Reviews of James Martin Manchester

4.3
(based on 492 reviews)
Great Northern 2 Watson Street, Manchester, Lancs., M3 4LP
492 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Lindsey H from Leeds
    2 December 2019

    Great setting, lovely attentive staff, good food- all food we tasted on the festive menu was tasty and interesting.... ambience a bit flat as it was so quiet on a Monday night but can imagine it to be very busy at weekends

  • By Mark E from St Agnes
    24 November 2019

    Very nice experience for all 6 in party

  • By Sylvia W from Leigh
    24 November 2019

    Having dined in James Martin Restarant before we expected and got a very good dining experience again. Thank you.

  • By Andrew C from Stockport
    7 October 2019

    Excellent taster menu with acconpanying wine. Service was great which always adds. Thoroughly recommend to my friends.

  • By Karen R from Darwen
    5 October 2019

    Had a fantastic evening. Ambience was great and the food, drink and service was amazing.

  • By Hugh R from Workington
    4 October 2019

    Very average. Most of the food was tasty but it was all served Luke warm at best. The dripping fries are a disgrace. I was not joking when I told the waitress McDonald's fries were much better. These fries must come from a bag in the freezer and were seriously overcooked. Should be ashamed to be serving these

  • By adam roxborough R from MANCHESTER
    4 October 2019

    EXCELLENT! Notwithstanding the restaurant is located in a soulless and uninviting casino it is placed sufficiently far away as to feel like its own space. The decor is good and the atmosphere was pleasant, with plenty of diners. A nice touch was live, but unobtrusive, music (a pianist).The service was really very good. Friendly but not "in your face". Now the food:- we had opted for the five course tasting menu with paired wines (currently on offer at £47.50 PP) and this was tremendous value. Each course was beautifully presented (my favourites were the hake which was cooked to perfection and the guinea fowl with its rich flavours). All the courses were flavoursome and very well cooked. The a la carte menu looked inviting and not remotely overpriced. There is a private dining room ,too, for those that like that sort of thing. I had never been here before but will definitely return.

  • By Clare H from Manchester
    3 October 2019

    Excellent food & service

  • By Michael H from Macclesfield
    26 September 2019

    Had the 5 course tasting menu with matching wines which at under £50 was excellent value. We thought the food was of a high standard with a couple of stand out dishes(first two). Unfortunately there was little atmosphere as initially we were the only people in- that increased to a total of 4 more!,

  • By Leonard P from Bowdon, cheshire
    27 July 2019

    A superb meal, with excellent service and delightful decor. A really great experience lives up to what expect from them