map placeholder

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

The Sugar House, Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU

(((() French
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £35

Superb waitress. Ambience lovely. Bread Amazing

Alison 22 August 2019
from Bristol

View all 151 reviews

Housed in the magnificently restored Sugar House, Hotel du Vin Bristol has an award-winning bistro, specialising in stunning French specialities. Close to the upmarket waterfront area, there is an intimate private bar and a sophisticated secluded courtyard.

The Hotel du Vin menu celebrates elegant French bistro-style dining, using fresh, premium, locally sourced ingredients. Delicate starters such as tiger prawns in garlic and pastis butter give way to bold mains, which include a hearty classic cassoulet with white beans and confit duck, sole meuniere or a baked aubergine and halloumi parmigiana. A Sunday lunch menu and range of superb desserts also feature.

The Hotel du Vin wine list is a highlight of the restaurant, featuring a huge variety of carefully selected bottles. Dark leather chairs and stained-wood tables sit alongside the colourful, bustling bar area, ensuring an elegant yet relaxed ambience.

Bristol Hotel du Vin occupies an elegant collection of Grade II listed houses from the 1700’s. The epitome of elegant French dining, the bistro at Hotel du Vin offers exquisite French cuisine with subtle Mediterranean accents.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

The Sugar House, Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU

Contact +44 1174032979
Website

Make a booking

See all Hotel du Vin Restaurants

See all restaurants in Bristol

Customer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

4.4 (((() (based on 151 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (111)
  • romantic (75)
  • lunch (58)
  • luxury (55)
  • private dining (47)
  • afternoon tea (33)
  • value (33)
  • business (32)
  • trendy (28)
  • large parties (23)
  • al fresco (12)
  • breakfast (11)
  • entertainment (8)
  • child friendly (4)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 26 February 2016 by Becky from Bristol

    Excellent meal, great value with the set menu and lovely surroundings.

  • ((((( 24 February 2016 by Debbie from Bristol

    Great service, lovely food, fantastic price

  • ((((( 23 February 2016 by Julie from Bristol

    Fixed price menu deal - 3 courses + glass of wine. All very good, although wasn't clear that there was not a side with the main course - we would like to have been informed of this, but a minor point.

  • ((*** 23 February 2016 by Steven from Bristol

    Not up to the usual standard unfortunately. Pork was very disappointing . Texture was very chewy. Chocolate ice cream was watery with not much flavour. Too much butter/ oil with scallops. Scallops themselves were lovely. Steak was excellent. Dissapointing meal overall and certainly not good for the cost. Although would normally recommend restaurant this was not a good experience.

  • ((((* 23 February 2016 by Sarah from BBristol

    We enjoyed the offer of 3 courses and a glass of wine for £19.95.

  • ((((* 23 February 2016 by Brian from Bristol

    Four of us enjoyed a pleasant meal on Saturday lunchtime. Three other tables were occupied, so the place would have lacked a bit of atmosphere if we had been a smaller group. The food was good -one of our party was French and was critical of the broad English 'translations' (mandated by 'head office' apparently) of the dishes. although we were on a £20 meal deal extras took the total bill to approx. £130, so be careful. £5.45 for a gin plus £1.60 for the tonic seemed a bit cheeky. The bar staff and waiter were friendly and professional.

  • ((((( 20 February 2016 by Emma from bristol

    A very pleasant evening

  • ((((( 20 February 2016 by Jessleine from Bristol

    Limited choice but my beef ragout was excellent , melt in the mouth beef complimented with a very acceptable Cotes de Rhone . All in a great way to celebrate a birthday

  • ((((( 19 February 2016 by Ian from Cleeve

    A lovely special treat booked for a birthday. Good value set menu with nice house wines. What we ate was fantastic, but we would have ordered sesonal vegetables if we had known that there were none with the meal (beef)

  • (((** 17 February 2016 by L from Bristol

    I booked table for 2 dinner - 3 courses & a glass of wine @ £19.50 per person via Bookatable.com. Firstly it was an early valentine meal for my partner so didn't want him to know how much it was costing me ! The 'deal' was not honoured, I ended up paying for our 2 glasses of wine extra to the food and not as I'd booked to be included in the £19.50 deal. I didn't say anything as I didn't want to appear cheap! But I definitely won't be dining there again, or indeed recommending the experience to anyone!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant