map placeholder

James Martin Manchester

Great Northern, 2 Watson Street, Manchester, M3 4LP

(((() British
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  • James Martin Manchester - Greater Manchester
  • James Martin Manchester - Greater Manchester
  • James Martin Manchester - Greater Manchester
  • James Martin Manchester - Greater Manchester
Average
Main course: £19
Food spend: £35
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 17:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 17:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 17:00

Amazing food. I'm a fussy eater but I cleaned my plate !

Rachel 14 June 2018
from Manchester

View all 376 reviews

Brought to you by one of the UK’s best-loved celebrity chefs and named in The Sunday Times Top 100 Restaurants 2015, James Martin’s eponymously-named restaurant is found within Manchester’s glitzy 235 Casino. An on-site ‘meat market’ sees guests step inside a cavernous walk-in meat fridge, which showcases cuts from the menu.

The seasonally-changing menu by James Martin is bursting with produce sourced from tried-and-tested butchers, fishmongers, game dealers, farmers and cheesemakers. Signature flavours might include Thai crab risotto, or coffee-crusted venison loin. Imaginative twists for dessert include white chocolate & whisky croissant pudding, or apple crumble soufflé. Traditional Sunday roasts with all the trimmings are also a firm favourite.

Perfectly matched to the menu, the wine list at James Martin in Manchester features old and New World bins, and experimental mixes are served at the adjoining Vega Lounge cocktail bar.

This classic British restaurant is set on its own mezzanine level, with edgy Great-Northern-warehouse styling including vintage fabrics and artwork, polished girders and exposed brickwork. Find restaurant James Martin just 3 minutes’ walk from Deansgate Train Station. Please note, guests must be aged 18 or over.

James Martin Manchester

Great Northern, 2 Watson Street, Manchester, M3 4LP

Contact +44 1618280345
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Greater Manchester

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for James Martin Manchester

4.3 (((() (based on 376 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (280)
  • romantic (155)
  • luxury (138)
  • trendy (104)
  • value (99)
  • private dining (84)
  • lunch (76)
  • business (66)
  • entertainment (64)
  • large parties (63)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • views (4)
  • child friendly (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 3 April 2018 by Rosemary from Dukinfield

    We really enjoyed our night; good food, nice staff & public transport home!! The steak sharing platter was excellent, the amuse bouche of lightly toasted bread & dripping was a blast from the past.

  • ((((( 1 April 2018 by Susan from BOLTON

    Had the faster menu with wine. Good was excellent and the wine chosen to go with it was exactly spot on. The waiter explained every dish and wine. What a great place to dine.

  • ((((( 27 March 2018 by JOHN from DARLINGTON

    Excellent meal at very reasonable prices. A little surprised that the restaurant is in a casino but this did not detract from the experience.

  • ((((( 14 March 2018 by Sabine from Humberston

    My husband and I are big fans of James Martin's cookery programmes on the TV, as well as loving his recipes. On arrival at his Manchester restaurant we were greeted by a very friendly lady and shown to our table. She also offered straight away to take some photographs of us in the reception. The waitress, who served us, was just lovely. She advised us on the various dishes, the wine to accompany it and how it was all cooked. As expected, the meal was delicious and exceeded our expectations by far. Desserts were equally great. All this came at a very reasonable price, which came as a surprise given the restaurant is right in the city centre. Overall, the visit was a real treat for us. Thank you :-) very much!

  • ((((* 28 February 2018 by Fiona from Manchester

    The whole experience was very good. We had the taster menu with the accompanying wines. Everything was delicious & we were not rushed.

  • ((((( 23 February 2018 by Malcolm from Stockport

    Very impressed by the venue,the friendliness of the staff,and the quality of the food., The five course tasting menu was excellent value at 30 pounds and even better value with the flight of wines thrown in at no extra cost.

  • ((((( 22 February 2018 by Mr from Lichfield

    Excellent service and fantastic food.

  • ((((( 20 February 2018 by Chris from Wigan

    Everthing was fantastic...recommend to any1

  • ((((( 19 February 2018 by Diane from Manchester

    Absolutely fantastic in every way and will definitely be going again soon!!

  • ((((( 19 February 2018 by Sara from Buxton

    Lovely evening

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant