Reviews of Kanishka Restaurant

4.7
(based on 30 reviews)
17 – 19 Maddox Street, London, W1S 2QH
30 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jackie W from London
    24 August 2019

    The dishes were imaginative and appetising. The decor was very nice, except for a humming sound which was coming from the basement and through the floor and end of the restaurant. The staff were really friendly - the whole restaurant had a nice casual vibe.

  • By Kevin W from Claygate
    24 August 2019

    Excellent food and service

  • By Ian G from Brighton
    21 August 2019

    Excellent food. Attentive service. Very pleasant surroundings. Particularly delighted to see Atul Kochhar himself in the kitchen and at the door when we left.

  • By Lelia S from London
    20 August 2019

    Was very excited about eating here, after reading the reviews. We had the set menu, which looked interesting. One of our party ordered the rabbit as a starter. It certainly wasn’t very gamey, and could have been chicken. The prawns were delicious but almost to much chilli. For mains we had chicken tandoori, the leg portion was succulent, but the other piece was more like a tikka and didn’t have much of tandoori flavour. The barley which accompanied the tandoori was delicious. The mixed grill was very good. We ordered the bread basket, and although we were told there were different kinds of Indian bread we could not really distinguish between them. The ambience was not as nice as I was expected. The staff were very good, including the bar tender.

  • By Laurence M from London
    17 August 2019

    Great food and service - some of the best indian food I have eaten. Tandori Chicken is highly recommended

  • By Sue C from London
    16 August 2019

    Wow! What a fabulous night. Tasting menu with pairing wines was absolutely superb, waiters were very attentive and eager to help in every way. Interior was lovely. All in all would highly recommend it.

  • By Jacquelyn C from South Nutfield
    16 August 2019

    We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to a very nice table quickly after arriving. The menus were produced quickly and explained helpfully. We opted for a la carte, as the choice of main course was a bit of a struggle on the set menu. My main course of monkfish was really good, as we're the side dishes of dal and bread. We shared the tikka pie as a starter. No room left for dessert. Only slight downside, we were not offered an aperitif, but ordered champagne anyway.

  • By Maria B from Stanford-le-Hope
    3 August 2019

    We booked the special 2/3 course menu for an early dinner. The food far exceeded our expectations and was sublime. The service was fantastic and the wait staff knew the dishes and were able to explain each and every one

  • By Joy H from London
    22 July 2019

    4 of us dined here and had the very good value set menu. The food was excellent - a lovely variety of dishes with great flavours to choose from, including rabbit tikka which was delicious. Adding £16 for a half bottle of house wine each made it a very affordable fine dining experience. Service was attentive and friendly It was great to see Atul in the kitchen and meeting him afterwards. We will definitely be back soon.

  • By Julie F from Kent
    22 July 2019

    Excellent food, service and ambience.