Laura Ashley The Tea Room - Solihull

(212 Reviews)
Regency Hotel, Stratford Road, Shirley, B90 4EB
Afternoon Tea, British

Top offer

Vegan Afternoon Tea (Vegan Set menu offer)

Offer available during all booking times for afternoon tea. Available at Laura Ashley The Tea Room - Solihull ONLY.

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 10:00 - 18:00.

Restaurant description

An elegant space inside The Regency Hotel in Solihull, Laura Ashley The Tea Room is a quintessentially British setting to enjoy sumptuous afternoon teas. Decorated in signature Laura Ashley style, there are soft colours, plush furnishings, and all kinds of freshly baked sweet treats to indulge in.

The Laura Ashley The Tea Room menu crafts gourmet afternoon teas, celebrating long-standing British traditions. Freshly baked scones are generously topped with clotted cream and a range of preserves, with a range of other cakes and pastries including favourites such as Bakewell tart, Victoria sponge and lemon drizzle. Diners can also enjoy a great selection of loose leaf teas, and glasses of sparkling.

A range of savoury treats are also served at Laura Ashley The Tea Room in Solihull. There are sandwiches with classic fillings like Somerset ham and English mustard, and gourmet options like steak and caramelised onion. Crowd-pleasing breakfast and brunch dishes also feature, including eggs Benedict.

A relaxing setting for traditional afternoon teas, Laura Ashley The Tea Room is a 6-minute drive from Solihull Rail Station.

Customer reviews for Laura Ashley The Tea Room - Solihull
4.5
(based on 212 reviews)

91%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (193)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (13)
  • business (9)
  • child friendly (8)
  • dinner (5)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (9)
  • lunch (47)
  • luxury (39)
  • private dining (19)
  • romantic (24)
  • trendy (9)
  • value (44)
  • views (4)
  • By Mark H from Solihull
    26 November 2019

    I took my Mum as a birthday treat for brunch and booked a table for 10am. The food was excellent and the staff very polite and courteous. My only criticism would be that our drinks, breakfast tea and hot chocolate, came almost instantly and there was a reasonable wait for the food. This meant that by the time the food had arrived we had either finished our drink or it had gone cold. The wait for the food was not excessive, at least we knew it was being prepared to order, it would just have been nice if the drinks had arrived closer in time to the food.

  • By Pam T from Tamworth
    13 November 2019

    The service was very poor as they were busy and took almost an hour to get our food . Also it was very draughty sat right by window

  • By Jennie H from Solihull
    10 November 2019

    Excellent. pretty dining area, delicious food, coffee and tea plentiful . Friendly, attentive staff. Will definitely visit again.

  • By Vivien H from Birmingham
    7 November 2019

    Very very nice ,every thing was first class that includes the very pleasant young waitress's thankyou.

  • By Judith P from West Midlands
    5 November 2019

    My friends and i went here for a birthday treat afternoon tea . We were greeted by a warm welcome The waitress were very efficient and nothing was to much trouble I would recommend this tearoom and will certainly be returning.

  • By Anne C from Solihull
    5 November 2019

    Lovely food as always , without breaking the budget. Great surroundings and attentive staff x

  • By Jaspal K from Birmingham
    2 November 2019

    Excellent service from start to finish! We had the Vegan afternoon along with a few light bites and everything was delicious, the staff were very helpful and we'll definitely be coming back!

  • By Christine B from birmingham
    30 October 2019

    Lovely food,even though it was my nieces16 birthday she chose the children's menu and was very happy with it and with the group of staff who sang to her with her birth day cake!!Wehad a very happy and pleasant afternoon.Thank You

  • By Alex T from Birmingham
    27 October 2019

    It was ok but service was incredibly slow and bread on sandwiches was a little stale. Even once our food was served which was nearly an hour after we arrived, nobody came to ask us if we needed or wanted anything else.

  • By Charlotte B B from Solihull
    13 October 2019

    The food was delicious and I cannot fault the quality at all however, there were a few details missed that were a little frustrating. No spoons were provided to stir the tea and it was 20 minutes before a member of staff became available for us to ask. Likewise no spoons were served with dessert which was unusual, especially as one of the desserts was a pannacotta. The pot of tea had gone cold by the time we’d eaten our afternoon tea and no one came over to check if the food was okay or whether we needed anything. There were 3 of us having afternoon tea and you get 2 scones each but only 2 tiny pots of jam and cream were served between all 3 of us, again unusual and no one around to ask for more. We were the last ones in the vicinity and all staff had moved into another area so we were sat alone for over 20 minutes waiting to ask for the bill, we could have quite easily walked out without paying. Overall not great which is a shame as I’ve been here before and had a much nicer time.

Restaurant Location Map
Laura Ashley The Tea Room - Solihull
Regency Hotel, Stratford Road, Shirley, B90 4EB

Available offers

  • Vegan Afternoon Tea (Vegan Set menu offer)
  • Festive afternoon tea £25 PP
  • Festive champagne afternoon tea £27.50 PP
  • Festive prosecco afternoon tea £26 PP

Similar Restaurants

  1. Harvester - Monkspath

    Harvester - Monkspath

    British
    (27 Reviews)
    483m
    Harvester - Monkspath
  2. Miller & Carter - Solihull

    Miller & Carter - Solihull

    Steaks & Grills
    (151 Reviews)
    1.2km
    Miller & Carter - Solihull
  3. The Red Lion - Solihull

    The Red Lion - Solihull

    British
    (32 Reviews)
    2.9km
    The Red Lion - Solihull
  4. Prezzo - Shirley

    Prezzo - Shirley

    Italian
    (148 Reviews)
    1km
    Prezzo - Shirley
  5. Toby Carvery - Hall Green

    Toby Carvery - Hall Green

    British
    (11 Reviews)
    4.1km
    Toby Carvery - Hall Green