Reviews of Laura Ashley The Tea Room - Solihull

4.5
(based on 203 reviews)
Regency Hotel, Stratford Road, Shirley, B90 4EB
203 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Charlotte B B from Solihull
    13 October 2019

    The food was delicious and I cannot fault the quality at all however, there were a few details missed that were a little frustrating. No spoons were provided to stir the tea and it was 20 minutes before a member of staff became available for us to ask. Likewise no spoons were served with dessert which was unusual, especially as one of the desserts was a pannacotta. The pot of tea had gone cold by the time we’d eaten our afternoon tea and no one came over to check if the food was okay or whether we needed anything. There were 3 of us having afternoon tea and you get 2 scones each but only 2 tiny pots of jam and cream were served between all 3 of us, again unusual and no one around to ask for more. We were the last ones in the vicinity and all staff had moved into another area so we were sat alone for over 20 minutes waiting to ask for the bill, we could have quite easily walked out without paying. Overall not great which is a shame as I’ve been here before and had a much nicer time.

  • By Paul W from Solihull
    13 October 2019

    Good quality afternoon tea

  • By Lorraine H from Atherstone
    12 October 2019

    We had a lovely afternoon tea, good selection of sweet and savoury very good service by all staff,what was not eaten was boxed to take home which was a lovely.

  • By Dollina B from Solihull
    10 October 2019

    Very good, service excellent, great food plentiful

  • By Annette D from Birmingham
    7 October 2019

    I took my elderly parents for Afternoon tea & we had a wonderful time. The food was superb, & there was no problem in replacing the meat based sandwich with a vegetarian option. Both parents loved the cakes & pastries & both ate more than I expected them to! The staff were extremely attentive & very pleasant. Hope to return in the near future.

  • By Graham J from Bournemouth
    5 October 2019

    The experience was everything we expected and the hospitality and quality of our afternoon tea was much appreciated by my guests.

  • By Joanne D from Birmingham
    4 October 2019

    Brilliant service, beautiful tea room

  • By Shirley A from Broadway
    2 October 2019

    Quality of food was good. Service not very good but our main server was a trainee so may not have been there long. Soup nearly ended up in my elderly sister’s lap! Main reason I would not recommend is the limited and inflexible menu. How can a tea room not serve cakes? They only sell scones and those only as part of an inclusive cream tea package not individually. I come from the Cotswolds where we have fantastic afternoon tea packages - all of which include cakes.

  • By Celia H from Birmingham
    17 September 2019

    A lovely treat. We were given afternoon tea as a gift from friends and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Pleasant room and a delightful young lady to look after you. After you’ve made your choice of tea/coffee and jam your afternoon tea experience begins. Well presented 3 tier cake stand with sandwiches, scones and cakes. We managed to eat the first two tiers and we were given the cakes, etc in a smart box to take home. Totally beaten! Will certainly go again.

  • By Helena W from Wednesbury
    14 September 2019

    We booked 2 vegan afternoon teas. We were seated immediately on arrival and staff were attentive. The food was lovely. The vegan scones, cakes and mixed roast vegetable sandwiches were delicious. The tearoom is decorated beautifully with good layout.