map placeholder

Le Café du Marché

22 Charterhouse Square , Charterhouse Mews, London, EC1M 6DX

(((() French
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
  • Le Café du Marché - London
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £38
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 22:00
Saturday: 18:00 - 22:00.

Le plat du jour was duck and it was beautifully done. Chocolate mousse was perfect too. We went there for a celebration, the service as well as the pianist in the corner definitely made it a special evening.

Joey 04 June 2019
from London

View all 258 reviews

A renowned slice of French sophistication in the heart of London, Le Café du Marché is housed in a stunning converted building that was once a corset factory. Hidden down a cobbled mews and a stone's throw from Smithfield Market and Charterhouse, it remains one of the oldest restaurants in the area, opening its doors in 1986.

Celebrated tastes of Provincial France are combined with inventive European twists on the Le Café du Marché menu, with the menu changing every five weeks and daily specials reflecting fresh, seasonal produce and availability. Mainstays on the menu include La soupe de poisson, Lozere leg of lamb with wild mushrooms and Madeira sauce and La cote du boeuf, béarnaise and frites, along with other meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes.

A superb selection of the finest French wines are offered at Le Café du Marché in Clerkenwell, with the knowledgeable staff on hand to give recommendations. For dessert, there are daily specialities alongside other treats like orange crème brûlée.

Every evening there is live background jazz from resident musicians. Filled with rustic French charm, Le Café du Marché offers a celebrated taste of the continent. Barbican and Farringdon Tube Stations are just a 5-minute walk away.

Le Café du Marché

22 Charterhouse Square , Charterhouse Mews, London, EC1M 6DX

Contact +44 2076081609
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

Customer reviews for Le Café du Marché

4.5 (((() (based on 258 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (202)
  • lunch (133)
  • romantic (119)
  • business (90)
  • private dining (51)
  • value (34)
  • luxury (30)
  • entertainment (26)
  • large parties (15)
  • trendy (9)
  • al fresco (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 30 July 2019 by A. from London

    It was a dinner for a family Birthday. Not familiar with the area but location is fantastic. Very cozy atmosphere and staff attentive and welcoming. Food simple but very tasty

  • ((((( 30 July 2019 by Jacqueline from warwick

    It was very convenient for our weekend stay in London, it was easy to book on line, very friendly , genuinely French atmosphere with great food and wine and great value for money, so on the whole an excellent dinning experience.

  • ((((( 27 July 2019 by Arthur from Manchester

    Second time we have dined here, so we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed. Fine dining in a relaxed setting where we could actually hold a conversation without having to raise our voices. Staff attentive and friendly. We were spoilt for choice but decided on leg of lamb with wild mushrooms. It was delicious.

  • ((((( 22 July 2019 by Pete from London

    Great authentic French bistro In the heart of London, excellent service and good prices.

  • ((((( 20 July 2019 by Pamela from london

    Lovely ambience and pretty location. Felt like a French country restaurant. Set menus varied and good value.The sharing lamb and dauphinoise potatoes dish was delicious. I have already recommended the restaurant to friends and I will be going back again soon. A jewel of a restaurant tucked away by Charterhouse Square.

  • (((** 11 July 2019 by Sven from London

    'Fair' at best. Restaurant has an excellent ambience and location. Maître d very good. However, table servers difficult to understand. Food a bit bland. Halibut special was dry and rubbery. Portions small for the price. Two small bowls of fries and one small bowl of salad (if you can call it a salad!) between 4 people is not really acceptable.

  • ((((( 17 June 2019 by Ece from London

    Everything was so chic and elegant. The crowd in the restaurant were nice people.

  • ((((( 17 June 2019 by Graham from York

    A really excellent dinner - very helpful and considerate in accommodating a 'dairy free' diner - quite complicated in a French Restaurant, but all was attended to. The Lozere Lamb was outstanding - melt in the mouth and with a wonderful flavour. A very relaxed and pleasant evening - we will be back next time we are in London. Thank you Team Café du Marche!

  • ((((( 4 June 2019 by Joey from London

    Le plat du jour was duck and it was beautifully done. Chocolate mousse was perfect too. We went there for a celebration, the service as well as the pianist in the corner definitely made it a special evening.

  • ((((( 3 June 2019 by Sarah from LONDON

    Wonderful ambience, delicious food and great wine! A fabulous evening enjoyed by all in my party (of five).

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant