Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of John's House Restaurant

4.9
(based on 962 reviews)
139 - 141 Loughborough Road Mountsorrel, Loughborough, West Midlands, LE12 7AR
962 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Rudi D from Rothley
    23 September 2020

    Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. The dishes were well thought out, inventive and delightfully tasty. We would definitely go again, the only tiny request would be to have the main course piping hot. We do like our food well seasoned but even we felt the chef had being over enthusiastic with the salt.

  • By Lucinda H from Kirby muxloe
    22 September 2020

    Food and service was outstanding. The quality of the food was second to none and the waiting staff were the best we’ve ever experienced in a restaurant. Only downside was the dining chairs. They need to be comfier with arms. We had the 9 course taster menu and were sitting for over 3hrs. Comfier chairs would have made the experience much more pleasure ale. We Like to sit back and relax between courses.

  • By Sherralyn D from Leicestershire
    22 September 2020

    Always a treat...Service, food, environment... a tasting, culinary adventure

  • By Victoria H from Loughborough
    22 September 2020

    This is our 4th visit and every time it gets better! Amazing food, service and atmosphere. We couldn’t ask for more.

  • By Alex T from Loughborough
    17 September 2020

    The whole evening was exceptional. Nice rose English sparkling wine, a warm welcome, attention to dietary requirements. Beautiful tasty food, wine and excellent service.

  • By Anna B from Loughborough
    17 September 2020

    Fantastic dining experience at John’s House! This was our third visit over the last few years and we chose the tasting menu with wine pairings. The staff were all brilliant, very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing - my favourite dishes were the cod and guinea fowl and my husband loved the mackerel. All immaculately presented and made with such care. The tables were spread out well to ensure that the restaurant was Covid safe, and we loved the cosy atmosphere in the large back room where we were seated. We will definitely be returning!

  • By Steve D from Lichfield
    17 September 2020

    Lovely atmosphere relaxed professional yet personal service

  • By Nathan C from Leicestershire (Whitwick)
    15 September 2020

    The best food I have ever eat provided by the best service. Had the wine flight with the taster menu, the whole experience was unbelievable.

  • By Heather A from Nottingham
    15 September 2020

    This was my first visit to John's House but I think it was the best meal and dining experience I have ever had! The food was incredible and by far the best I have ever had! The combination of flavours and textures had been very cleverly created and I was intrigued by their contrasts, but it all worked together amazingly. The mackerel starter was unbelievable, definitely my favourite! I was intrigued to taste the Grouse with the fusion of coffee and elderberry, it was simply divine! Being told that the grouse had been cooking at 63 degrees for 3 days showed the detail and precision in the quality of the food and preparation. The waiting staff really bring the place together and it is clear that they have been trained very well with their knowledge of every dish. They were effortless in ensuring the guests were looked after and happy in the relaxed dining room. Each was extremely friendly. John's House is now my favourite restaurant for food and hospitality! The wine list is very extensive too! I will be visiting again! (Not easy to find from the street and would benefit from better signage. You won't be disappointed once you find it though!)

  • By Gerri M from Duffield, Derby
    15 September 2020

    Fabulous, wonderful food, with colour and a myriad of tastes and textures. It’s wonderful to see a family business supporting the economy; with an attached tea room and farm shop. All staff friendly and knowledgeable.