map placeholder

James Martin Manchester

Great Northern, 2 Watson Street, Manchester, M3 4LP

((((* British
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
Average
Main course: £19
Food spend: £35
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 17:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 17:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 17:00

Great food and wine pairing for the tasting menu and good service - not sure about locality in the casino but this was t intrusive

Sean Burgess 04 November 2017
from Liverpool

View all 331 reviews

Brought to you by one of the UK’s best-loved celebrity chefs and named in The Sunday Times Top 100 Restaurants 2015, James Martin’s eponymously-named restaurant is found within Manchester’s glitzy 235 Casino. An on-site ‘meat market’ sees guests step inside a cavernous walk-in meat fridge, which showcases cuts from the menu.

The seasonally-changing menu by James Martin is bursting with produce sourced from tried-and-tested butchers, fishmongers, game dealers, farmers and cheesemakers. Signature flavours might include Thai crab risotto, or coffee-crusted venison loin. Imaginative twists for dessert include white chocolate & whisky croissant pudding, or apple crumble soufflé. Traditional Sunday roasts with all the trimmings are also a firm favourite.

Perfectly matched to the menu, the wine list at James Martin in Manchester features old and New World bins, and experimental mixes are served at the adjoining Vega Lounge cocktail bar.

This classic British restaurant is set on its own mezzanine level, with edgy Great-Northern-warehouse styling including vintage fabrics and artwork, polished girders and exposed brickwork. Find restaurant James Martin just 3 minutes’ walk from Deansgate Train Station. Please note, guests must be aged 18 or over.

James Martin Manchester

Great Northern, 2 Watson Street, Manchester, M3 4LP

Contact +44 1618280345
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Greater Manchester

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for James Martin Manchester

4.2 ((((* (based on 331 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (244)
  • romantic (134)
  • luxury (119)
  • trendy (95)
  • value (80)
  • private dining (76)
  • lunch (67)
  • business (60)
  • entertainment (59)
  • large parties (57)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • views (4)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • ((((( 13 July 2017 by Helena Logan from Sale

    Lovely meal as always, love eating at James Martin Manchester, it's always a lovely experience

  • ((((( 10 July 2017 by Sue Brooks from Glossop

    Excellent Sunday Dinner, 4 of us dined, favourite starter was the crab risotto, beef dinners and chicken were our mains choices, all delicious, beef particularly tender and flavoursome. The white chocolate bread and butter pudding was scrumptious. The cheese board was also well received.

  • ((((( 9 July 2017 by Liam Armstrong from Manchester

    Great atmosphere with the piano player adding a nice touch to a Sat night
    Food was also outstanding, my wife and I both ordering the Fillet steak

  • ((((* 2 July 2017 by darren from manchester

    Very good menu, great dining.
    Hake starter.

  • (((** 1 July 2017 by Marilyn Newton from Manchester

    We had the taster menu deal and added the selected wines. The food and wine were absolutely excellent. However, I found the location within the casino strange and for that reason I would be reluctant to return..

  • ((((* 19 June 2017 by Jeff Booth from Preston

    Very good

  • ((((* 16 June 2017 by Jo Thornicroft from Manchester

    Beautiful restaurant, amazing food and service - waiting on staff incredibly attentive and knowledgeable - had a lovely time thank you.

  • ((((( 10 June 2017 by Natalie O'brien from Manchester

    We were offered a really warm welcome when we got to the restaurant. We had the five course tasting menu with wines matched to the courses. The food was perfect, we both enjoyed each course and the wines really did bring out the flavours. The waiting staff were brilliant, we can't rate them highly enough. We were asked if we were celebrating anything (which we were), they were really knowledgable about the food and and wine and they were also really friendly. Lovely atmosphere as well. Thank you for a great dining experience.

  • ((((( 7 June 2017 by Delia Clarke from Manchester

    Having visited the restaurant on a number of occasions I didn't think it could improve. It surpassed itself. The menu looked interesting but the amazing flavours surprised us all. From start to finish it was faultless. The staff are a credit to you and I not only will be visiting again I will recommend you to my friends. Thank you x

  • ((((* 7 June 2017 by Ama Mensah from Manchester

    Nice tasting menu with chef catering to our dietary requirements

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant