map placeholder

James Martin Manchester

Great Northern, 2 Watson Street, Manchester, M3 4LP

((((* British
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
  •  - Manchester
Average
Main course: £19
Food spend: £35
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 17:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 17:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 17:00

Great night great experience food was amazing service first class. Will be going back

Bev Snowden 08 August 2017
from Manchester

View all 323 reviews

Brought to you by one of the UK’s best-loved celebrity chefs and named in The Sunday Times Top 100 Restaurants 2015, James Martin’s eponymously-named restaurant is found within Manchester’s glitzy 235 Casino. An on-site ‘meat market’ sees guests step inside a cavernous walk-in meat fridge, which showcases cuts from the menu.

The seasonally-changing menu by James Martin is bursting with produce sourced from tried-and-tested butchers, fishmongers, game dealers, farmers and cheesemakers. Signature flavours might include Thai crab risotto, or coffee-crusted venison loin. Imaginative twists for dessert include white chocolate & whisky croissant pudding, or apple crumble soufflé. Traditional Sunday roasts with all the trimmings are also a firm favourite.

Perfectly matched to the menu, the wine list at James Martin in Manchester features old and New World bins, and experimental mixes are served at the adjoining Vega Lounge cocktail bar.

This classic British restaurant is set on its own mezzanine level, with edgy Great-Northern-warehouse styling including vintage fabrics and artwork, polished girders and exposed brickwork. Find restaurant James Martin just 3 minutes’ walk from Deansgate Train Station. Please note, guests must be aged 18 or over.

James Martin Manchester

Great Northern, 2 Watson Street, Manchester, M3 4LP

Contact +44 1618280345
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for James Martin Manchester

4.2 ((((* (based on 323 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (238)
  • romantic (133)
  • luxury (118)
  • trendy (92)
  • value (77)
  • private dining (75)
  • lunch (66)
  • business (60)
  • entertainment (57)
  • large parties (57)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • views (4)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • ((((( 21 May 2017 by Swift Joanne from warrington

    I can honestly say it's the nicest meal I have had out. My friends and I will definitely be back.??

  • ((((( 19 May 2017 by Denise Somerfield from Burnley

    Fantastic food, lovely surroundings, outstanding service.

  • ((((* 16 May 2017 by Lynn Vernon from London

    Good food (particularly starter and dessert - steak main course a little disappointing ). Helpful and accommodating staff when we asked to be moved away from a large party for noise reasons. Singer was a little obtrusive for our taste. My vegetarian companion was not keen on the window into the meat market area! Overall enjoyed and good value for money. It does feel like it is a restaurant in a casino rather than just a restaurant but we didn't mind that.

  • ((*** 9 May 2017 by Lizzie Perkins from Manchester

    We booked for our first anniversary dinner. The restaurant was inside a casino - something not very clear from the website - and there were large groups of loud 20/30somethings using colourful language. There was also a Hen do going on. The toilet facilities for the restaurant were back in the casino so you were constantly exposed to a different atmosphere than I think the restaurant was trying to create.
    The service was excellent but the food wasn't great. And it was over priced.
    I say the restaurant is suitable for large parties on a boisterous night out. And if you don't mind walking passed the chavs at the casino tables.

  • (((** 5 May 2017 by Ged Tyrrell from Leigh

    Strange location for a restaurant of this kind in a Casino. The clients will be a particular type and I'm for some I think it would be off putting, even if not for the first time but for return visits. The presence of security guards necessary for a Casino is not in keeping with exclusive dining. The food itself was good but overpriced and not good overall value. I think the draw would be the Brand but I also suspect most diners will only visit once.

  • ((*** 2 May 2017 by Doreen Buttrill from Chapel-en-le-Frith

    The portions were so small you never got the true flavour, also overpriced. Have dined in more superior restaurants in Manchester and around the world.

  • ((((* 1 May 2017 by Clare Curnow from Manchester

    Food was great. Service was friendly but could have been more attentive: the Head waiter clearly agreed, and gave us our pre dinner drinks on the house, as they arrived with the starter. We appreciated this gesture. The food was faultless...of course it showed the usually meanness with the most surprising ingredients like potatoes that mystifyingly one has to expect with good food. This is our second visit and we were not disappointed. We all loved the singing piano player too. We would go again. Shame it's in the casino though.

  • ((((( 30 April 2017 by Peter Mcknight from Aberdeen

    Had a steak done to perfection, service was perfect and wine list had some very good choices. Had a great night and will be back again.

  • ((((( 30 April 2017 by Tim Lauder from Stockport

    Excellent food and atmosphere. Perfect place for us to celebrate my wife's birthday. Enjoyed the live piano music. Appreciated the pianist allowing me to play two little numbers on the grand piano for my wife! Thank you for a great evening. We will certainly return.

  • ((((( 29 April 2017 by Andy Bsker from Stockport

    A unusual combination of location , flavours and good service . The taster menu takes you on a journey of flavour and was lovely from the benining to the end and washed down with a good selection of wine for each course . I never expected to enjoy cold pea and nettle soup but the flavours of that and indeed all the courses were interesting and exciting to the palet . I would highly recommend this culinarily treat ..

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant