map placeholder

Joe Allen - Covent Garden

2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX

(((() North American
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 11:30 - 23:30
Saturday: 09:00 - 23:45
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30.

All lovely as usual

Karen 16 February 2019
from Maidenhead

View all 3307 reviews

A hidden gem surrounded by the shops and theatres of Covent Garden, Joe Allen is a highly regarded restaurant serving a selection of American and European specialities.

Ideally located for a pre-theatre meal or for dinner after the show, nearby theatres include The Lyceum, Novello Theatre and Duchess Theatre, as well as the Fortune Theatre and Theatre Royal. Joe Allen is also a great destination for a special brunch, lunch or dinner when shopping or staying in one of the hotels around Covent Garden and on the Strand.

Opened in 1977 as a stylish London dining venue for theatre-goers, artists, journalists and performers alike, Joe Allen has a relaxed, casual feel throughout. Today the healthy cuisine and friendly atmosphere attract an eclectic clientele of the West End's young and trendy crowd, romantic couples and families.

Joe Allen - Covent Garden

2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX

Contact +44 2078360651
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Covent Garden

Customer reviews for Joe Allen - Covent Garden

4.4 (((() (based on 3307 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (2521)
  • lunch (1676)
  • value (947)
  • romantic (757)
  • entertainment (693)
  • large parties (691)
  • trendy (683)
  • business (570)
  • child friendly (376)
  • private dining (349)
  • breakfast (229)
  • luxury (147)
  • afternoon tea (85)
  • al fresco (40)
  • views (38)
  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by James from Chelmsford

    My first visit so cannot comment on a favourite dish, I will however be back any time I am in London so will try to work through most of the menu.
    My wife and I both enjoyed the food the service and the ambience our visit rounded off a good day starting with a little sight seeing followed by the theatre and rounding off with a visit to joe Allen it does not get any better than that.

    Many Thanks

    James & June

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by David from London

    Excellent. Great atmosphere. Superb food and terrific service. Also great value.

  • ((((* 11 February 2019 by Rhys from St Albans

    I have visited Joe Allen's a few times and find it a convenient and hassle-free place to eat with a nice ambience. Quality of food is good and service is friendly and attentive

  • ((((( 10 February 2019 by Loretta from London

    Joe Allen's never disappoint! Great cocktails, we loved 'Bottom of the Barrel!! Food was amazing as usual.

  • ((((( 10 February 2019 by Nick from Horsham

    Great place for food and atmosphere

  • ((((( 10 February 2019 by claire from LETCHWORTH GARDEN CITY

    Has great buzz to the restaurant ..friends we invited loved it

  • ((((( 10 February 2019 by Una from London

    Wonderful food in a fantastic setting - would highly recommend.

  • ((((( 10 February 2019 by Linda from High wycombe

    Very enjoyable meal. It was a birthday treat for my mother and we had a pre theatre dinner.

  • (((** 8 February 2019 by Patrick from Taunton

    Had a pretty good lunch and have been to Joe Allens before.
    What did disappoint us on this occasion was the rushed service - aperitifs came and olives and bread then came in good time. Almost immediately the wine was bought to us and we asked for the bottles to be left while we enjoyed the start of the evening. Our main course came possibly 5 minutes later. I know we only had 2.5 hours for the table, but this was ridiculous. Maybe because we all had the set price stakes, they were all ready and waiting in the kitchen. We were not even at a pre-theatre time which may have explained quick service at another time.
    We were there to relax and enjoy a lunch - not to get railroaded out. This may have been a one off issue, but it did leave a sad note on what we were hoping to be a good lunch at a place we have previously enjoyed.


  • ((((( 8 February 2019 by Jana from London

    I'm so glad the restaurant re-opened. It has the same feel as the original. The staff were great and the food was good too. We went there pre-theatre and they understand how to make your experience enjoyable and get you on time to your show. The calamari starter and garlic bread were tasty and the rack of ribs was also great. We will definitely be back.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant