Reviews of Joe Allen - Covent Garden

4.4
(based on 3901 reviews)
2 Burleigh St, London, WC2E 7PX
3900 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David H from London
    23 January 2020

    Burgers - good Would have appreciated piano music... I have not heard the piano being played since the restaurant moved to the current premises (but maybe I've been unlucky)

  • By Lena S from Covent Garden
    22 January 2020

    The best service. Such a nice place. Cozy atmosphere.

  • By Patricia S from Cambridge
    22 January 2020

    Table of 5, all of us enjoyed our food. Service very good, friendly and helpful. Toilets clean and to a good standard. We had 2 hours to eat before the matinee performance of a nearly theatre and did not feel rushed at any time.

  • By Sarah G from Great Baddow
    21 January 2020

    Friendly welcome, asked immediately if we were going to the theatre so they could make sure we weren't rushed. Took our order quickly & our waiter was knowledgeable, smiley and friendly. Tempura starter was ok, but not great. Some bits of the fairly thick heavy batter didn't have any veg in them ! Tuna starter was excellent. For mains I had mushroom Wellington, absolutely lovely but the beetroot special wasn't special unfortunately. Ravioli nicely cooked but it was tasteless and very bland. Service was excellent, all the staff there were great. We would definitely eat here again. Atmosphere was buzzy and we didn't feel rushed at any point and made the theatre in good time. Just my sort of relaxed restaurant.

  • By Margot K from Colchester
    21 January 2020

    Joe Allen is one of my favourite restaurants in London, always delicious food and very friendly and helpful waiters. I particularly like going there because it has such a nice association with theatrical stars including the late, but legendary, wonderful Elaine Stritch! I was a great fan......

  • By Lorraine L from Bedfordshire
    18 January 2020

    A fantastic experience all round. Staff very attentive but not intrusive and very friendly. Food excellent in quality and value,

  • By Liz S from Carnoustie
    17 January 2020

    Have visited Joe Allen many times over the years and always have a warm welcome but particularly enjoyed the table we were given on this visit , tucked into a corner but still near everything and you could still hear the pianist . It said it was stable frequented by a group of actresses , one of whom we had a connection with soot was a lovely coincidence. Food was brilliant as ever although one of the party insisted on having a knickerbockerglory for dessert and found the cream tasted funny. Possibly it had vanilla in it rather than straightforward whipped cream. Otherwise grrat!

  • By Sheryl T from Derby
    17 January 2020

    fabulous value for money set menu

  • By Marlene J from London
    16 January 2020

    The best place to eat in London. Perfect ambiance for a publishing lunch with friends old and new

  • By CHRISTOPHER BRANDON-TRYE B from beech
    16 January 2020

    Great ambience , wonderful service and excellent food . The staff in particular are brilliant and were very helpful in allowing us to keep our table all evening .