map placeholder

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

The Sugar House, Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU

(((() French
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £35

Superb waitress. Ambience lovely. Bread Amazing

Alison 22 August 2019
from Bristol

View all 151 reviews

Housed in the magnificently restored Sugar House, Hotel du Vin Bristol has an award-winning bistro, specialising in stunning French specialities. Close to the upmarket waterfront area, there is an intimate private bar and a sophisticated secluded courtyard.

The Hotel du Vin menu celebrates elegant French bistro-style dining, using fresh, premium, locally sourced ingredients. Delicate starters such as tiger prawns in garlic and pastis butter give way to bold mains, which include a hearty classic cassoulet with white beans and confit duck, sole meuniere or a baked aubergine and halloumi parmigiana. A Sunday lunch menu and range of superb desserts also feature.

The Hotel du Vin wine list is a highlight of the restaurant, featuring a huge variety of carefully selected bottles. Dark leather chairs and stained-wood tables sit alongside the colourful, bustling bar area, ensuring an elegant yet relaxed ambience.

Bristol Hotel du Vin occupies an elegant collection of Grade II listed houses from the 1700’s. The epitome of elegant French dining, the bistro at Hotel du Vin offers exquisite French cuisine with subtle Mediterranean accents.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

The Sugar House, Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU

Contact +44 1174032979
Website

Make a booking

See all Hotel du Vin Restaurants

See all restaurants in Bristol

Customer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

4.4 (((() (based on 151 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (111)
  • romantic (75)
  • lunch (58)
  • luxury (55)
  • private dining (47)
  • afternoon tea (33)
  • value (33)
  • business (32)
  • trendy (28)
  • large parties (23)
  • al fresco (12)
  • breakfast (11)
  • entertainment (8)
  • child friendly (4)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 7 October 2016 by Hilary from Bristol

    Great value special.

  • ((((* 5 October 2016 by Mai from Bristol

    We've eaten here on many occasions and even got married here! The food is always divine and the atmosphere is romantic. It's also a dog friendly hotel and we've eaten there with our pug (but in the bar area as they're not allowed in the restaurant). Definitely a must, especially for special occasions.

    Please note that my review is based on our recent visit and not a reflection of what we have experienced in the past (which has always been 5 stars for both food and service).

    Last night's service was very slow, both on the floor and in the kitchen. We asked for water and didn't get it until about 20 minutes later at least and it wasn't busy.

    We placed our order of sourdough baguette, a bottle of white wine, the chateaubriand and reminded them of the water. We were then served normal bread with water (obviously not the most glamorous combination for such a lovely hotel).... It wasn't until we finished the bread, our wine came.

    It didn't take long for the chateaubriand to arrive however when it came to the desserts, we ordered them with tea and coffee. Both of our hot drinks arrived and we had finished our drinks yet no sign of our desserts! Clearly they had forgotten about it even though it wasn't busy, so we cancelled it.

    Considering we had got there for 7:45pm, we left around 10:15pm because we were waiting for our desserts! If we had a full three course meal, I could understand but to dine for two and a half hours for some bread and a main, just demonstrates how slow the service was!

    Obviously we were more than happy with each other's company but on a Monday evening, after a 12 hour shift and a 6am start the following morning, we weren't expecting to be there as long as that and not have the whole meal we wanted. Quite disappointing considering how good they've always been and we were there to celebrate a special occasion.

  • ((((( 27 September 2016 by Peter from Bristol

    Best anniversary experience ever

  • ((((( 24 September 2016 by Jason from bristol

    Excellent food excellent service

  • ((((( 19 September 2016 by David from Bristol

    Excellent food, excellent wine, excellent furnishings

  • ((((( 10 August 2016 by Huw from Bristol

    Great restaurant, delicious food and excellent service. I really appreciated the small touches (e.g. complementary drink and writing on pudding plate for my birthday).

  • ((*** 6 July 2016 by Barry from Bristol

    Very welcoming restaurant , on being given A La Carte menu 3 main dishes were off .very nice setting for dinner . There were four of us . One starter was late. Mains ... 3 came ...one was late . Had to ask for veg and two portions were missing . We decided not to have desert . Mains themselves were OK but not special . They did apologise and made concession of one free bottle of house wine and a discount. Having travelled from Nottingham we were disappointed . Personally I was not impressed having chosen the restaurant for our first meal here in Bristol over a three day spell .

  • (((** 16 June 2016 by Delphine from Bristol

    Hotel du Vin has been one of my favourite venues in Bristol for almost 15 years. I took a friend here y'day for afternoon tea as a Birthday celebration. The afternoon tea itself was lovely & delicious. It's also great value for money. However I was very disappointed with the service. Our welcome was poor & unfriendly. We were then served by three different waiting staff. Two were smiley & helpful but the chap behind the bar who had greeted us was positively depressed! We also asked for a fork during our meal and the waiter did not understand what I was asking for, looks vacant & guess what, didn't deliver the said fork! Such a shame ., as it's always been such a special place. Perhaps the change of management hasn't made an impact yet ..

  • ((((( 11 June 2016 by Mandy from Bristol

    Great service, best steak - perfectly cooked

  • ((((( 4 June 2016 by Pamela from Bristol

    Lovely setting. Great service. The small cakes were delicious. Scones excellent. Very good choice of tea. No rush. We had a fabulous time!!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant