Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of John's House Restaurant

4.8
(based on 880 reviews)
139 - 141 Loughborough Road Mountsorrel, Loughborough, Leicestershire, LE12 7AR
880 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Bethan B from Hinckley
    18 February 2020

    The food was as usual excellent as was service.

  • By Phil V from Loughborough
    15 February 2020

    A birthday treat from our son and what a great present! The whole evening was just wonderful and I can certainly recommend the Taster Menu. Each dish was as delicious as the previous, each having its own outstanding signature - Risotto with oxtail to cod, crab and cauliflower to carrot sorbet with liquorice- outstanding. The service was excellent, attentive and knowledgeable on every dish. A fantastic night out. Thanks to all the staff.

  • By Prashant P from LEICESTER
    14 February 2020

    Cosy warm restaurant.... Lovely veg tasting menu, thoughtfully put together. Highly recommend with excellent service to boot.

  • By Bill A from Nottingham
    12 February 2020

    All the food was great as was the service throughout. The second snack was the highlight, along with the cod dish and the Rhubarb desert

  • By Jeanne K from Rotherby
    12 February 2020

    We were not happy that if the taster menu was chosen, we both had to have it. We appreciate that dishes would have been coming out at different times but we were prepared to accept that & disappointed that the chef felt unable to meet our request, The experience is expensive & we do not mind that but we feel that the wishes of the customers should come above the whims of the chef.

  • By Chris F from High Wycombe
    11 February 2020

    We had the Taster Menu all of which was superb. Loved the location/ambience of the 'House'. The only adverse comment would be that the bread was slightly burnt. The service from the young team was first class. I will definitely be recommending to others and will be returning.

  • By Steve G from Loughborough
    1 February 2020

    4th time, I’ve been - our friends also enjoyed the quality experience! Planning our next visit already.

  • By Shelley N from Loughborough
    30 January 2020

    Natural and warm ambience - from the welcome into the 'house' and drinks downstairs (loved the humour!) to the atmosphere in the dining room Service was excellent without being Michelin styled 'stuffy' Unusual but not 'over the top fancy' menu - good pace for a lunch menu and great but not too fussy attention to my nut allergy

  • By Laura N from SIleby
    30 January 2020

    Fabulous relaxed service, incredible food, lovely atmosphere. Perfect for a special occasion.

  • By James I from Bulkington
    29 January 2020

    First of all we received a warm welcome. We had drinks in a lovely snug by the fire downstairs. We opted for the 3 course lunch at £30 per head. The freshly baked onion and rosemary rolls with their own butter was superb. There were 2 options for each course and between me and my wife we tried them all. The food was amazing. The service excellent, enthusiastic staff that clearly enjoyed their job. Every table were commenting about the quality of the food.