map placeholder

JD's Grill

17-19 Derrys Cross, Plymouth, PL1 2SW

(((() American
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £25

Excellent food, great staff and great atmosphere. Our first time visiting but will definitely go again

Christine 27 January 2019
from Plymouth

View all 222 reviews

Famous for its food challenges, JD’s Grill Plymouth serves up high quality, locally sourced barbecue food. Hearty dishes are served in a laidback atmosphere, with wood panelling and American-inspired artwork lining the walls.

Holding the record for Britain’s Biggest Burger, weighing in at 25lbs, the JD’s Grill menu focuses on both quality and quantity. Flavour-packed house favourites include smoked brisket with a smoky beef jus, and succulent chicken breast topped with 14-hour maple-smoked pulled pork and Emmental cheese. Other classics include, an array of hot dogs, slow-cooked ribs and juicy steaks, as well as the legendary burgers.

Desserts at JD’s Grill restaurant also don’t hold back when it comes to flavour. Discover the likes of Belgian waffles with butterscotch sauce and vanilla ice cream, or American-style pancakes with maple sauce. Winner of the Plymouth City and Waterfronts award for Best Family Restaurant Plymouth, JD’s Grill is a 15-minute walk from Plymouth Rail Station.

JD's Grill

17-19 Derrys Cross, Plymouth, PL1 2SW

Contact +44 1752601605
Website

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Plymouth

Customer reviews for JD's Grill

4.3 (((() (based on 222 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (165)
  • large parties (88)
  • lunch (85)
  • trendy (71)
  • value (71)
  • child friendly (64)
  • private dining (20)
  • romantic (20)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (16)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • luxury (5)
  • al fresco (4)
  • views (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 5 August 2017 by Lisa from Plymouth

    Great service and great food. It's our favourite place to eat. The staff are excellent.

  • ((((( 4 August 2017 by Sam from PLYMOUTH

    Haven't been to JD's for awhile but saw the new menu on Facebook so my wife and I thought we would check it out for an anniversary meal. The new menu looks great. I had the Ultimate BBQ Platter which was amazing. Ribs, wings, pulled pork and brisket was all cooked to perfection! My wife enjoyed her burger which was on a special offer so an added bonus. We did have a slight issue with the service but once it was mentioned staff apologised and explained they had a new member of staff working. Everyone has to start somewhere so it's all good. I was surprised at the changes in the dessert menu as there used to be a lot more choice but tried the Belgian waffles and they were delicious! Can't wait to come back and try something else off the new menu!!

  • (((** 1 August 2017 by Sheona from Plymouth

    There was quite a few dishes not available and few ingredients not available but we where offered alternative ingredients . They had also ran out of alcohol needed for certain cocktails.

    The staff where really friendly and the food we did have was really nice and tasty. Good size portion of food on plate.

  • ((((( 26 July 2017 by Julie from plymouth

    Excellent food good service friendly atmosphere

  • ((((( 24 July 2017 by Stephanie from Plymouth

    The staff are always happy and the food is very good the steaks are done exactly how you ask and there Jack Daniels sauce is the best

  • ((((( 23 July 2017 by Gerry from Plymouth

    Very enjoyable experience

  • ((((( 20 July 2017 by Brian from Plymouth

    I thought about having the 50oz tomahawk but decided to go for a 16oz rump. That filled me up but might try the bigboy on my next visit.

  • ((((* 2 July 2017 by Anne from Devon

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Food not bad.

  • ((((( 1 July 2017 by Neil from Torpoint

    We had agreat meal . The service was really friendly and they looked after you . The meals were well worth the price .

  • ((((* 26 June 2017 by Lynsey from Plymouth

    Overall it was great service, friendly and efficient. The staff were really accommodating and made personal recommendations. The ribs were amazing and we both had a rump steak. It was cooked just as I like it but my cut was a little bit fatty and slightly chewy. But my boyfriends wasnt fatty at all. The JD BBQ sauce was the highlight for me! I loved it!
    I'd definitely recommend to friends and family, it's a great place to pig out. My only other criticism was the music. There was chart music playing and personally I would have liked some blues/rock/country to give the place a more American style. But it certainly didn't put me off coming again.
    Thanks for a great dinner!

Unfortunately, you can't book JD's Grill online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant