map placeholder

Joe Allen - Covent Garden

2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX

(((() North American
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 11:30 - 23:30
Saturday: 09:00 - 23:45
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30.

The service was fantastic. I came with 3 friends and all the food was amazing!! Very easy to book a table online. Super convenient location for theatres. Would definitely go back.

Amanda 13 April 2019
from Berkshire

View all 3407 reviews

A hidden gem surrounded by the shops and theatres of Covent Garden, Joe Allen is a highly regarded restaurant serving a selection of American and European specialities.

Ideally located for a pre-theatre meal or for dinner after the show, nearby theatres include The Lyceum, Novello Theatre and Duchess Theatre, as well as the Fortune Theatre and Theatre Royal. Joe Allen is also a great destination for a special brunch, lunch or dinner when shopping or staying in one of the hotels around Covent Garden and on the Strand.

Opened in 1977 as a stylish London dining venue for theatre-goers, artists, journalists and performers alike, Joe Allen has a relaxed, casual feel throughout. Today the healthy cuisine and friendly atmosphere attract an eclectic clientele of the West End's young and trendy crowd, romantic couples and families.

Joe Allen - Covent Garden

2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX

Contact +44 2078360651
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Covent Garden

Customer reviews for Joe Allen - Covent Garden

4.4 (((() (based on 3407 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (2600)
  • lunch (1731)
  • value (983)
  • romantic (771)
  • entertainment (710)
  • trendy (708)
  • large parties (703)
  • business (582)
  • child friendly (384)
  • private dining (358)
  • breakfast (235)
  • luxury (150)
  • afternoon tea (87)
  • al fresco (43)
  • views (38)
  • ((((( 7 April 2019 by Esra from Izmir

    It was superb. Both the food and the ambiance was great

  • (((** 6 April 2019 by Claudia from London

    Chicken parfait starter was tasty but out of the two people who ordered, neither was able to finish it because there were only two small pieces of toast provided with it. Mains of pork belly was nice but essential to order additional vegetables as the pureed celeriac and spinach that came with it were again, minimal. Fish pie was apparently very good, and generous portion.

  • ((((( 6 April 2019 by Theresa from London

    We received the usual friendly reception. Good food, good wine. Good service.

  • ((((( 5 April 2019 by Ann from Carlisle

    We found the staff to be friendly and attentive when we were choosing our meal. The restaurant is fabulous, all the memorabilia on the walls. Meal itself was lovely, a highlight of our visit to London. The restaurant was lively and relaxing, we particularly enjoyed the chatter of the other diners around us, it made it a comfortable environment to sit and chatter during our meal.

  • ((((( 4 April 2019 by Christopher from Oxford

    Pleasant surroundings, fun atmosphere. Great mixologist and a menu to suit all! Special thanks for their considerate approach to allergies.

  • (((** 23 March 2019 by Chris from Birmingham

    Great place; used to visit the old one frequently; atmosphere retained; poorly-seated in the central area (too cramped!); a surly waiter, though other staff great. Bar excellent; food just so-so tbh

  • ((*** 22 March 2019 by Brian from London

    Nice simple quick food, friendly and efficient service and as usual in the West End overpriced wines. OK they have to make a margin, but 350% minimum is just greedy, especially as there is no wastage!

  • ((*** 22 March 2019 by Tim from Orpington

    Did not enjoy the experience, we were sat on a table for two in the middle of the floor nearest to the bar. Constantly staff members were going past either side lt felt like being in the middle of a dual carriageway. Was not asked if we enjoyed our meal we were just processed through.

  • ((((( 22 March 2019 by Michael from skipton

    Excellent food and ambience. Staff on top form. Highly recommend

  • (((** 21 March 2019 by Graham from London

    We (my wife and two children) have been coming to JA every year for my birthday for over 20 years. In fact I first went in 1981 and for many years it was a go-to restaurant.
    It is an event in our calendar and we will continue to visit......despite the fact that the food isn't as good as it once was.
    Three of us have burgers and have done since we started coming...which was a time when, in London, a burger was a burger etc etc etc. There wasn't too much competition.
    However, there is now and the burgers for the last two visits have been found to be severely wanting versus other restaurants!
    It is extremely sad that JA hasn't taken on board the fact that their burgers are lagging so far behind the competition and done something about it. The fact that there is no option on the cooking (everything appears to be well done...) speaks VOLUMES about the kitchen and the meat.
    If I am 100% honest I wouldn't go back again as I don't think the food is up to it any more and the restaurant is trading on its name and history.
    The reality is I think we will go once more and then if there isn't an improvement we will call it a day...which will be very sad to break a tradition.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant