map placeholder

La Ruga

59 Orford Road, Walthamstow Village, London, E17 9NJ

(((() French
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £24
Opening hours
Tuesday to Thursday: 18:00 - 22:00
Friday: 18:00 - 22:30
Saturday: 12:00 - 16:00 & 18:00 - 22:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 16:00 & 18:00 - 21:30.

Very nice meal, my seabream was delicious. Service good with a relaxed & pleasant atmosphere. No complaints but would be nice to have some refreshing sorbet on the desert menu

Theodora 29 April 2019
from London

View all 215 reviews

The cosy Trattoria La Ruga in Walthamstow Village serves authentic French cuisine to east London, with an exquisite menu which changes daily. Intimate and romantic, the restaurant has a small terrace for al fresco dining, and offers a selection of fine wines.

Using seasonal ingredients, the La Ruga menu could include starters of mussels in white wine or snails in garlic butter sauce. Menu specialities include whole Dover sole in butter and lemon sauce, wild boar steak with grilled vegetables in porcini mushroom and cream sauce, and the fillet of beef on a crostini with pate and red wine sauce.

The wine selection includes the work of small, artisan growers to provide pure, refreshing complements to La Ruga’s fine French food.

On the upmarket Orford Road in the village area, La Ruga in Walthamstow is an 8-minute walk from Walthamstow Central Tube Station.

La Ruga

59 Orford Road, Walthamstow Village, London, E17 9NJ

Contact +44 2085205008
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in East London

Customer reviews for La Ruga

4.5 (((() (based on 215 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (174)
  • romantic (109)
  • lunch (64)
  • value (49)
  • private dining (37)
  • al fresco (34)
  • business (28)
  • trendy (25)
  • child friendly (19)
  • large parties (19)
  • luxury (18)
  • entertainment (12)
  • views (10)
  • breakfast (2)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • ((((* 14 December 2018 by Kevin from London

    Very good, as always. Staff have changed since our last visit but still excellent service. The daily changing fresh menu remains a popular characteristic of this restaurant too.

  • ((((( 8 December 2018 by Nevo from London

    La Ruga is my favourite local restaurant, my experience there is always good. The tables are well spaced out with lovely crisp white table cloths, an elegant and cosy restaurant. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday, the service was excellent with attentive staff. There was a candle on the dessert and allow diners sang happy birthday to my hubby.

  • ((((( 27 November 2018 by Ian from London

    excellent food and service

  • ((((* 12 November 2018 by Donna from LONDON

    starters for 2 people was a disappointment, 2 of us had escargot and had trouble finding the snails, granted this cost was removed from the bill which we was grateful for, the remainder of the food was amazing like the first time we came and will still come back again. The sea bass was amazing as was the plum crumble

  • ((((( 12 November 2018 by David from London

    Great food and service

  • ((((( 5 November 2018 by Peter from London

    Outstanding authentic French cuisine with well designed menu at reasonable prices for London. The restaurant offers a well balanced wine list with some original offerings.

  • ((((( 25 October 2018 by Robert from London

    Superb! Excellent dining room. Helpful and friendly waiter. Great food and a treat for all four of us. The location, too, is great being in a charming section of Orford Road.

  • ((((( 17 October 2018 by Paul from Zuerich

    Good food, good wines, great service!

  • ((((( 16 October 2018 by Brian from London

    As ever, delicious food served by a friendly and attentive waitress. I cannot commend this restaurant highly enough.

  • ((((* 12 October 2018 by Pauline from Walthamstow London

    I have been a patron of La Ruga for many years and the quality of the food, the ambience and friendliness of the staff all make dining there a most enjoyable experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant