map placeholder

Hotel du Vin - Poole

Thames Street The Quay, Poole, BH15 1JN

((((* French
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
  • Hotel du Vin - Poole - Dorset
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £35
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 07:00 - 10:00, 12:00 - 14:00 & 19:00 - 22:00. Friday: 07:00 - 10:00, 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:00 - 22:00. Saturday: 08:00 - 11:00, 12:30 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 22:00. Sunday: 08:00 - 11:00, 12:30 - 14:30 & 19:00 - 22:00.

Fantastic restaurant with first class staff. The fixed price menu offers great value.

Mark 21 January 2019
from poole

View all 61 reviews

Moments from the tranquil quayside, Hotel du Vin Poole offers a classically elegant French bistro, using the best regional ingredients. The inviting courtyard is the perfect sun trap, offering al fresco dining. Private dining and wine tasting are also available.

The Hotel du Vin menu celebrates elegant French bistro-style dining, using fresh, premium, locally sourced ingredients. Delicate starters such as tiger prawns in garlic and pastis butter give way to bold mains, which include a hearty classic cassoulet with white beans and confit duck, sole meuniere or a baked aubergine and halloumi parmigiana. A Sunday roast menu and range of superb desserts also feature.

The Hotel du Vin restaurant wine list is a highlight, featuring a huge variety of carefully selected bottles. Dark leather chairs and stained-wood tables sit alongside the colourful, bustling bar area, ensuring an elegant yet informal ambience.

Just 5 minutes’ drive from Poole Rail Station, Hotel du Vin Poole offers a superb blend of traditional elegance and bold culinary twists.

Hotel du Vin - Poole

Thames Street The Quay, Poole, BH15 1JN

Contact +44 1202785570
Website

Make a booking

See all Hotel du Vin Restaurants

See all restaurants in Dorset

See all restaurants in Poole

Customer reviews for Hotel du Vin - Poole

4.1 ((((* (based on 61 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (46)
  • lunch (25)
  • romantic (23)
  • private dining (16)
  • al fresco (15)
  • luxury (13)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • value (11)
  • business (9)
  • trendy (7)
  • breakfast (3)
  • large parties (3)
  • ((((( 10 June 2016 by Josh from Poole

    Brilliant. Lovely food, great service, nice setting.

  • ((((* 15 April 2016 by Christopher from Poole

    Good atmosphere. table service was friendly. a vast improvement on my previous visit some months back.

  • ((((( 2 April 2016 by Stephen from Poole

    A great atmosphere and great food, would recommend to family and friends.

  • ((((( 27 February 2016 by Doug from Bournemouth

    We have eaten at Hotel du Vin on a number of occasions and the four of us thought that this was one of the best experiences we had had. Staff were excellent, even though the restaurant was very busy indeed with prompt and efficient service at all times. They all seemed genuinely happy and had time for a quick chat without neglecting other diners. The food was perfect with enough choices from the Booktable/Set Menu offer and we were impressed that they took care with one diner who needed a gluten-free diet and happily substituted the desserts for cheese for another diner who is diabetic. The quality and presentation of the food matched the taste - very good.

  • ((((* 22 February 2016 by Rachel from Poole

    We came here for a special occasion and it was the perfect setting for that as it had a nice atmosphere and candles lit at each table. Very good service but we didn't like that a service charge was included in the bill. The food was fairly good but there were not many options for me as a vegetarian (one starter and two mains). I think that may be inkeeping with the French theme as I often find it difficult to eat out there. We didn't have time to stay for dessert but the menu looked very tempting, with lots of cheese, port and sweet wine to choose from.

  • ((((( 26 January 2016 by Sarah-jane from Poole

    Great service, amazing dining room, we had an early sitting on a Sunday so the kitchen wasn't quite ready after a very busy lunchtime, but it was no problem, the cheese soufflé was lovely, house red wine was probably the best house wine I've ever tasted and I'm fussy!!

  • ((((( 19 January 2016 by Jacqueline from Bournemouth

    Fabulous food, staff were great. Didn't feel like we were out on a Tuesday evening. 3 hours of dining, didn't feel rushed. Only problem booked because of the meal and menu had changed on the night which was a problem for one of the diners. Parking or lack of is also an issue

  • (((** 16 January 2016 by Chris from Poole

    Atmosphere And ambience was warm and cosy but service was slow as they appeared to be understaffed. Took my wife there for a birthday dinner. My food was good but my wife didn't enjoy her lamb dish as it was more like something from Wagamama coming in a huge bowl of watery fluid. The sauce should have reduced. Dinner for 2 at £135( with a modest carafe of wine) was overpriced. Much prefer " The Edge" in Bournemouth where the food is better, the views spectacular and the bill considerably less!

  • (((** 15 January 2016 by Graham from Poole

    Very good quality food with portions on the smaller side. The service is attentive but can be rather pretentious. The food is generally over-priced which is why the restaurant is always quite busy when deals are available but quiet on other occasions.

  • ((((* 13 January 2016 by Christopher from Poole

    Very nice evening meal at the Hotel Du Vin. The meal options were good for the set menue as was the wine with all courses very tasty. The staff were very good and polite however the service was slightly slow considering the restaurant wasn't overly busy.

    We will be going back for sure.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant