map placeholder

JD's Grill

17-19 Derrys Cross, Plymouth, PL1 2SW

(((() American
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £25

Excellent food, great staff and great atmosphere. Our first time visiting but will definitely go again

Christine 27 January 2019
from Plymouth

View all 222 reviews

Famous for its food challenges, JD’s Grill Plymouth serves up high quality, locally sourced barbecue food. Hearty dishes are served in a laidback atmosphere, with wood panelling and American-inspired artwork lining the walls.

Holding the record for Britain’s Biggest Burger, weighing in at 25lbs, the JD’s Grill menu focuses on both quality and quantity. Flavour-packed house favourites include smoked brisket with a smoky beef jus, and succulent chicken breast topped with 14-hour maple-smoked pulled pork and Emmental cheese. Other classics include, an array of hot dogs, slow-cooked ribs and juicy steaks, as well as the legendary burgers.

Desserts at JD’s Grill restaurant also don’t hold back when it comes to flavour. Discover the likes of Belgian waffles with butterscotch sauce and vanilla ice cream, or American-style pancakes with maple sauce. Winner of the Plymouth City and Waterfronts award for Best Family Restaurant Plymouth, JD’s Grill is a 15-minute walk from Plymouth Rail Station.

JD's Grill

17-19 Derrys Cross, Plymouth, PL1 2SW

Contact +44 1752601605
Website

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Plymouth

Customer reviews for JD's Grill

4.3 (((() (based on 222 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (165)
  • large parties (88)
  • lunch (85)
  • trendy (71)
  • value (71)
  • child friendly (64)
  • private dining (20)
  • romantic (20)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (16)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • luxury (5)
  • al fresco (4)
  • views (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 25 October 2017 by Sam from Plymouth

    Amazing food, great service will be returning soon!!!! Really great prices

  • ((((( 15 October 2017 by Allan from Saltash

    Always love JD's. This time we tried the pre-theatre menu and it was really good. Some simple choice, great service and very friendly staff. The à la carte menu has undergone an change since our last visit and has been trimmed down but the classics that JD's are known for are still there. The St. Louis ribs are just out of this world as is the brisket. So long as Dan is always smiling, the kitchen staff are culinary geniuses and the atmosphere is rocking we'll continue to come back. Absolutely everyone at JD's Grill wants you to have a great time and enjoy your food and beverages. They truely are the best.

  • ((((( 12 October 2017 by Mrs from Newton Abbot

    We had the lunch menu, two courses for £10. Starters were delicious creamy garlic mushrooms and loads of spicy buffalo wings. Main courses were a gluten free burger with cheese and sliders with one plain, one with pulled pork and one with brisket in lovely brioche buns, all served with fries. The burgers were superb, juicy and meaty. So full we passed on desserts! The service was attentive, great background music, a great lunch in general.

  • (((** 10 October 2017 by John from Plymouth

    The staff were helpful and polite with good customer service. The decoration is interesting and welcoming. The food was at best over cooked not much of it and the chicken was dry it tasted like it had been kept warm all day the steak was tough. Last time we came the food was delicious and we couldn't finish what was on our plates. This time we all ate the food and went to the supermarket on the way home for dessert. They had run out of rose wine and to be honest I definitely think twice about going back. The food has gone from being outstanding to poor., we went at 6pm on a Monday evening and there was only one other table booked. The last time we went it was full.

  • ((*** 4 September 2017 by Samantha from Plymouth

    The restaurant lacked any atmosphere, it was almost empty. Some of us ordered off the 2 course set menu and the staff bought out the bill without bringing out the desserts.

    We went because of an online offer saying any burger and drink for £10 but when we got there this deal was only on certain burgers. Overall thought the menu was overpriced.

  • ((((( 28 August 2017 by Alex from Saltash

    Lovely well cooked food. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Nice vibe. Toilets seem a bit run down sort of thing but they were reasonably clean so im not that bothered!

  • ((((( 19 August 2017 by kate from PLYMOUTH

    lovely meal. fab value with the Facebook offer. highly reccomend. maybe a chicken choice for those who don't eat red meat would be a nice addition. falafel burger was good but I'd not go often just based on fact I wouldn't have much variation. all the near eaters in the party loved theirs.

  • ((((( 10 August 2017 by Laura from Plymouth

    Yummy food

  • ((((* 8 August 2017 by Jacqui from plymouth

    We booked a pre theatre 2 course meal which was perfect for our needs. Service was prompt and friendly.The resturant is conveniently located for the theatre.

  • ((((( 6 August 2017 by Alison from Plympton

    Easy to book.......incredible food!!( we had to takeaway part of the main course and ordered dessert to take home)....can't wait to come back and try other dishes ....staff are lovely, friendly and genuinely helpful

Unfortunately, you can't book JD's Grill online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant