map placeholder

JD's Grill

17-19 Derrys Cross, Plymouth, PL1 2SW

(((() American
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £25

Excellent food, great staff and great atmosphere. Our first time visiting but will definitely go again

Christine 27 January 2019
from Plymouth

View all 222 reviews

Famous for its food challenges, JD’s Grill Plymouth serves up high quality, locally sourced barbecue food. Hearty dishes are served in a laidback atmosphere, with wood panelling and American-inspired artwork lining the walls.

Holding the record for Britain’s Biggest Burger, weighing in at 25lbs, the JD’s Grill menu focuses on both quality and quantity. Flavour-packed house favourites include smoked brisket with a smoky beef jus, and succulent chicken breast topped with 14-hour maple-smoked pulled pork and Emmental cheese. Other classics include, an array of hot dogs, slow-cooked ribs and juicy steaks, as well as the legendary burgers.

Desserts at JD’s Grill restaurant also don’t hold back when it comes to flavour. Discover the likes of Belgian waffles with butterscotch sauce and vanilla ice cream, or American-style pancakes with maple sauce. Winner of the Plymouth City and Waterfronts award for Best Family Restaurant Plymouth, JD’s Grill is a 15-minute walk from Plymouth Rail Station.

JD's Grill

17-19 Derrys Cross, Plymouth, PL1 2SW

Contact +44 1752601605
Website

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Plymouth

Customer reviews for JD's Grill

4.3 (((() (based on 222 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (165)
  • large parties (88)
  • lunch (85)
  • trendy (71)
  • value (71)
  • child friendly (64)
  • private dining (20)
  • romantic (20)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (16)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • luxury (5)
  • al fresco (4)
  • views (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 23 December 2017 by Gerry from Plymouth

    Food very good and attentive service despite being really busy

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Kathy from Plymouth

    very friendly, had booked a table but was late and stll made to feel welcome. Good choice of food and quick service.

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Juliet from Plymouth

    JD’s has a relaxed informal atmosphere and is very welcoming.
    Staff are friendly and informative, excellent service.
    Loved the background music.
    Food was excellent and plentiful.

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Sophie from Plymouth

    Great service, great food, rather noisy table behind us but not the restaurant's fault. The waiters couldn't do enough for us. Quite expensive but decent portions. Have been before & will return. Parking is shocking, but it was the week before Christmas!

  • ((((( 21 December 2017 by Emma from Plymouth

    it was fantastic I booed JD grills as a surprise for my boyfriends 20th birthday, we arrived late to make it a surprise but ended up later than expected and the waiter at JD was really lovely and would still serve us even though the kitchens were supposed to be closing literally 5 minutes after we arrived. I really appreciate it and cannot thank him enough (don't know the name but was fairly young, blonde hair and a blue shirt)
    The food was also delicious I literally could dream of eating that classic burger again. Although it is huge surprising when food is that good you just cannot stop eating and the chips are fab overall there are no complaints what so ever. If it was slightly cheaper I probably would go every week.

  • (**** 15 November 2017 by Sam from Bristol

    Food is awful and overpriced. I thought it would be a genuine quality BBQ steakhouse but it's closer in quality to a hungry horse. Ribs felt like they were microwaved and the sauce was some watered down bargain basement sauce just stuck on top about three seconds before it was served. Awful, AWFUL food. Seriously, don't go there.

  • ((((* 8 November 2017 by Russel from Plymouth

    It was a great place to eat really enjoyed the meal , besides the Rac of ribs being cold other that it is a great place I would go back anytime

  • ((((( 7 November 2017 by Robert from Plymouth

    We all had sirloin steak and we all agreed by the first mouthful that it was the best damn steak we had ever had !

  • ((*** 7 November 2017 by Michael from Plymouth

    Said it all to the manager at the time. Not that impressed I'm afraid

  • ((((( 31 October 2017 by Donna from Plymouth

    Food was great as always and service was excellent.

Unfortunately, you can't book JD's Grill online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant