicely done. Overall a goodish effort for quite late on a Monday evening. Good enough to come back again.

  • (((** 2 November 2018 by Nikon from London

    I had lunch one day and dinner the following evening. On both occasions, I had lemon sole meunière, delicious; at dinner my companions had pheasant, which was tough and the cassoulet, a special, which left much to be desired because the duck, pork and sausage were sitting in a pool of congealed fat. At lunch we had an excellent bottle of Gewurtztraminer. I have had better meals at this restaurant but the two courses mentioned were disappointing.

  • ((((* 31 October 2018 by Dominic from Chalford

    Beautiful, perfect setting, ambience, service food and drink.

  • ((((* 30 October 2018 by Jeremy from London

    Wonderful French restaurant which has gently evolved with time

  • ((*** 29 October 2018 by John from London

    The best thing about the restaurant is its ambience. I think the menu is rather limited, however, and the dish chosen was unappetising (vegetarian Bourgignon comprising mainly of beetroot). The service on arrival was chaotic. We were immediately offered water and bread but not asked if we wanted a drink (which we did). Having asked for a drink the waiter did not understand the term "gin and tonic" and "slimline" threw everyone into confusion. Having got round that the drinks never came and were eventually cancelled when we were advised that the drinks order had not made it to the bar. It was a disappointing return to a local restaurant that we hadn't used for some time.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant