map placeholder

Jimmy's Farm

Pannington Hall Lane, Wherstead, Ipswich, IP9 2AR

((((* British
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk

Extremley GOOD !

Maureen Wise 30 March 2016
from Essex

View all 97 reviews

Set within a lovingly-restored 200-year-old barn, Jimmy's Farm restaurant serves up a host of artisan treats. Utilising locally-grown and reared ingredients, Jimmy's specialises in gourmet British classics, including their legendary Sunday roasts topped with giant homemade Yorkshire puddings. An on-site cellar, butchers and farm shop means guests can purchase Jimmy's Farm's famous goods to enjoy at home.

Jimmy's Farm

Pannington Hall Lane, Wherstead, Ipswich, IP9 2AR

Contact +44 1473604206
Website

See all restaurants in Suffolk

See all restaurants in Ipswich

Customer reviews for Jimmy's Farm

4.1 ((((* (based on 97 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (76)
  • child friendly (62)
  • dinner (35)
  • afternoon tea (28)
  • breakfast (28)
  • large parties (28)
  • value (28)
  • trendy (25)
  • views (14)
  • romantic (9)
  • entertainment (8)
  • al fresco (7)
  • private dining (7)
  • luxury (6)
  • business (4)
  • ((((* 17 February 2016 by Hannah from Ipswich

    Food was good. Children not keen on green cabbage with their meal (sausages and mash) - peas / sweetcorn might be a better alternative. Staff were friendly, although we had to ask one member of staff three times for some extra ketchup - they said I'll just get some then went off to do something else.

  • ((((* 17 February 2016 by Kathryn Bray warner from Bury Saint Edmunds

    Lovely restaurant-had lunch on he first Monday of half term and were very glad I booked-2.5 hour waiting otherwise! Service was a little overwhelmed so that could do with some attention and overall the food was good although my muffin was still frozen in middle or had been left in a very cold place. Not enough of s let down though.
    Pretty child friendly and s good kids menu which is always a bug bear of mine
    Prices were bistro pub price and worth it I think-but not a cheap option for those on a budget
    Overall I would recommend if you were going to the farm but I wouldn't go too far out of your way to go there
    Major negative? The toilets were awful. Did not look like they were part of the same complex as the restaurant is lovely

  • ((((* 16 February 2016 by Michelle Austin from COLCHESTER

    Great food, good fast service!

  • ((((( 16 February 2016 by Tim Read from Chelmsford

    Great food, great service

  • ((((( 14 February 2016 by David Steere from Ipswich

    The whole experience in taking my quest to breakfast was an excellent one. Everything was first rate from the food to the service. Could not find a fault anywhere ... and the sausages, they are something else! Absolutely wonderful and what a joy for the toast to still be lovely and crisp as you are finishing your meal. We both had three cups of super coffee The waitresses were most polite and efficient too. I can highly recommend it to anyone.

  • (((** 12 February 2016 by Anne Hayward from Stowmarket

    First time visit and I was unaware that cars could be taken round to restaurant if passenger was disabled so was a struggle getting from disabled parking space to restaurant. However, once in and seated we thought the surroundings were warm and pleasant. The portions were generous to say the least - the turkey & ham pie was delicious but would have served 2 easily and our friend couldn't manage to eat all 3 sausages. Perhaps the option of smaller portions would be a good idea. As it was none of us had room for the dessert we had been looking forward to or even a coffee - you are doing yourself out of sales!!!
    We will come again - but will share a pie!!

  • ((((( 5 February 2016 by Sarah Smith from Crowborough

    Lovely venue. Delicious roast turkey and pork dinners and one quest had burger. All delicious.
    Bit noisy with large groups of childrens parties.
    Desserts: would be nice if there were some "old" favourites - sponge puddings, bread and butter puddings, chocolate sponge etc
    Staff were excellent - attentive and polite.

  • (**** 2 February 2016 by Alex Meade from Coventry

    Very disappointed. Arrived at 1545 After booking on book a table website, under impression it was busy as couldn't get a slot for lunch to find it empty. No hot food available so opted for scone, jam and cream with pot of tea £4.75. Scone huge,but so dry could barely swallow it and jam was so runny. All in all very disappointed. Definately would advise a visit in winter months,

  • ((((* 2 February 2016 by Fiona Wallington from Colchester

    We had a lovely sunday luch celebrating my husbands birthday. The menu had all the classic things most people like as well as Sunday lunch. I was impressed with the 'nibbbles' secrion of the menu which enabled you to have a small started to tide you over until the main course. My teenage children, who often struggle to find anything to have a starter being a abit fussy, shared some pork scratchings and pigs in blankets both served in little pots. Really delicious! My husband and I hasd roast turkey lunch which was very tasty and well cooked. Our group also sampled fish and chips and the massive burger, all very tasty. We sadly did not have roo for dessert but the selection looked good. Only down side was attention to detail. Cutlery and napkins were avaialble on the table in a flowerpot and there was not enough for our party, we had to ask for more. I do feel it is something basic which should have been sorted out before we were taken to our table. We will hope to return soon as it was a relaxing enjoyable meal.

  • ((((( 29 January 2016 by Jon Lovett from Basildon

    We arrived early for a lunch reservation on a very wet and windy Wednesday.
    The staff allowed us in before the restaurant was open. We were seated and we ordered coffee. The staff were very attentive. We ordered from the standard menu and the specials - the pigeon was lovely.
    It was nice to see interaction between the kitchen staff and the waiting staff through the open plan layout.

Unfortunately, you can't book Jimmy's Farm online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant