map placeholder

Joe Allen - Covent Garden

2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX

(((() North American
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
  • Joe Allen - Covent Garden - London
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 11:30 - 23:30
Saturday: 09:00 - 23:45
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30.

All lovely as usual

Karen 16 February 2019
from Maidenhead

View all 3307 reviews

A hidden gem surrounded by the shops and theatres of Covent Garden, Joe Allen is a highly regarded restaurant serving a selection of American and European specialities.

Ideally located for a pre-theatre meal or for dinner after the show, nearby theatres include The Lyceum, Novello Theatre and Duchess Theatre, as well as the Fortune Theatre and Theatre Royal. Joe Allen is also a great destination for a special brunch, lunch or dinner when shopping or staying in one of the hotels around Covent Garden and on the Strand.

Opened in 1977 as a stylish London dining venue for theatre-goers, artists, journalists and performers alike, Joe Allen has a relaxed, casual feel throughout. Today the healthy cuisine and friendly atmosphere attract an eclectic clientele of the West End's young and trendy crowd, romantic couples and families.

Joe Allen - Covent Garden

2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX

Contact +44 2078360651
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Covent Garden

Customer reviews for Joe Allen - Covent Garden

4.4 (((() (based on 3307 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (2521)
  • lunch (1676)
  • value (947)
  • romantic (757)
  • entertainment (693)
  • large parties (691)
  • trendy (683)
  • business (570)
  • child friendly (376)
  • private dining (349)
  • breakfast (229)
  • luxury (147)
  • afternoon tea (85)
  • al fresco (40)
  • views (38)
  • (**** 15 February 2019 by Karen from London

    Restaurant cold and food was awful. Salad was old and main dish was cold. Coffee had been spilled in saucer and was like a latte not the cappuccino I had ordered,

  • ((*** 15 February 2019 by Lorraine from London

    I have loved Joe Allen's in the past and it has always been my go-to for a pre-theatre meal. However, my last visit was really disappointing. The starter of ham hock was really watery and with a very small piece of toast. The salmon I had for my main was overcooked and my sister-in-law asked if it was a starter as it was so small. Her chicken was very dry. We were also very rushed through the meal and a good 20 minutes before our 2 hour slot was up we were being told the time we had left until they needed our table.

    I was planning to come back again with my Mum in a few weeks time, but as a treat I will be looking for an alternative. I hope this review helps to bring it back it to the excellent standard it once was.

  • ((((( 15 February 2019 by Simon from ISLE OF WIGHT

    REALLY LOVELY.

  • ((((( 15 February 2019 by James from Maldon

    Great restaurant and service

  • (((** 14 February 2019 by Sally from london

    Average. Both ordered ribs and the sauce tasted processed not fresh. Service was very good just let down by the food.

  • ((((* 14 February 2019 by Selina from Lingfield

    Nice ambiance and good food

  • ((((* 14 February 2019 by Martin from London

    Good atmosphere, decent if unspectacular food. Lobster dish a little disappointing, but rack of ribs and steaks better.

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by Jackie from BIRMINGHAM

    We loved the restaurant, the ambiance, the staff and the food was excellent.

  • ((((* 12 February 2019 by Jonathan from Beckenham

    Lovely restaurant, quite attentive staff and a great steak ( from the set menu), the starter and dessert were not at the same standard as the steak but were pleasant enough. Slightly condescending waitress and one of our party had some onion flung at him (accidentally) whilst the waiter cleared our plates. A more honest apology would have been appreciated.

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by Trevor from Canvey

    Had really nice meal there, good service, no issues at all.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant