Reviews of Hunter's Moon

4.7
(based on 93 reviews)
Middlemarsh, Sherborne, Dorset, DT9 5QN
93 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Sam B from Dorchester
    21 February 2020

    Took my parents for lunch for my mums birthday, Nice to go somewhere, where you can feel at home, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the Landlord will have a laugh and joke with you which is great. Food was lovely.. atmosphere just right, no loud music. Great location. I will be back at some point.

  • By Arna D from Dorchester
    20 February 2020

    Cosy country pub. Lovely lunch. Landlord couldn't have been more helpful. Great service. We didn't realise that the pub actually closed at 2.30 but we were not rushed in any way.

  • By Cherry C from Brighton
    7 February 2020

    good food, large portions and feindly staff

  • By Val R from Cosmore
    25 January 2020

    We had a great meal. Lovely ambiance, good service. Always enjoy going to The Hunters Moon.

  • By Sue B from Exeter
    21 December 2019

    Good reliable village pub. Always very welcoming. Good choice of dishes on the menu with an option of small portions which is very welcome.

  • By Ray H from Stalbridge
    19 November 2019

    The food was ok, not in my mind brilliant I had fish and chips, good chips and fish alright peas dry, would have preferred mushy peas. Dessert was apple crumble not for me it looked and tasted like stewed apples topped with granola, I asked for ice cream with it and got cream, anyway didn’t eat it and was not charged for it,I believe my guest, who recommended Hunters moon was not impressed and said the food standard had gone down since she was last there. The service was good and the ambience was great, would not return in a hurry, sorry. Ray Hall

  • By Sally G from Longburton
    3 November 2019

    A lovely meal in a relaxed environment. Carvery has a large selection of vegetables and the meat was plentiful. Deserts very tasty. Staff friendly and reasonable in cost.

  • By Richard B from Exeter
    6 September 2019

    Usual good service and food at The Hunters Moon. Easy to book on their website, always a cheerful welcome from Dean and the staff. A reasonable menu with a good choice of dishes. Great to have the option of small servings. Quality of the food is always reliable and good value. A proper traditional country public house

  • By Kathleen B from Sherborne
    6 September 2019

    Food much improved from last report. We enjoyed our meals Curries should still be a bi spicier

  • By Kathleen B from Sherborne
    30 August 2019

    Have always had top class meals here until last Friday. Beef curry was bland and chewy. None of the three curies on offer were marketed as they normally are, i.e. Very hot, medium , mild. Has there been a change of chef? If so, in my view, it's not for the better. I will give the restaurant another chance in view of the good quality we have had previously.